English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2018, 20:44   #1
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
how to prevent windows audio cd playpack during emulation?

everytime cd with audio tracks starts to play within amiga emulation (for example bubble heroes),
then on windows side this audio cd wants to be played as well. how do i prevent that behavior?
so i have to tab out of emulation to quit audio cd playback started by windows. that's annoying.
honx is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 20:56   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,110
Never heard of that happening. You sure you don't have some weird helper Windows application or something?

Also make sure misc panel SCSI CD/DVD mode is SCSI emulation.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 21:05   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
can you image your disc and use the .cue file?
jotd is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 21:56   #4
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
there are no "helpers" or similar. just vlc player instead of bloatware windows media player.
honx is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 21:58   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
Maybe CD has "auto start". When inserted, it starts to play.
jotd is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 22:11   #6
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
cd is already inserted when winuae starts.
but once playback starts within emulation, it also starts on windows system.
in case of bubble heroes there is no autostart, because the first track is data.

tried several times to make a image out of bubble heroes cd. without success.
everytime i tried it, iso file only contained data track, missing all audio tracks.
honx is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 22:30   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,110
As long as mode is SCSI emulation, CD audio playback uses digital extraction (=audio tracks are read as 2352 byte data tracks, buffered and then sent to audio driver in real time), Windows or any other program can't know if it is used for audio playback.

Plain iso image can only contain single data track. You need something that can create cue + iso + wave files or cue + bin (or some other custom binary CD image format that supports both audio and data).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 23:21   #8
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
I confess I don't know how to rip a CD fully. Nero has this .nrg format that must be it.

To create a .cue + .iso/tracks, I would 1) rip the ISO, 2) convert the other tracks as .MP3 with CdEx, then create a .cue file with some python script or adapt an existing one. Easy.

that python script will check mp3 to see if they're stereo and create the .cue file

Code:
import glob,subprocess,os

with open("data.cue","w") as f:
    f.write("""CATALOG 0000000000000
FILE "data.iso" BINARY
  TRACK 01 MODE1/2048
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
""")
    for i,mp3 in enumerate(sorted(glob.glob("*.mp3")),2):
        # check that it's stereo
        p = subprocess.Popen(["ffmpeg.exe","-i",mp3],stdout=subprocess.PIPE,stderr=subprocess.STDOUT)
        out,err = p.communicate()
        if b"mono" in out:
            raise Exception("{} mp3 is mono!!".format(mp3))
        f.write("""FILE "{}" MP3
  TRACK {:02} AUDIO
""".format(mp3,i))
        f.write("    INDEX 01 00:00:00\n")
a simpler version which just builds the .cue with a data.iso file and the existing .mp3 tracks is below

Code:
import glob,os

with open("data.cue","w") as f:
    f.write("""CATALOG 0000000000000
FILE "data.iso" BINARY
  TRACK 01 MODE1/2048
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
""")
    for i,mp3 in enumerate(sorted(glob.glob("*.mp3")),2):
        f.write("""FILE "{}" MP3
  TRACK {:02} AUDIO
""".format(mp3,i))
        f.write("    INDEX 01 00:00:00\n")
I also have a version which converts .wav to .mp3 if .mp3 doesn't exist.

It beats inserting a damn CD to play a game.
jotd is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 23:46   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
cd is already inserted when winuae starts.
but once playback starts within emulation, it also starts on windows system.
in case of bubble heroes there is no autostart, because the first track is data.
Tried to deactivate from Control Panel -> AutoPlay

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I confess I don't know how to rip a CD fully. Nero has this .nrg format that must be it.
Yes .nrg it can include data tracks + audio tracks, also CloneCD (.ccd), if I remember well too "Blindwrite" (.b5t, .b6) e "Alcohol 120%" (.mdf)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 27 November 2018 at 00:21.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 10:18   #10
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
And WinUAE supports .nrg and .ccd I remember using .nrg format but now I don't have Nero anymore so I dropped it for .cue which is the best open format (and the least supported by burners )
jotd is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 10:39   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
And WinUAE supports .nrg and .ccd
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=.nrg

Quote:
I remember using .nrg format but now I don't have Nero anymore so I dropped it for .cue which is the best open format (and the least supported by burners )
Nero Burning support .cue

AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 15:29   #12
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
Nero is cool. But expensive. I used to buy one version, cracked another, now I gave up and sticking to free tools.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 16:50   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,228
Nah, Nero is bloatware since the very old v7. Use the freeware tool Imgburn to create a proper Bin/Cue Image.



http://www.imgburn.com/
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 19:26   #14
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
ImgBurn is fine. Careful: some download mirrors contain very aggressive malwares.
jotd is offline  
Old 27 November 2018, 20:33   #15
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 242
Has this been solved?

That's what I'm thinking also is that Windows Auto-Play is being accessed when WinUAE mounts the ISO or whatever image Honx is using. I always keep AutoPlay set to "Ask me every time." PowerDVD 12 (or any version) when being installed changes AutoPlay, so I have to manually change the settings. Otherwise when some form of disc is inserted...whatever program is set will load and access it.

@ Honx

VLC or VideoLAN has an option to change AutoPlay also...I think, in its prefs. It has been a couple years since I've used that program. I don't like anything to auto-start when I insert any kind of disc so I always make sure AutoPlay is set to ask me. So check VLC's settings and make sure it's not set.

However, having "Ask me every time." set should mean that if I have an ISO or .CUE or .BIN selected then I should be prompted also. Also, be sure that in AutoPlay settings that "Use AutoPlay for all media and devices" is enabled otherwise you won't be prompted at all for anything and whatever is default will run/execute what program is set to do so.

ImageBurn, only download from the main Site. I also keep archives I download so I don't have to revisit sites and...removes all possibilities of malware. ImgBurn is fantastic donation-ware.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 27 November 2018, 20:41   #16
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,400
I recommend ImgBurn as well. Even if I'm not creating ISOs for burning onto disc, the ISO format is still a highly reliable and resilient archival format where nothing can be deleted, which suits me fine.
Foebane is offline  
Old 27 November 2018, 20:56   #17
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
on windows i have set autoplay for audio cds with vlc player on purpose, to save many clicks.
playing audio cds is somehow hidden in vlc, requires many clicks to play an audio cd otherwise.
i don't have powerdvd or similar, thats the reason i can't watch bluray disks on that computer.

about imgburn: is there a portable version avaliable? on windows i don't trust setup/installer.
honx is offline  
Old 27 November 2018, 21:27   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,228
So, you don't install anything at all on your PC?
Anyway, google for Imgburn portable and you will probably find what you are looking for.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 November 2018, 22:29   #19
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
So, you don't install anything at all on your PC?
You should know by now from various threads on EAB that honx is ultra paranoid

...it's like he doesn't have adequate virus / malware / spyware / firewall software or something installed on his computer?

I mean, he won't download stuff from "mega.nz" because he doesn't "trust" it???

Anyway, enough OT from me...
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 November 2018, 23:45   #20
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,727
Strange enough it's always the paranoid people who get their PC infected with malware. As if paranoia implies a lack of carefulness. Maybe it's all about the sites they do trust. They trust them blindly.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible enhancements to Paula audio emulation Dr.Venom support.WinUAE 5 01 November 2018 12:46
Windows 7.1 over HDMI gives no audio skpmaniac support.WinUAE 3 21 September 2018 21:13
Emulation Windows 1.04 AMIGASYSTEM support.Apps 49 20 September 2018 22:26
WASAPI audio on Windows 10 mark_k support.WinUAE 76 19 February 2018 10:46
winuae 1.6.1 in Windows 7 and WASAPI audio Gaula92 support.WinUAE 12 13 July 2009 10:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08597 seconds with 14 queries