English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 December 2018, 02:29   #1
Devil Master
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 6
What's preventing WinUAE from emulating Virtuality machines?

Is it undumped software? Is it obscure hardware?
I've read that the twin video cards are unemulated, but I heard that they use pretty standard components as Virtuality did not have a silicon factory. Is it just because there aren't many of them around?

I have access to a Virtuality machine (currently disassembled; running DiagROM revealed errors in Chip RAM and the CIAs). Would it be helpful to the developers if I sent them...
...a dump of the hard drive?
...a dump of the CD-ROM?
...high definition pictures of the video cards so the components and their connections can be identified?
Devil Master is offline  
Old 01 December 2018, 05:49   #2
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,917
Great questions.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 01 December 2018, 06:05   #3
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,342
I hope so !!!!
do you have games with it ???
I played 2 of it in london, i appreciated the flight simulation.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 01 December 2018, 22:04   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,129
I think most of the questions are already mentioned in this thread: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85014

Chips used are TMS 34020 and TMS 34082 (probably more than one 34082..). They are very complex, especially 34082. 34010 (34020 is slightly improved 34010) is already emulated (used in A2410) but 34082 isn't. Emulation (at least done by me) is unlikely but you never know.. Also hardware is most likely required by I am not going to loan it unless I am 101% sure I'll do it..

Photos and harddisk images and everything are also required.

34020 + 1-4x34082 combination is also used by Vivid 24 video card. Which may or may not be similar enough.. Which probably needs to be emulated first (less unknown parts) but it is most likely impossible without having the hardware.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2018, 07:21   #5
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 227
I think one of these cards has also popped up on the other bay:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Zorro-Gra...PCH8PA0kgqvku8
dalek is offline  
Old 04 December 2018, 00:17   #6
kfasheldon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 32
looks like this is a Rainbow 256 board only reference i could find was in cu amiga issue 045 1993 where a full review of the rainbow is, at the end it is listed as Chartscreen at £1699
kfasheldon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE preventing screensaver trumpy81 support.WinUAE 7 13 March 2018 01:35
Amiga 3000 from Virtuality machine, green screen at boot Devil Master support.Hardware 17 28 August 2017 15:33
1000CS Virtuality System DDNI Amiga scene 0 20 May 2008 02:11
Emulating An Amiga CD32 using WinUAE amigauser support.WinUAE 63 17 August 2006 06:25
Emulating WinUAE on a Mac Fred the Fop Amiga scene 11 02 December 2001 14:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06447 seconds with 15 queries