English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 May 2017, 18:42   #1
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 225
Evil grin Can you damage your Amiga with your code?

What a weird/wonderful question but this popped into my mind the other day... is there any way your code could cause any damage to the Amiga.. by stressing the chips out with illegal values or damaging the peripherals like the disk drive by forcing it to perform crazy stunts? #askingforafriend
Nightfox is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 18:56   #2
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfox View Post
What a weird/wonderful question but this popped into my mind the other day... is there any way your code could cause any damage to the Amiga.. by stressing the chips out with illegal values or damaging the peripherals like the disk drive by forcing it to perform crazy stunts? #askingforafriend
The "no click" utilities that stop empty disk drives clicking work by stepping the head beyond the legal range. Most drives will simply refuse such a request, and thus the normal click is silenced. I seem to remember reading that some early drives weren't smart enough to do that, and could be damaged by such utilities.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 19:02   #3
BrooksterMax
Registered User
BrooksterMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 38
Posts: 385
A wonderful question, love to know if something can be done. Would not try on my real hardware

On iOS there was some recent issue if you set an iPhone date to something like 1974 or similar it would brick the phone.
BrooksterMax is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 19:14   #4
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 44
Posts: 2,118
Wasn't there a demo that played a tune using the drives crunching/grinding? Can't imagine that was too healthy for the hardware.
Dastardly is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 19:46   #5
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 523
You can probably seriously disalign your floppy drives or simulate many years of use in a real short time. Which probably renders it broken.
Then you can modify the display settings to something that will probably fry your CRT. Modern displays should reject out-of-spec settings.

Last edited by NorthWay; 25 May 2017 at 19:46. Reason: typo
NorthWay is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 20:51   #6
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 650
Don't do the [ Show youtube player ] on your disk drives or you will sooner or later destroy your disk drives.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 21:06   #7
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,197
Not sure what kind of flash memory is inside the CD32 NVRAM, but you could probably wear the cells out far faster than regular use does, by rewriting the whole memory repeatedly in a tight loop.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 23:01   #8
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dastardly View Post
Wasn't there a demo that played a tune using the drives crunching/grinding? Can't imagine that was too healthy for the hardware.
The Gaddafi virus
deicidal is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 23:08   #9
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,770
I once experienced on my 500+ a bug which caused the floppy drive head to move past the last track (while making some very nasty sounds) so far that it was not able to pull it back by itself. I had to take the top off and push it back manually so it could grab hold of the head again. Although the fix was simple, it did require physical intervention so I'd say it qualified as physical damage.
demolition is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 00:21   #10
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 633
I'm fairly sure you could probably manage to fry the CIA's with improper programming if you really wanted, though I don't quite know how.

The rest of the custom chips should be safe to screw with. If the OS counts, you could always accidentally corrupt data on drives (including harddrives), or seeking rapidly to different positions on a CD-ROM over and over again (which wears it out), etc.

But I consider these things to be edge cases - ordinary use should not damage your computer.
roondar is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 20:22   #11
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 225
My biggest fear is improper writing to beamcon which may end up breaking my beloved commodore 1084S
Nightfox is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 21:02   #12
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 40
Posts: 619
Anyone know how the software switch for the audio filter works, and is it different on different models?

Reason being, whilst running the Sanity Arte demo on an A1200, I pressed and held the right mouse button. Clicking it is supposed to toggle the audio filter. But holding causes the music to freeze, after a short while of holding it, my power supply emmited a big spark and then whined like crazy.

Luckily both A1200 and PSU were ok but it was a bit of a fright. Is it possible that rapidly toggling the filter or continuously signalling to switch could damage the PSU?
jimbob is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 21:09   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,110
There is no known ways to damage the hardware, except already mentioned external hardware that does not have any "intelligence" (floppy drive, CRT display) and probably CD32 NVRAM too.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 21:13   #14
Nightfox
Registered User

Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 225
I think what jimbob just talked about seems like evidence something can indeed be damaged but who knows
Nightfox is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 21:18   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,110
I don't think so. Both CIA and Paula IO ports are designed to not get damaged even if pin is externally driven to gnd and port is set to output mode and high level (or vice versa).
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinball brain damage (amiga cd) low res problem dark13 support.WinUAE 2 30 May 2015 01:14
Battery Damage? Brakus support.Hardware 9 25 January 2010 20:46
Is this damage a problem? pooralfie support.Hardware 8 14 September 2009 04:33
Damage traidmill support.WinUAE 2 12 July 2004 12:57
3D code and/or internet code for Blitz Basic 2.1 EdzUp Retrogaming General Discussion 0 10 February 2002 12:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.95700 seconds with 15 queries