English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 August 2018, 10:45   #901
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
I installed flashfloppy on a gotek the other day. Nice work. love it.
plasmab is offline  
Old 31 August 2018, 15:38   #902
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
You have a short to ground at jumper position JA (which is used to implement the optional third button).

Check that the only jumper at the rear of your Gotek is at position S0. Remove any other jumpers. Then report back.
100% spot-on. Removed the jumper and everything worked properly. Thank you:
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 19:27   #903
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
Just installed this the other day and seems to be working.
I wanted to try the direct USB programming method, so I bought a Male-to-Male usb cable and another Gotek.
The direct USB method is slick.
Just change some jumpers, plug one end of your USB cable into the Gotek, the other end into your PC and program. Since the Flash Floppy distribution already comes with a DFU file, I didn't even need to convert it. Awesome!
I did solder header pins onto my Gotek to make jumpering (and re-jumpering later if needed) easier. (Besides, I have to justify the purchase of my hot air solder station!!!)

I have already ordered a couple of IIC OLED panels to upgrade the display.
I also plan on "extending" (probably removing the existing?) buttons so I can make a panel that holds the display and buttons. I will probably place it in the floppy slot on my A1000 so it is easily accessible from the front of the machine. (I do have a 3D printer to try to come up with a semi-decent panel)

I do have a preference question.

On my other Gotek (Cortex firmware still), I put my images in order using the program. So all my kickstarts/workbench floppies are in slots 1-10. Then I have my games in blocks above that. So shooting games in 11-20, platformers in 21-30, puzzle games in 31-40... (Or something like that. I don't have it running in front of me so that might be off a bit).
It tends to work out OK.
It looks like I could do something similar if I switched to HxC compatible mode IIUC.
I was thinking of leaving it in Native mode tho. Looks like that would require me to use some type of FAT sorter tho, and I'm not sure how that might work..

Thoughts, preferences?

Thanx again!

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 21:42   #904
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 92
Desiv,

There's a few modes that the Gotek can operate in.
If you don't use a config file, it'll read off the USB stick in the order that they appear, so you would need a fat sorter etc, yes.

But, instead, you can create a HxC config file, and put your disks, in any order you want, into it, and FlashFloppy (and HxC too obviously) will read this file, and (only) show those disks in your list.

There's a few tools to do this, if you want to do that.
I wrote my own small program to populate such a list.

Though, there are others, probably (definitely!) better programs
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 22:24   #905
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 102
Are there any programs to edit the HxC config file on Linux?
jurassicman is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 23:55   #906
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassicman View Post
Are there any programs to edit the HxC config file on Linux?
I'm not exactly an authority!

The thing I wrote is for Jeffs HXCFEMNG program, and makes a text file, in the format:

00001:/Disk1.adf
00002:/Disk2.hfe

And then, I run the HXCFEMNG.exe by hand.

with the setslots command, as follows:

HXCFEMNG -verbose -disk:%drive% -setslots:MyTextFile.txt

This then opens the blank HXCSDFE.CFG on the root of %drive% and the textfile MyTextFile.txt


I do see the source for the HXCFEMNG is available on GitHub, so, I'm sure you could compile your own version.

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_file_selector


The blank .cfg files are in SDCard_HxC_Floppy_Emulator_Manager.zip.
from
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...or_Manager.zip
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 24 September 2018, 06:08   #907
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
OK, as I mentioned, I flashed the Gotek with Flash Floppy.
Working great.
Waiting on my OLEDs and rotary encoders so playing with it.

In HXC mode and I decided to try some HFE files.
Converted an IPF to HFE using the HXC tool and it worked great.
(Can't remember which one. Just one I grabbed to test)

Then I wanted to test it with my Kryoflux (which I hadn't used in a while).
First of all, getting it to work with Windows 10 wasn't just plug and play, but there is a thread on the Kryoflux forum on do it. Once that was done, I was ready to test.

I grabbed my original AfterBurner (I wanted a single disk game to test) and created a CT RAW dump using my Kryoflux.

Initially I couldn't convert it with the HXC tools, till I found out it can't be named .raw (which is what the Kryoflux GUI names it). So I renamed the file to .ctr and then it loaded. Exported as an HFE.
Copied it to my USB stick, went to my Amiga, assigned it to a slot and fired it up.

There was Afterburner in all of its... er.. um.. glory??? uh..

Well, it worked! ;-)

Nice to know I can do that if/when needed.
desiv is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 00:03   #908
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
OK, this might be a bit of a silly question, and not Amiga related, but...
I have converted 2 Gotek's to Flash Floppy. Love em.

Now I have 2 3 digit LCD displays that I am thinking might be fun for projects.

But I didn't pay any attention to them while unplugging and I don't see any marking on them for which pins are which. ;-)

I know they are I2C, so the 4 pins are:
GND, VCC, SCL, SDA

Anyone know or have a diagram for which pins are which so we can reuse those displays?

Looking at shots on google, I "think" it might be:
12
34
(looking at the LED board from the back where the pins are)
1=SDA
2=GND
3=SCL
4=VCC

If I can get my arduino stuff set up again, I think I'll try hooking it up to see, but if someone knows for sure, and I'm wrong, it might help others from letting out the magic smoke. ;-)

Thanx
desiv is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 01:02   #909
jedvard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
OK, as I mentioned, I flashed the Gotek with Flash Floppy.
Working great.
Waiting on my OLEDs and rotary encoders so playing with it.

In HXC mode and I decided to try some HFE files.
Converted an IPF to HFE using the HXC tool and it worked great.
(Can't remember which one. Just one I grabbed to test)

Then I wanted to test it with my Kryoflux (which I hadn't used in a while).
First of all, getting it to work with Windows 10 wasn't just plug and play, but there is a thread on the Kryoflux forum on do it. Once that was done, I was ready to test.

I grabbed my original AfterBurner (I wanted a single disk game to test) and created a CT RAW dump using my Kryoflux.

Initially I couldn't convert it with the HXC tools, till I found out it can't be named .raw (which is what the Kryoflux GUI names it). So I renamed the file to .ctr and then it loaded. Exported as an HFE.
Copied it to my USB stick, went to my Amiga, assigned it to a slot and fired it up.

There was Afterburner in all of its... er.. um.. glory??? uh..

Well, it worked! ;-)

Nice to know I can do that if/when needed.
How do you convert IPF to HFE? i cant get it working with my gotek what settings do you use? and is HXCfloppyemulator HXC tool you use?
jedvard is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 01:22   #910
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
OK, this might be a bit of a silly question, and not Amiga related, but...
I have converted 2 Gotek's to Flash Floppy. Love em.

Now I have 2 3 digit LCD displays that I am thinking might be fun for projects.

But I didn't pay any attention to them while unplugging and I don't see any marking on them for which pins are which. ;-)

I know they are I2C, so the 4 pins are:
GND, VCC, SCL, SDA

Anyone know or have a diagram for which pins are which so we can reuse those displays?

Looking at shots on google, I "think" it might be:
12
34
(looking at the LED board from the back where the pins are)
1=SDA
2=GND
3=SCL
4=VCC

If I can get my arduino stuff set up again, I think I'll try hooking it up to see, but if someone knows for sure, and I'm wrong, it might help others from letting out the magic smoke. ;-)

Thanx
The protocol is not quite I2C -- it's basically the same except no address bits are sent.

As for the pin out... the data sheet for the display controller ic is online so you could probably buzz the header pins back to the display controller ic and work it out that way.
kaffer is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 01:23   #911
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedvard View Post
How do you convert IPF to HFE? i cant get it working with my gotek what settings do you use? and is HXCfloppyemulator HXC tool you use?
How far did you get? If you got a non-working HFE, try converting to HFEv3.

If you failed to load an IPF into the HxC tools, you need to have the SPS/IPF library installed in the right place (this can be a bit of a pain and is platform dependent).
kaffer is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 03:55   #912
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedvard View Post
How do you convert IPF to HFE? i cant get it working with my gotek what settings do you use? and is HXCfloppyemulator HXC tool you use?
My bad..
In my case, I meant CTRaw, not IPF...
desiv is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 03:58   #913
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
The protocol is not quite I2C -- it's basically the same except no address bits are sent.

As for the pin out... the data sheet for the display controller ic is online so you could probably buzz the header pins back to the display controller ic and work it out that way.
Thanx, think I'll try wiring it up and see. I think I saw an arduino library for the controller when I was browsing around..
My eyes aren't quite good enough to track anything to any pins on that tiny IC.
Worst case, I lose a 7 segment display I'm not using. ;-)
desiv is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 04:26   #914
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
How far did you get? If you got a non-working HFE, try converting to HFEv3.
.
I was trying to convert a CTRaw (Kryoflux) to HFE. Game, Eliminator
I can't convert to HFEv3. It never saves it.
I was able to convert it to HFEv2, but when I try to load it, the OLED display says ERR3 (or something like that)
desiv is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 10:42   #915
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
I was trying to convert a CTRaw (Kryoflux) to HFE. Game, Eliminator
I can't convert to HFEv3. It never saves it.
I was able to convert it to HFEv2, but when I try to load it, the OLED display says ERR3 (or something like that)
Can you send me the HFEv2? In the zone or email, cloud, whatever.
kaffer is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 10:59   #916
jedvard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
How far did you get? If you got a non-working HFE, try converting to HFEv3.

If you failed to load an IPF into the HxC tools, you need to have the SPS/IPF library installed in the right place (this can be a bit of a pain and is platform dependent).
Thanx for your answer i got it running late last night
But some games wont save as hfe rev3? Most games work but 2 of my favourites dont "Lost Patrol" and "Dogs of War" iv tried to convert them to all .hfe alternatives but no luck
jedvard is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 11:38   #917
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedvard View Post
Thanx for your answer i got it running late last night
But some games wont save as hfe rev3? Most games work but 2 of my favourites dont "Lost Patrol" and "Dogs of War" iv tried to convert them to all .hfe alternatives but no luck
How do those two titles fail? Does the tool fail to generate an HFEv3 image, or does it produce one but it's no good?

I believe the HFEv3 writer is less mature than the other HFE targets, and may not have been tested so much with raw dumps, but more with IPFs (whjich represent a "cleaner" image source).

I would like to add HFEv3 target support to my own Disk-Utilities...

EDIT: Also some earlier Amiga games had weak-bits protections which HFEv3 doesn't support at this time (or didn't when I added support to FF). I don't know if that applies to your two titles though.

Last edited by kaffer; 07 October 2018 at 11:58.
kaffer is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 18:44   #918
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
Can you send me the HFEv2? In the zone or email, cloud, whatever.
I lied..
The error was *ERR*31
(I think I got the ERR 2 because I named my HFE file Eliminator_2. )

In the zone. If you'd like the CTR file (if it will help), I can do that too.

Update: I finally realized that I could test the CTR file in WinUAE if I copied the correct (i.e. 64-bit) DLL into the right spot.
I did that, and the game loads in WinUAE.
So I know my CTR file is good (at least for booting the game).
Just the conversion to HFE doesn't seem happy. HFE v1 the game never loads (on a machine where the original floppy loads), HFEv2 I get the ERR31 on the FlashFloppy display, and on HFEv3, it never saves the file to an HFE.

Last edited by desiv; 08 October 2018 at 06:22.
desiv is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 23:50   #919
jedvard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Falun
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
How do those two titles fail? Does the tool fail to generate an HFEv3 image, or does it produce one but it's no good?

I believe the HFEv3 writer is less mature than the other HFE targets, and may not have been tested so much with raw dumps, but more with IPFs (whjich represent a "cleaner" image source).

I would like to add HFEv3 target support to my own Disk-Utilities...

EDIT: Also some earlier Amiga games had weak-bits protections which HFEv3 doesn't support at this time (or didn't when I added support to FF). I don't know if that applies to your two titles though.
Hi both produce the rev3 version and DOW starts but fails to continue load before the mainscreen (muscular guy with machinegun) appears.
LP loads but goes to black screen with no further loading 10 sec into loading.
i´v tried all other .hfe files and none work...
I know that both .ipf files work in winuae so next week when i get my kryoflux i will test them with that...
jedvard is offline  
Old 08 October 2018, 06:27   #920
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
In the zone. If you'd like the CTR file (if it will help), I can do that too.
I know, talking to myself...
Anyway, now that I know my CTR file is good (ran in WinUAE), I uploaded that to the zone as well.
desiv is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help to open-source SAS/C Hauke Coders. General 35 26 September 2017 23:39
LCD on Gotek (with HxC firmware) christopherpm Hardware mods 1 08 January 2017 03:51
Gotek drive firmware for mounting .iso cd images Ox. Amiga scene 7 05 November 2014 06:14
Gotek drive firmware for Amiga general USB mass storage solution Supamax Amiga scene 2 20 September 2014 09:35
BlitzBasic - Is now open source Djay Amiga scene 2 08 February 2003 02:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10440 seconds with 14 queries