English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2018, 11:02   #1
Rick.D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Fullscreen scaling problem

Hey there


im using gameex+winuae an my arcade machine with a 1024x1280 desktop resolution (flipped windows desktop), Win7 and build in Intel Graphics chip



My Problem is WinUAE wont stretch my Games to fit the whole width of my screen no matter what resolutions and settings i use in WinUAE. the boot- and worbenchscreen allways use the whole with, but ingame most games show up like this (-> Rick.Winuae.jpg).


For example when i load the same game in FS-UAE it fits perfectly in Fullscreen, no matter what roms i load (-> Rick.FS-UAE)


Is there anything i'm missing here?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rick.Winuae.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	268.4 KB
ID:	61071   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rick.FS-UAE.png
Views:	84
Size:	174.8 KB
ID:	61072  
Attached Files
File Type: uae CustomA500.uae (12.2 KB, 11 views)
Rick.D is offline  
Old 04 December 2018, 13:16   #2
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,672
In Filter settings you need to change "Default" to "No scaling". Then you can manipulate the image however you want. Default scaling is bad.
john4p is offline  
Old 04 December 2018, 16:40   #3
Rick.D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
thanks for the hint, i think you are talking about using the sliders, doing this affects every screenformat as i remember - including boot and workbench screen, those are extrem oversized then. but ill give i a try when i am back home.
Rick.D is offline  
Old 04 December 2018, 17:29   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,903
john4p is talking about changing "Default":



To "No scaling":

DamienD is offline  
Old 04 December 2018, 17:32   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,235
Use Horiz. size/Vert. size first, before you use the scaling sliders (which results in a non pixelperfect scaling).
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 04 December 2018, 18:53   #6
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,672
Thanks for the screenshots Damien.

1024 isn't ideal for full width scaling. Most games are 320 pixels wide so integer scaling isn't possible. If you turned your monitor back into 5:4-format it'd be perfect for Amiga games since 320*4 = 1280 (and 256*4 = 1024).
john4p is offline  
Old 04 December 2018, 21:33   #7
Rick.D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
thanks for your replies, but when i turn everything off in filter settings Rick is getting compressed by a huge scrage press




when i now use the sliders i can adjust the screen exactly as i need it




but unfortunately, flashtro is blowing up my screen



i think the problem is, i cant say WinUAE to show the image in 800x600 or somewhat while i use 1024x1280 desktop resolution
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	scragepress.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	61079   Click image for larger version

Name:	filter settings.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	127.0 KB
ID:	61080   Click image for larger version

Name:	flashtro.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	338.9 KB
ID:	61081  
Rick.D is offline  
Old 04 December 2018, 22:48   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,903
As Retro said, don't use the sliders... play with the "Horiz. size" and "Vert. size"

You can use the presets to begin with i.e. 1.5x, 2x, 2.5x to start with and if you need to adjust then can actually type in here e.g. 1.75.
DamienD is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 01:52   #9
sonninnos
Registered User

sonninnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 2
I believe "Automatic scaling" is what you are after? Because not all games use the same screen real estate. It is usually very good at getting rid of the pointless black borders, but it is also a bit too aggressive in some instances which have stuff inside a black background.

And on some games that have huge slide in/out animations it zooms the living crap out of the picture. But on average it is great. And one can always create a custom event to toggle the automatic scaling on/off.
sonninnos is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 02:05   #10
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonninnos View Post
I believe "Automatic scaling" is what you are after? Because not all games use the same screen real estate. It is usually very good at getting rid of the pointless black borders, but it is also a bit too aggressive in some instances which have stuff inside a black background.

And on some games that have huge slide in/out animations it zooms the living crap out of the picture. But on average it is great. And one can always create a custom event to toggle the automatic scaling on/off.
ABSOLUTELY NO Automatic Scaling!!!

It was this scaling mode that inhibited my liking of Amiga emulation when I had Amiga Forever 2012, because it was set to that as default, and the constant resizing of the windowed emulation area was a right pain in the ass as it would interrupt the emulation and the audio, and yet I just could not turn it off, at least not until I used WinUAE directly, which I HAD to do OUTSIDE of AF2012.

So some games have larger black borders than others? So what? I'd rather have an authentic Amiga emulation based on real hardware than some horrible fake version that is nothing like the real-life Amiga experience.

Again, NO to Automatic Scaling, at ALL COST.
Foebane is online now  
Old 05 December 2018, 03:07   #11
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 814
Of course don't use automatic scaling with windowed mode. Use it with fullscreen.

Looking at your screenshot, I am reminded how confusing the Filter panel is. So many options are unlabeled.

For example, what does "Point/Bilinear", "1:1" and the unlabeled slider in "Extra Settings" mean?

I once worked on shaders and knew what the options meant. But I forgot it again.

I would think there should be a choice between "Point" OR "Bilinear" not "Point/Bilinear" altogether?

Last edited by rsn8887; 05 December 2018 at 03:13.
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 08:18   #12
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsn8887 View Post
Of course don't use automatic scaling with windowed mode. Use it with fullscreen.
It honestly sucks in fullscreen mode as well. "No scaling" and then manually adjusting the picture really is the best way to do it (and it's not much hassle once you get used to it - most options on the Filter-page can be ignored).
john4p is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 09:03   #13
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,672
Actually Rick Dangerous fits perfectly into 1024 pixels width with integer scaling because it only draws 256 pixels wide:




These are all the settings in Filter-page that you need (provided you use "Hires (normal)" Resolution and "Double" Line mode in Display-page):



Also used the Scanlines75DX4.png-mask which you can download on winuae.net.


For most other games that are 320 pixels wide you should use the factor 1.6 instead of 2 for "Horiz. size" AND "Vert. size". 320 in "Hires" is 640. 640 * 1.6 = 1024.

Last edited by john4p; 05 December 2018 at 09:09.
john4p is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 09:04   #14
sonninnos
Registered User

sonninnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
ABSOLUTELY NO Automatic Scaling!!!

So some games have larger black borders than others? So what? I'd rather have an authentic Amiga emulation based on real hardware than some horrible fake version that is nothing like the real-life Amiga experience.

Again, NO to Automatic Scaling, at ALL COST.
"Yeah, well, that's just like your opinion, man."

I'd rather enjoy most games from the couch with a wireless controller having the picture as big as possible with the correct aspect ratio, of course. I thought I clearly said it does not fit all cases. And where it does, it feels good, man.

Why on earth does everything have to happen my way or the high way..

And is it really that bad to get all hysterical about?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae_2018_12_05_14_35_44_151.png
Views:	33
Size:	656.2 KB
ID:	61097   Click image for larger version

Name:	winuae_2018_12_05_14_35_45_915.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	189.8 KB
ID:	61098  

Last edited by sonninnos; 05 December 2018 at 14:40.
sonninnos is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 10:10   #15
Rick.D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Thanks to everybody for your interest in this topic and john4p ill try out your configurations!
Rick.D is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 13:40   #16
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 144
I use "No scaling", 2.5x and NTSC for Elite Frontier on 1920x1080 monitor. It has less black borders than PAL. Anyway that is NTSC game. I hate stretched picture. Even on TV, if film is 4:3 I change it to 4:3 if it is not adapted already by TV station.
Tomislav is offline  
Old 05 December 2018, 19:10   #17
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomislav View Post
I use "No scaling", 2.5x and NTSC for Elite Frontier on 1920x1080 monitor. It has less black borders than PAL. Anyway that is NTSC game. I hate stretched picture. Even on TV, if film is 4:3 I change it to 4:3 if it is not adapted already by TV station.
Why would a TV station "adapt" it? Yep, thought so, cos their viewers "don't like black bars". Another reason not to watch movies on TV broadcasts.
Foebane is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic scaling - problem & request bagpipes support.WinUAE 12 17 February 2018 12:32
RTG fullscreen scaling ?? SkulleateR support.WinUAE 11 24 February 2016 02:27
Filter scaling problem possibility Snake79 support.WinUAE 1 05 January 2015 10:50
Off-by-one problem with 2x scaling mark_k support.WinUAE 0 05 February 2013 23:41
aspect ratio and scaling problem hexaae support.WinUAE 42 14 May 2009 20:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09275 seconds with 16 queries