English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 April 2009, 00:50   #1
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
sound prob on some games using 1.5.3, okay on 1.2

hi

using the exact same config on the same pc, using winuae 1.5.3 the game gods exhibits a very pronounced crakle/echo/pingy type sound after sound effects play, wheras in winuae 1.2 the sound is perfect.

ive enclosed the config used.ive tinkered with every setting winuae's gui offers but nowt improves the sound
(however, increasing the sound lag from the default 4 tp 6 or above improves the sound, but obviously the sfx lag like mad with the setting that high)

ive also tried shift+f12 during play to get the debugger (even though i wud be baffled by it !), but it does not come up, is there a key to display ingame frames per second ?, that may shed some light, but as i mentioned, im using the same pc as i am for the 1.2 winuae.

thanx for any input, if i cud sort this it wud be usefull if i run into the same prob on other games (not tested em all yet)

cheers
Attached Files
File Type: uae gods.uae (16.5 KB, 76 views)
kirk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 April 2009, 01:03   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Dunno if it's of any worth to you, but just tested my config and I have no problem with the sound. Maybe you wanna try it.
Attached Files
File Type: uae Gods (T).UAE (11.3 KB, 78 views)
TCD is offline  
Old 16 April 2009, 01:27   #3
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
cheers, will do.

cud this be a performance issue, maybe 1.5.3 needs a little more pc juice than 1.2, however, my pc runs aga stuff like banshee ok and gods is not aga, anyway i shall look at ur config and see if i can get any pointers, thanx.
kirk is offline  
Old 16 April 2009, 01:35   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
To give you some pointers : I have a AMD X2 3800+, 2 GB Ram and a 7800 GT here (running quite a lot background junk btw ). Using onboard sound, so that shouldn't be a problem.
TCD is offline  
Old 16 April 2009, 02:10   #5
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
thanx cyberdruid, your config was instrumental in getting to the nub of the cause.
it was the 'cycle exact' box being ticked in chipset options causing the prob (this was the one option i did not try cos i have that box also ticked when running in 1.2 for all my games, and no probs)

so i guess 1.2 is a bit faster ?, or maybe its cos that partic box in 1.2 says 'cycle exact cpu and blitter' wheras in 1.5.3 it just says 'cycle exact', i dont know, im just glad the prob is sorted, thanx to ur help.

one little ques, i noticed ur using 1.3.1, does it have the brightness and gamma options in display ?, i wud like to find out what was the earliest version that had those options so i can run winuae on my slow netbook.

ill be still be sticking to 1.5.3 on my vista pc cos of the extra options and the fact it is vista compatible, i just need to investigate save state compatibility and im sorted.

cheers
kirk is offline  
Old 16 April 2009, 08:51   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk View Post
one little ques, i noticed ur using 1.3.1, does it have the brightness and gamma options in display ?, i wud like to find out what was the earliest version that had those options so i can run winuae on my slow netbook.
I'm not using 1.3.1, just the config was created (or modified) with 1.3.1.
About the first version with brightness, contrat and gamma options :
Quote:
WinUAE 1.4.2 (12.05.2007)
=========================

New features:

...
- Global brightness, contrast and gamma adjustment.
Oh and good to hea it's sorted
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
buggy sound on some DOS games clauddio Retrogaming General Discussion 3 29 September 2012 20:07
Film Sound FX into Games Dastardly Nostalgia & memories 8 23 June 2004 02:51
Sound Prob. Bootay support.WinUAE 3 18 January 2003 13:01
winuae harddisk sound prob Marcuz support.WinUAE 0 21 August 2002 22:22
sound prob in winuae 0.8.21r4 corenemesis support.WinUAE 4 19 August 2002 17:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21685 seconds with 13 queries