English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 September 2019, 11:16   #1
aCCoLa
Registered User

aCCoLa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Arbroath, Scotland
Age: 46
Posts: 64
Thumbs up Cd32 Deuteros?

Did deuteros ever make it to cd with a save game option?
Or is this purely a floppy/CF card job?
Thx for any info!
aCCoLa is offline  
Old 05 September 2019, 11:46   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,728
Send a message via MSN to FOL
If it uses very small save. Then it could be make to save and load on cd32.

Sent from my I3113 using Tapatalk
FOL is offline  
Old 26 September 2019, 05:39   #3
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 43
Posts: 3,610
I'm confuse with my memory,
The cd32 has a port to add a floppy ??? no ???
I have a doubt because i had a sx32 or 1 at the time,
I'm sure that i used a disk drive with my cd32 but was it on a vanillia cd32
or is it through my sx stuff ?? don't remember!
turrican3 is offline  
Old 26 September 2019, 15:18   #4
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 497
No floppy port. You could buy an addon that plugged into the expansion slot and added a floppy drive. It was a bulky white thing and the drive sat on top of the CD32 above the expansion slot. I don't know if it had a pass through for adding an FMV card internal also.

EDIT: This thing - https://www.bigbookofamigahardware.c...t.aspx?id=1880

Looks like it had a pass through of sorts for a real time clock but I don't know if it would of support the FMV card. I do know the TF cards do not work with this riser though.
Glen M is offline  
Old 27 September 2019, 13:50   #5
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,728
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
I'm confuse with my memory,
The cd32 has a port to add a floppy ??? no ???
I have a doubt because i had a sx32 or 1 at the time,
I'm sure that i used a disk drive with my cd32 but was it on a vanillia cd32
or is it through my sx stuff ?? don't remember!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
No floppy port. You could buy an addon that plugged into the expansion slot and added a floppy drive. It was a bulky white thing and the drive sat on top of the CD32 above the expansion slot. I don't know if it had a pass through for adding an FMV card internal also.

EDIT: This thing - https://www.bigbookofamigahardware.c...t.aspx?id=1880

Looks like it had a pass through of sorts for a real time clock but I don't know if it would of support the FMV card. I do know the TF cards do not work with this riser though.

Sorry missed this post.


@Glen, I was talking about saving directly to NVRAM of the CD32.

Using tools available and ones created by Earok. We can set RAM up with a small RAD: and save to there, then compress and insert it into NVRAM. Then to load, give option on boot to load save game and it does the reverse.

If you need an example, look at Syndicate American Revolt on CD32 Compilation, it gives you option to insert save into NVRAM.

Been so busy of the last two years. I have not even had a play around with CD32Load, does that allow redirect to NVRAM saving?
FOL is offline  
Old 27 September 2019, 22:59   #6
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,251
CD32load doesn't redirect to nvram saving, no. Psygore provided me some code to do so, but given the ridiculous amount of memory nvram provides, and the fact that each game will destroy other game saves (if saves are even possible given the size), I found that not worth it.

Too bad floppy disks weren't widespread on CD32 (the hardware exists) as it would have been a great way to save games. One floppy per game: done
jotd is offline  
Old 27 September 2019, 23:25   #7
a4k-oerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: EU
Posts: 123
@jotd Not 100% related but in case you would not know, nonvolatile.library already has a builtin mechanism to use alternative storage if available, see e.g. Amiga Developer CD 2.1 autodocs (or here):
Quote:
nonvolatile.library will automatically access the best nonvolatile storage available in the system. Disk based storage will be selected first and if not available, NVRAM storage will be accessed.
...
The location for nonvolatile disk storage is contained in the file prefs/env-archive/sys/nv_location. This file should contain a data string that specifies a lockable location.
...
When opened, the nonvolatile library will search all drives within the system until it finds this file.
The CD32-MegaGames1 compilation uses this mechanism (and even creates the necessary folders/file if necessary) if a writeable device/volume SCORES: is there during boot.
a4k-oerx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wanted Deuteros Dr. Dude project.Sprites 371 09 October 2016 22:04
Help with Deuteros Wishbone project.Sprites 2 26 November 2009 23:29
The First and only Deuteros Forum Dr. Dude Amiga websites reviews 4 24 March 2006 21:24
what was the follow up to deuteros? conquest Looking for a game name ? 3 25 January 2004 00:49
Deuteros and WinFellow? MosMensk support.Games 5 21 October 2001 15:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07867 seconds with 15 queries