English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Home Projects > project.EAB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 January 2008, 18:59   #1
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
zone zips

I can`t open the a2091.zip downloaded from the zone using Winzip, Winrar works ok though.
Arnie is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 19:03   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,231
This is no WinUAE problem, probably an EAB hosting issue with zip files. We had a similar discussion before.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 19:06   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
although Winrar seems to work the rom file dosen`t. Can anyone verify that this rom file works from the Zip downloaded today

Edit: Just tried CU186.zip from the Zone, will not open with Winzip or Winrar

Last edited by Arnie; 30 January 2008 at 19:46.
Arnie is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 20:11   #4
formater
Registered User
formater's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alicante/Spain
Posts: 192
I use 7zip
first open compress file, then extract de file "content" and renamed it as name.zip, and the file become a normal zip file.
I test CU186.zip and this system works OK
formater is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 20:23   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,849
I've already PM'd RCK about this, just waiting for it to get fixed...

There are 2 ways to get around this:


Uploading to The Zone!
When uploading to The Zone! create 7zip or WinRAR archives.

Downloading from The Zone!
If a file in The Zone! is a .ZIP file then best way to get it successfully is to use a download manager e.g. GetRight.


Thread also moved from the prb.WinUAE section
DamienD is online now  
Old 30 January 2008, 20:26   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,231
I still wonder why. I have no zip unpack troubles, i.e. with the Total Commander.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 20:39   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I still wonder why. I have no zip unpack troubles, i.e. with the Total Commander.
Do they unzip ok?

I can unpack .ZIP files sometimes using 7zip or WinRAR but the contents are messed up...
DamienD is online now  
Old 30 January 2008, 20:43   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,231
Yep, Total Commander (has it's own zip support) works fine here with all EAB zips. 7zip and WinRAR works flawless too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 20:51   #9
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 1,417
What browsers are you guys using?

I never have problems with zips downloaded, both above worked correctly - I use Opera.

Just tried downloading both my SWOS.zip and also the a2091.zip (and a few others too) with IE7 and these files were corrupt.

Just checked with FF too - both downloaded correctly.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 20:57   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,231
IE sucks, hardly surspring.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 21:06   #11
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
FF plus Total Commander. No problems whatsoever.
ppill is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 21:08   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,117
I can confirm it works fine if you unzip it twice
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 January 2008, 23:04   #13
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy View Post
What browsers are you guys using?
Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2
DamienD is online now  
Old 31 January 2008, 18:32   #14
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I can confirm it works fine if you unzip it twice
How do you do that .

So what some are saying is that it`s IE + winzip that`s no good
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 January 2008, 21:44   #15
formater
Registered User
formater's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alicante/Spain
Posts: 192
if you use 7zip and open the zip file you see inside a file called [content]
extract the file and rename it adding a .zip and the file become a normal zip file.
Is very easy
With RAR archiver the system is the same, extract the file compress in the zip (in this case the name appears correct), add a .ZIP and extract as a normal ZIP
This seems as a double zip, very extrange

Last edited by formater; 31 January 2008 at 21:59.
formater is offline  
Old 01 February 2008, 01:24   #16
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by formater View Post
if you use 7zip and open the zip file you see inside a file called [content], extract the file and rename it adding a .zip and the file become a normal zip file.
Interesting

I actually extracted the .ZIP of the "Beyond Dark Castle (extended .ADF)" that dlfr uploaded using 7zip. There was only the one file within i.e. [content] so I though this is definitely wrong as I know it should be 2 x ADFs.

After using a download manager the .ZIP extracted fine using WinZip and of course contained the 2 x extended .ADFs as it should

Mind you I didn't try adding .zip to extracted [content]
DamienD is online now  
Old 02 February 2008, 11:12   #17
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 477
I just had this problem too, with a2091.zip and cartridgeromsv5.zip from The Zone.

Toni & Formater's suggestion worked fine.

But it's a bit strange. I use PowerArchiver (latest version) in Vista and if I right-click either of the above zip files and select "Extract to here" then I get the message: "Error in Zip structure. Continue?", and I can't get any futher. But if I double-click either of the files, then I get the PowerArchiver window (similar to the Winzip window) showing a file inside called a2091 or cartridgeromsv5. If I then drag & drop the file onto the desktop, it works fine. And then I just added .zip to the end and unzipped again as suggested.

Something's definitely wrong, it's worked fine with this setup before.

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 02 February 2008, 15:34   #18
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
I still cannot unpack the CU186.zip. I get an unexpected end of archive error.

EDIT: If the file is archived using 7zip would it make it unreadable to winzip
Arnie is offline  
Old 02 February 2008, 15:44   #19
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
If this information is of any use, I archived the CU186.adf file using Zip on the Amiga... not sure if that makes any difference?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 02 February 2008, 15:48   #20
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Just used Total Commander and the file reports to have been archived with gz.

I`m sticking my neck out here but I think this is the problem for me.
Arnie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 3000 Zip to Ram board for zips Dagger Swapshop 3 26 April 2011 15:30
WHD.zips and PS3 linux? Lernatix support.OtherUAE 1 10 February 2009 12:15
Any chance of Zips rather than HDFs? Macca project.ClassicWB 9 30 May 2008 13:44
Using zips and rars with WINUAE BlaCkAdDa support.WinUAE 4 28 September 2006 04:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.38215 seconds with 15 queries