English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2008, 15:43   #1
Silver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Age: 40
Posts: 118
How easy to port WinUAE to non x86?

Hey,

I'm curious as to how easy it would be to port WinUAE to a non-windows/non-x86 platform?

I'm aware this has been done with E-UAE (appears to be based on "winUae 1.3 Emulation core). Can updates since 1.3 easily be assimilated into E-UAE? (which does not appear to be maintained anymore).

I know a lot of features (gui/OS-interaction/JIT) will be hard/total re-writes, but what about the core emulation?
Silver is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 17:29   #2
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 3,060
why not download the source and investigate yourself?
gimbal is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 17:31   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,019
Basically only JIT is x86-only.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 November 2008, 17:32   #4
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Well, I would say your question would best fit in the "other UAE" section of the forum.

The main difficulty of porting WinUAE is that the GUI is now tighly linked to the core. Apple & MorphOS UAE users have a distinct frontend to use with their favorite emulator. The challenge would not only lie in adding more & more features.

I know this is far from convincing as an argument since it only comes from an WinUAE enthousiast, that's my 2 cent anyway.
Don't forget that MacOS now runs stable on Intel CPUs.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 18:23   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,146
Surely E-UAE should be your first port of call and then pulling in the WinUAE core updates should be the next thing?

I tried to back-port some parts of WinUAE to the X-box port and believe me it's not easy because of the amount of changes that have taken place over the years. (Although you wouldn't have my problem which was that I did not want to take all updates or it would run too slow).
alexh is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 18:35   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,019
GUI isn't "tightly integrated", you can easily rip all win32 dependencies and at least create non-GUI version without too many problems. (and get input,sound and graphics code from e-uae)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 17 November 2008 at 19:00.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 November 2008, 21:13   #7
Silver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Age: 40
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
why not download the source and investigate yourself?
Already have, along with the latest E-uae source. I am completely unfamiliar with both sources, and at first glance and it's quite a sprawling set of code, hundreds of files, which appears to include stuff for X11, SDL and Dos-UAE which I suspect are not really supported, so thought I would ask...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Basically only JIT is x86-only.
Thanks, that appears to be labelled as such in the source too..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
Well, I would say your question would best fit in the "other UAE" section of the forum.
Yes, you are quite correct. Happy for this to be moved..?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Surely E-UAE should be your first port of call and then pulling in the WinUAE core updates should be the next thing?

I tried to back-port some parts of WinUAE to the X-box port and believe me it's not easy because of the amount of changes that have taken place over the years. (Although you wouldn't have my problem which was that I did not want to take all updates or it would run too slow).
Yes, E-UAE is definately already where I'm heading, but it's not been updated in a while. WinUAE is clearly the most complete Amiga emu around, it would seem a shame not to use that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
GUI isn't "tightly integrated", you can easily rip all win32 dependencies and at least create non-GUI version without too many problems. (and get input,sound and graphics code from e-uae)
Thanks for that. I will investigate further...
Silver is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 21:36   #8
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
The problem with E-UAE is that it doesn't need to be totally newbie friendly. I often cite those MorphOS users that are perfectly happy with using extensively E-UAE "command line" possibilites, and not caring for obvious omissions like a competent "video" tab.

E-UAE could be much better integrated with linux SDL libs, inmho... Some might even think it should even be rewritten from scratch.

WinAROS, the Win32 port of AROS, is another interesting, albeit a bit hopeless, project.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 21:47   #9
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 791
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
The GUI isn't the problem. I could write a GUI for E-UAE in about 2 hours. All it needs to do is limit the user to possible choices (max chip ram, floppy emu speed etc...) make sure they don't conflict then call the correct command line parameters.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 18 November 2008, 20:48   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,655
Send a message via MSN to FOL
E-UAE is still being updated. Although the main site doesnt reflect this, the SVN does.

A project was started to incorperate the code needed to compile for both PSP and GP2x. I think this has been dumped, would need to check with GnosTiC.

Last edited by FOL; 18 November 2008 at 21:00.
FOL is offline  
Old 19 November 2008, 04:21   #11
Silver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Age: 40
Posts: 118
Thanks for that FOL....

Yes there are CVS updates from 20-10-08 (emu core from WinUAE 1.4.3), and a post about working towards a stable release, so looks like E-UAE is still going...
Silver is offline  
Old 19 November 2008, 14:35   #12
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,629
Is it still Rich Drummond running with e-uae?
chiark is offline  
Old 19 November 2008, 14:39   #13
Silver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Age: 40
Posts: 118
Yes looks like he posted to the UAE mailing list in August 08....
Silver is offline  
Old 19 November 2008, 21:52   #14
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,655
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiark View Post
Is it still Rich Drummond running with e-uae?
He is indeed.
FOL is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winuae 2.3.0 parallel port sampler Fabie support.WinUAE 2 15 November 2010 12:02
native x86 code in WinUAE? Falk support.WinUAE 15 14 June 2008 13:58
Possible to port WinUAE to the NDS? spannernick support.WinUAE 11 30 January 2008 18:26
SFS x86 native for WinUAE? YoJoe! support.WinUAE 8 17 October 2007 12:40
Is it possible to run any ScummVM port on WinUAE? MethodGit support.WinUAE 5 19 January 2003 03:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07990 seconds with 15 queries