English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2010, 07:12   #1
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 172
New Amiga 500/600/1200 HD power supply

sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out

THESE HAVE ALL SOLD NOW. Novacoder got the last one. Thanks to all of you who bought one and paid promptly.If i can locate dins for a reasonable price,i will build more. I hope to make some for cd32 and gvp stuff soon!



I posted this on a.org but thought i would list it here also since it does apply(hope thats ok).I finally make some progress on a long time project!:

Ok guys, i have finally tested (5 months!)my New "international" heavy duty 500/600/1200 psu's to the point they are ready to go out in the world. I have made 3 different labels for them.They run on any input from 100 to 240vac.
I can ship these anywhere in the world(erm.. except nigeria lol)
Specs as follows:

This homebrew power supply project was born out of my need for a more powerful true universal 120v/240v 50/60hz power supply that could replace our aging/failing commodore bricks.I wanted a power supply that was much smaller, completely quiet, had a lighted switch so you could tell when it was actually on,even when unplugged from the computer, more powerful than the original,and works on any input voltage from 100 to 240vac without switching anything! A true International switchmode PSU that will work in any country.
This is a brand new off the shelf UL/CE power supply i found and modified with a lighted green switch and new 5 pin square din connector. Unfortunately the din connectors are so hard to find i only managed to source 15 of them and have built 15 complete power supplies.Technically since i modded it,it would no longer be considered UL/CE...I state this so there is no confusion.

APOWER Desktop Amiga Power Supply Features:
Up to 7amps on the 5v rail (original dsp-A500 is 4.5 amps)
1.5amps on the +12 rail (original dsp-A500 is 1 amp)
.3 Amps onthe -12 rail (original dsp-A500 is .1 amp)
Overload Protection
Short protection
Switchmode power supply
Completely silent with a giant heatsink nearly the full length internally
Runs on any input voltage from 100 to 240VAC - AutoSensing so no switches to change!
Lighted Switch (finally!)
Built By a amiga hardware nut for himself and other amiga nuts
About half the size of the original Commodore one making it much more portable
Includes power cord for 110VAC (5ft long) 1.5 meters
Output cable is (3.5ft long) 1.067 meters
Power Supply measures approx. (5" x 3" x 1.5" thick) 127mm x76mm x 38mm
Powerfull enough to run any desktop expansions including blizzard PPC w/Bvision
Tested for 5+ months on a variety of machines: Amiga 500 w/csa derringer 030/50 and gvp Anet ethernet sidecar,A600 with 2M ram expansion and internal cdrom,Several A1200's-Blizzard 030/50,Dkb 030/40 w/scsi HD, apollo 040/40,blizzard 060 128MB ram,internal cdrom,pcmcia ethernet,dual floppies and also a 1200 with the blizzard ppc 060/50 603/240 w/bvision gfx card in a desktop case.
I have run these fully loaded 24/7 in hot texas temperatures over the summer with no problem.Some of our summer temps resemble that of australia and other places where heat is a problem for electronics.I feel I have created a resilient and robust power supply that should handle most situations.
http://www.amiga.org/forums/attachme...1&d=1292799648

I have built 15 of these.Anyone wanting one of these on can buy one for $35+shipping..just PM me
Shipping inside the usa is $7.62 , canada is $11.45 ,mexico $11.45, all other countries 14.00 (all shipping costs in USD)
I also have these listed on ebay at http://shop.ebay.com/m3ch/m.html?_nk...&_trksid=p3686
Ebay fee's account for the price difference.

If ANYONE knows where i can get more square 5pin din connectors,please tell me!!

thanks,
Mike

sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out sold out

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0.jpg
Views:	512
Size:	131.6 KB
ID:	27379   Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	1745
Size:	104.5 KB
ID:	27380   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	423
Size:	177.3 KB
ID:	27381   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	720
Size:	261.5 KB
ID:	27382   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	1140
Size:	269.7 KB
ID:	27383  


Last edited by mech; 21 December 2010 at 01:17.
mech is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 December 2010, 13:22   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
This is excellent! I needed one while I was on tour!
Are you gonna build more?
Akira is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 13:31   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hey these look great

Actually I saw them on eBay this morning whilst I was doing a little search for newly posted Amiga goodies...

I could certainly use one for my A600 which is just powered by stock A600 PSU and has an Apollo 620 inside

Hopefully you still have one in the new year when I've got some spare $$$

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 18:44   #4
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
This is excellent! I needed one while I was on tour!
Are you gonna build more?
thanks for the compliments, as of posting them yesterday,( 6 ) are sold and on their way to various countries.

EDIT:ERM,make that 7 sold, another sold right after typing this heh

The problem is not so much of building more,its the lack of the square din connectors. The next batch will probabaly be with used PSU cables.
Building them with the psu cables is alot more work.

Is anyone interested in a CD32 version built with these power supplies?

Mike
mech is offline  
Old 20 December 2010, 19:48   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
I tweeted this. A friend of mine from NL actually ordered two!
Akira is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 00:01   #6
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I tweeted this. A friend of mine from NL actually ordered two!
ah yea,i packed them and sent them this morning.thanks!

Surprisingly they have nearly all sold out,1 left on the ebay listing.

i sure was not expecting it to happen so quickly.
mech is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 00:48   #7
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Cool, nice work
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 01:19   #8
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Cool, nice work
Looks like you snuck in for the kill novacoder

Sorry folks,these power supplies are all sold out now.

thanks to all who bought one!

Mike

mech is offline  
Old 21 December 2010, 01:24   #9
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Couldn't resist.....hope the wife isn't too upset
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 22 December 2010, 16:04   #10
dabone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chattanooga TN, USA
Posts: 108
Have you thought about offering them as a kit so people could use their own connectors from old/broken supplies?


Later,
dabone
dabone is offline  
Old 28 December 2010, 22:33   #11
DyLucke
Cookie Muncher
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Age: 42
Posts: 232
Definitelly interested on getting one or two units.

However it seems i will need to wait a bit.

I'll spread these good news around.

Cheers.

I could suggest, to include one version of this PSU, with a sort of a DIY kit, to just avoid to find square connectors around prior to a buy, and allow the final user to attach the connector (from defective PSU's) by himself.

That would allow it to be even used on a CD32 if you have an spare connector.
DyLucke is offline  
Old 28 December 2010, 23:05   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by DyLucke View Post
I could suggest, to include one version of this PSU, with a sort of a DIY kit, to just avoid to find square connectors around prior to a buy, and allow the final user to attach the connector (from defective PSU's) by himself.

That would allow it to be even used on a CD32 if you have an spare connector.
That's a great suggestion!

Most users would be looking to replace a defective or insufficiently powerful PSU anyway, and I have been able to obtain two PSU output leads for similar projects quite cheaply myself (one from an online Amiga reseller and one from another EAB member).
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply for 600/1200 stulec52 MarketPlace 1 22 June 2009 15:26
Amiga 1200 UK-US Power Supply Questions..... batfatty New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 04 December 2008 22:34
WTB: Amiga 600, 500, 500 +, 1200 (NTSC) JeremyDay MarketPlace 2 30 November 2006 04:27
can i use a 1200 power supply to power a 500? boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 16 August 2006 03:34
ATX power supply and Amiga 1200 HardStep support.Hardware 5 02 February 2006 22:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19694 seconds with 13 queries