English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 March 2009, 23:59   #21
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
e-UAE in general is a PITA. It's developers just plain lost interest in it, leaving it with a VERY unfinished UI and code from the WinUAE 1.3/1.4 era...

Also, Daemon Tools is actually a more sophisticated tool than the Linux mounting system, in that Daemon Tools creates an actual virtual disk drive that responds to commands like a real disk drive, while Unix mounting systems simply make files available to the user in the directory tree. In theory a real virtual drive should be possible in Linux but I don't think anyone's done it yet.
Madcrow is offline  
Old 08 March 2009, 23:40   #22
alanwall
Registered User
alanwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Eugene,Oregon,USA
Posts: 23
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madcrow View Post
Can ISOs be mounted as hardfiles? I've got some magazine Cover CD images and I was wondering if there's any way to actually use them short of burning real disks and recompiling e-UAE with scsi support?
If you are using Linux, then you can mount the ISO with this program:
http://linux.softpedia.com/get/Deskt...mage-2216.shtm
And if Windows, try UltaISO-it's FREE
alanwall is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 02:09   #23
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
I gave up on trying to make e-UAE work the way I want it... I now have a Windows partition that exists for the sole purpose of Amiga emulation...
Madcrow is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 02:18   #24
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madcrow View Post
I now have a Windows partition that exists for the sole purpose of Amiga emulation...
This is the only realistic option when WinUAE is the finest Amiga emulator there is.
prowler is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 03:09   #25
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
This is the only realistic option when WinUAE is the finest Amiga emulator there is.
Indeed. Stil, I wish I didn't have to... I even tried WinUAE in Wine to avoid having to reinstall Windows, but it didn't work very well at all. I couldn't even get decent emulation speeds of A500 through Wine.
Madcrow is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 09:24   #26
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
There are some threads about Wine here. In the last post of this one (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=39275) mark_k mentions something about filters. Maybe this is useful and you can get rid of Windows again
TCD is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 10:21   #27
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 663
In case anyone comes across this thread at some point in the future, the only way to mount CD images under Linux the same way as Daemon Tools/Alcohol/etc. is to use CDemu. The trick is in the fact that CDemu uses a kernel module to emulate a SCSI optical drive so you must ensure that E-UAE has SCSI support compiled in for it to work.

As an aside I have been unable to find a comparable device emulator for OS X, and before anyone repeats an obviously bogus answer, using hdiutil doesn't do the job.

Last edited by OddbOd; 10 March 2009 at 10:28.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 14:28   #28
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 48
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
As an aside I have been unable to find a comparable device emulator for OS X, and before anyone repeats an obviously bogus answer, using hdiutil doesn't do the job.
Why would you need an OS X equivalent to CDemu? (Not a rhetorical question.) Frankly, this whole thread is bizarre. It's not E-UAE's fault if someone can't mount an ISO.
gklinger is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 20:26   #29
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
Why would you need an OS X equivalent to CDemu? (Not a rhetorical question.) Frankly, this whole thread is bizarre. It's not E-UAE's fault if someone can't mount an ISO.
This is not about mounting isos to access just the files, which is quite straight forward nowadays. This is more about getting low level access to the device (ie. to sector level) which is often needed to get copy-protections (ok, isos cannot store these anyway) or to use native filesystems 'inside' (to circumvent file attribute conversions on the host system) an emulator. This is actually more easy on windows, but CDemu seems to (should be able to) do the job. So thanks to OddbOd for pointing in that direction. Have to try it out on the next rainy weekend.
Jerry is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 14:52   #30
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
I tried CDemu actually. It wouldn't mount any of the images I tossed at it, it managed to find an error for all of them, even ones that the native mounting system on Linux and Daemon Tools on windows had no problem with.
Madcrow is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 20:33   #31
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 196
Strange,
works fine here at a quick test. Tried cd/dvd isos and a ccd, and all is as expected. Have to try if the copy protection works in wine as soon as I have a bit more time .
Jerry is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
some CD32 isos ^^ Schmoo request.Old Rare Games 26 03 October 2010 19:03
Tosec ISOs Drake008@ project.TOSEC (amiga only) 2 10 September 2007 22:24
burn several isos on one cd? Dasse New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 01 December 2003 03:47
Does anybody how to get cd 32 isos?? ElGReeKo New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 17 November 2002 14:07
How ´bout some CD³² Isos ? RetroMan Amiga websites reviews 12 12 January 2002 20:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07274 seconds with 13 queries