English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2016, 23:12   #41
Lazycow
Registered User
Lazycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 148
Yes, a physical release is planned. What's the way to go? Floppy Disk or CD?
Lazycow is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 February 2016, 23:29   #42
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Both if you have the means and ability to do so, a bootable CD32 would be superb, though you may have to contact the authors of tanks furry to see why they couldnt have a bootable cd32 version?
Amigajay is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 21:30   #43
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 650
CD. CD and Floppy disc if possible.
Adrian Browne is offline  
Old 15 March 2016, 00:16   #44
Lazycow
Registered User
Lazycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 148

it's fast enough on an A500 now: Time for a new screenshot...
In some areas there's even plenty of CPU time left. How could that happen? I wonder how I am going to handle that...
Lazycow is offline  
Old 15 March 2016, 01:09   #45
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Great stuff looking good!
What are you going to add, music and sfx!?
Amigajay is offline  
Old 15 March 2016, 10:05   #46
Lazycow
Registered User
Lazycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 148
Oh, I didn't activate the music. That might be a reason why there's so much CPU time left. Pierre Martin's ingame music and sound effects are ready, I used Phx's replay code to play 4 channel music and sound effects simultanously.
Lazycow is offline  
Old 15 March 2016, 14:51   #47
invent
pixels

invent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 167
Great work Lazycow, thanks for the update.

Silly question possibly, but how did you create the animated gifs? (Screen capture/record/convert).
invent is offline  
Old 15 March 2016, 15:27   #48
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,490
That looks really cute! I hope in a preview!
Predseda is offline  
Old 15 March 2016, 16:02   #49
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,573
Awesome stuff indeed Lazycow, well done

...can't wait for this to be released
DamienD is online now  
Old 15 March 2016, 20:28   #50
Lazycow
Registered User
Lazycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 148
@Predseda: I am currently working on a non-playable demo.

@invent: That's one of the frequently asked questions... To do an animated gif, I am usually cross-compiling the game to PC, because there I added a special option that dumps the raw screen contents to a growing file while someone is playing.

The file with the raw screen data can be converted to gif or png with mplayer, mconvert or ffmpeg. Finally, I use gifsicle to optimize it.
Lazycow is offline  
Old 16 March 2016, 01:10   #51
invent
pixels

invent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 167
Thanks for the answer Lazycow, appreciated
invent is offline  
Old 16 March 2016, 09:46   #52
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazycow View Post

This means that Tubular Worlds has the same bug (embarrassing), because I am using an improved version of its scrolling code.
You are the author of the Tubular Worlds code?
Predseda is offline  
Old 16 March 2016, 15:48   #53
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
You are the author of the Tubular Worlds code?
Yep he is. Here is his HOL data:
http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?N_ref_artist=5926
Akira is offline  
Old 16 March 2016, 15:52   #54
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,490
Ah, that Minerunner that we have in upcoming lemon/eab compo!
Predseda is offline  
Old 16 March 2016, 15:57   #55
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
Yep he makes really great games.
Hopefully Pharaoh's Return will be finished and also eventually ported to Amiga with enhanced features!
Akira is offline  
Old 22 March 2016, 11:56   #56
Lazycow
Registered User
Lazycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 148
@Akira: Pharaohs Return for Amiga? Obviously, you like writing science fiction short stories...

@Predseda: Yes, Tubular Worlds... But only the Amiga version.

A non-playable demo of Powerglove is working now, but on Amigas with 1MB chipmem it shows lots of graphic errors. Where's the rub? Bah!

Last edited by Lazycow; 22 March 2016 at 12:01.
Lazycow is offline  
Old 22 March 2016, 12:46   #57
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazycow View Post

A non-playable demo of Powerglove is working now, but on Amigas with 1MB chipmem it shows lots of graphic errors. Where's the rub? Bah!
Sounds good! Any chance of a vid?
Amigajay is offline  
Old 22 March 2016, 13:02   #58
Lazycow
Registered User
Lazycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 148
@Amigajay: No video, yet. But I plan to release the non-playable demo.

Ok, seems like the graphical glitches are caused by a broken protracker module. Are there protracker module-check or module-repair programs? Any hints how to expose problems in protracker modules?
Lazycow is offline  
Old 22 March 2016, 16:08   #59
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazycow View Post
@Akira: Pharaohs Return for Amiga? Obviously, you like writing science fiction short stories...
One can only dream! I'd be pleased with the C64 version alone anyway

Quote:
Ok, seems like the graphical glitches are caused by a broken protracker module. Are there protracker module-check or module-repair programs? Any hints how to expose problems in protracker modules?
What kinda errors?
Is it by any chance the problem created by PC module-making tools like Milkytracker, that saves MODs with the replen of samples set wrong and crash the scope display among other things?
If it is that the module was created/saved on PC it will probably has this mistake and the "fix" is to set replen to a valid value.
Akira is offline  
Old 22 March 2016, 18:03   #60
Lazycow
Registered User
Lazycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 148
Ok, seems like the graphic glitches are not caused by the music, but by something unknown instead. Drama!

Meanwhile, let's check if Powerglove meets all intrinsic Amiga game characteristics:
- 4 channel music: check
- rusty sound effects: check
- 32 colour graphics: check
- parallax scrolling: check
- colour gradient background: FAIL!

DOH!!
Lazycow is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Ongoing] Blob Attack II Arne project.Amiga Game Factory 39 12 July 2017 17:06
[ongoing] DosBox AGA (v0.74) NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 95 04 July 2016 23:45
[ongoing] Catagon BSzili project.Amiga Game Factory 17 14 August 2015 20:18
KG's HOL problems (Ongoing) killergorilla HOL data problems 102 24 April 2011 13:34
Is this still an ongoing project? garyg AMR suggestions and feedback 17 04 October 2010 23:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18716 seconds with 13 queries