English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2007, 07:33   #41
GF_Workman
 
Posts: n/a
Hi,

Yes, this is my first Amiga so I'm pretty green. Anyway, I have been attempting to move an ADF from a PC to an Amiga 500. The comp has 1M RAM, only one floppy drive, no hard drive. I'm not trying to split it (probably not necessary for this ADF) or unpack it yet.

I've been following instructions that appear to match what is in this thread, from:
http://adfsender.stoeggl.com/adfsend...l/methods.html
and
http://adfsender.stoeggl.com/adfsend...nal/readme.txt

I made a copy of my Workbench 1.3 disk and it appears I sent transdisk over to it from the PC. When I change to the "c" directory on the Workbench copy, I do see a file: "transdisk" I don't know the significance of having it in that particular directory, but I suspect it is there because in the command:
copy ram:transdisk to df0:c
I'm thinking that if "df0" signifies my internal floppy, then the ":c" must have told it to drop it into that directory.

Anyway, when I follow the instructions to fire up transdisk to receive a file, I get the following response/error:
"unable to load transdisk: file is not an object module"

I've not been able to find anything on this error. Any idea where I made a wrong turn (probably Albuquerque)?

Thanks so much,
George
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 September 2007, 11:46   #42
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,607
The transdisk exe is broken. Check your serial port settings, and reread the instructions for sending it and try to move it over again.

The significance of having it in sys:c is that then it is in the path.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 September 2007, 13:00   #43
Andec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by GF_Workman View Post
Hi,

Yes, this is my first Amiga so I'm pretty green. Anyway, I have been attempting to move an ADF from a PC to an Amiga 500. The comp has 1M RAM, only one floppy drive, no hard drive. I'm not trying to split it (probably not necessary for this ADF) or unpack it yet.

I've been following instructions that appear to match what is in this thread, from:
http://adfsender.stoeggl.com/adfsend...l/methods.html
and
http://adfsender.stoeggl.com/adfsend...nal/readme.txt

I made a copy of my Workbench 1.3 disk and it appears I sent transdisk over to it from the PC. When I change to the "c" directory on the Workbench copy, I do see a file: "transdisk" I don't know the significance of having it in that particular directory, but I suspect it is there because in the command:
copy ram:transdisk to df0:c
I'm thinking that if "df0" signifies my internal floppy, then the ":c" must have told it to drop it into that directory.

Anyway, when I follow the instructions to fire up transdisk to receive a file, I get the following response/error:
"unable to load transdisk: file is not an object module"

I've not been able to find anything on this error. Any idea where I made a wrong turn (probably Albuquerque)?

Thanks so much,
George
I had the same problem the first time I tried it. Try lowering the serial port speed. Anything over 9200 fails on my miggy.

Cheers
Andec
Andec is offline  
Old 30 September 2007, 05:34   #44
GF_Workman
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks - lowering the port speed on the PC didn't do the trick at first, but once I made the Amiga match the same speed, viola - success.

Thanks very much!
George
 
Old 30 September 2007, 10:19   #45
Andec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 83
Glad to here it worked......

Cheers
Andec
Andec is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
free to a good home - 512kB ram expansion for A500 Paul_s MarketPlace 6 12 October 2010 23:02
512kB RAM expansion problem Richardsk support.Hardware 16 26 December 2008 19:17
Is it possible to do a PC -> Amiga floppy transfer with 1.3 kickrom A500 +512kb? qao New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 24 August 2006 05:54
Transfer an ADF from Amiga500 to PC and vice versa... scifi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 09 April 2006 05:24
GIVE AWAY: 2x A500 512kb RAM + RTC expansion icewizard2k5 MarketPlace 4 27 June 2005 07:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06078 seconds with 14 queries