English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 November 2018, 18:13   #1
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 78
`ripping` images from software

Hi,
Ok this sounds that its something that `shouldnt` be done...

But I have good reason with no harm involved.

I have Virtuality machines (Amiga 3000 based). I`m making a digital display system to show off the games that are available.

I have about 10 games in all, and only 2-3 of them have the title images as an `openable` one - to grab a screenshot.
The rest, have the title image in the `main_game`.bin file.

I would like to show these on a PC based system - hence I would like the title images.

Is there a way to rip them from the game file, within winUAE : And most importantly - be able to view so I can srceenshot them to a PC.

Although... the games DO NOT RUN.. during loading - they check for the custom GFX card thats required, and when not found, the game shuts down.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Simon
simon_m74 is offline  
Old 27 November 2018, 19:52   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_m74 View Post
Hi,
Ok this sounds that its something that `shouldnt` be done...

But I have good reason with no harm involved.

I have Virtuality machines (Amiga 3000 based). I`m making a digital display system to show off the games that are available.

I have about 10 games in all, and only 2-3 of them have the title images as an `openable` one - to grab a screenshot.
The rest, have the title image in the `main_game`.bin file.

I would like to show these on a PC based system - hence I would like the title images.

Is there a way to rip them from the game file, within winUAE : And most importantly - be able to view so I can srceenshot them to a PC.

Although... the games DO NOT RUN.. during loading - they check for the custom GFX card thats required, and when not found, the game shuts down.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Simon
Of course. Might be a case of the graphic files are stored inside the main file and can be easily ripped out, or they might be in raw format and it might be necessary to piece them back together back into a readable format like iff.

Without looking at the files in question, I couldnt say.

It might be enough to hack out the card check so it displays what it can before it relies on the card being present.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphic software and other RTG software Signman Amiga scene 12 10 May 2017 02:25
Help with software to capture images and videos Edi (FZ2D) Retrogaming General Discussion 3 04 May 2010 06:06
Ripping X-It JayParker project.Sprites 25 05 October 2006 16:09
Ripping robocop gifgit project.Sprites 1 24 August 2005 11:43
Software for catalogue disk images (ADF,ADZ,DMS) on a PC Sokaris Retrogaming General Discussion 6 23 September 2003 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05774 seconds with 13 queries