English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 March 2009, 22:22   #1
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
ISOs and e-UAE

Can ISOs be mounted as hardfiles? I've got some magazine Cover CD images and I was wondering if there's any way to actually use them short of burning real disks and recompiling e-UAE with scsi support?
Madcrow is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:25   #2
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,527
I suppose Daemon Tools would be what you need..
You can mount the ISO in Daemon Tools and then mount the emulated CD drive as a HD under WinUAE.
Supamax is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:32   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
I suppose Daemon Tools would be what you need..
You can mount the ISO in Daemon Tools and then mount the emulated CD drive as a HD under WinUAE.
I'm not sure, but I've got an idea that Amiga filenames and attributes will stop this working properly.
prowler is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:37   #4
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
I'm not sure, but I've got an idea that Amiga filenames and attributes will stop this working properly.
You could be right...
I don't know the Amiga CD format, but I thought that an Amiga "ISO" CD would respect the ISO 9600 standard.
Probably, the ISO 9600 standard permits Amiga filenames while Windows doesn't...
Supamax is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:39   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
You could be right...
I don't know the Amiga CD format, but I thought that an Amiga "ISO" CD would respect the ISO 9600 standard.
I think Amiga CDs incorporate either Joliet or (more likely) RockRidge extensions.
prowler is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:42   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Daemon Tools works perfectly fine with Amiga CDs (CD32 and CDTV too). I would say the bigger problem would be that Daemon Tools is only available for Window and since the question is about eUAE...
Maybe this is useful for MadCrow : http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic483.html
TCD is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:52   #7
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Daemon Tools works perfectly fine with Amiga CDs (CD32 and CDTV too). I would say the bigger problem would be that Daemon Tools is only available for Window and since the question is about eUAE...
eUAE!!! I didn't pay attention
Perhaps a similar program for Linux exists...
Supamax is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:55   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Perhaps a similar program for Linux exists...
Yep. TCD's link gives the details.
prowler is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:57   #9
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Yep. TCD's link gives the details.
I didn't pay attention again!
I'm better than this, usually .
Supamax is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:01   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Oh and in case that MadCrow uses a Mac : http://osxdaily.com/2008/04/22/easil...o-in-mac-os-x/
TCD is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:04   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Hi TCD,

Can we expect a TCD's E-UAE Configuration FAQ thread any time soon?

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:07   #12
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Nope I won't deal with that too
Actually I'm not even sure if MadCrow haven't tried that already, so let's wait for his feedback
TCD is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:09   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Actually I'm not even sure if MadCrow haven't tried that already, so let's wait for his feedback
...and you know I was only joking about the FAQ.
prowler is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:15   #14
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
...and you know I was only joking about the FAQ.
Aye, I noticed it
TCD is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 02:09   #15
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
eUAE!!! I didn't pay attention
Perhaps a similar program for Linux exists...
It's called "# mount -o loop" still, I was hoping to avoid such skullduggery. Looks like that's impossible
Madcrow is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 02:14   #16
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Well you don't have to burn them. Maybe you can find a nice small frontend that can mount ISOs via Google?
TCD is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 02:21   #17
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Well you don't have to burn them. Maybe you can find a nice small frontend that can mount ISOs via Google?
It's not the commandline I mind. It's the possibility of non-standard image and/or on-disk formats that can lead things like this to begin... Still, it looks like AmigaOS used normal, standard ISO filesystems on their CD, unlike the Mac-ites who used their HD filesystem on CD...
Madcrow is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 23:13   #18
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
Bah. The CD mounts, but it forgets all the Amiga permission bits, meaning that nothing will actually run off the CD. I'm seriously considering dusting off my freebie student license of Windows 2003 and doing a little Windows install just to get this working.
Madcrow is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 23:18   #19
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madcrow View Post
I'm seriously considering dusting off my freebie student license of Windows 2003 and doing a little Windows install just to get this working.
If it's only access to the Cover CD images you're after, then surely it's got to be worth it?
prowler is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 23:20   #20
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madcrow View Post
Bah. The CD mounts, but it forgets all the Amiga permission bits, meaning that nothing will actually run off the CD. I'm seriously considering dusting off my freebie student license of Windows 2003 and doing a little Windows install just to get this working.
Sounds like a plan then Like I said it works fine with Daemon Tools and WinUAE Sad to hear it such a pain with eUAE tough
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
some CD32 isos ^^ Schmoo request.Old Rare Games 26 03 October 2010 19:03
Tosec ISOs Drake008@ project.TOSEC (amiga only) 2 10 September 2007 22:24
burn several isos on one cd? Dasse New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 01 December 2003 03:47
Does anybody how to get cd 32 isos?? ElGReeKo New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 17 November 2002 14:07
How ´bout some CD³² Isos ? RetroMan Amiga websites reviews 12 12 January 2002 20:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08883 seconds with 13 queries