English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2001, 14:21   #1
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 740
Just curious: UAE and 640*2xx screen modes?

I never saw UAE running, as my only system is a real Amiga.

I might install the PPC Amiga port of UAE as an easy way to do some screen shots, so
I'm wondering how UAE is handling screen modes with non proportional pixels ?

I mean, you certainly don't play games in a 640*200 window on your PC, as that would
probably look quite "stretched", wouldn't it ?

How's UAE handling that ? Does it double an emulated pixel's vertical size before
displaying it ?
Korodny is offline  
Old 04 December 2001, 17:26   #2
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,504
You can double and do whatever you want with the display, so you get a correct aspect ratio. 640x200 interlaced mode is ought to look all squished, I suppose :/
Akira is offline  
Old 08 December 2001, 19:32   #3
P-J
Registered User
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 41
Posts: 1,149
Stufff...

I've posted somewhere on this board about custom screenmodes.

I use a full-screen PC native 640 x 512 resolution which (contrary to popular belief) has never actually dropped a single pixel in all the games I've played.

You can use a 640 x 480 resolution, with aspect correction. It's not perfect, but it's a roundabout way of fitting it all into a smaller space. Perfect for NTSC games, of course
P-J is offline  
Old 08 December 2001, 19:48   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,692
Overscan is quite common with demos and intros, games used it very rarely.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 December 2001, 12:16   #5
P-J
Registered User
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 41
Posts: 1,149
In which case...

I guess you can create a custom mode for an average overscan, for 'xxx' particular demo that you watch.
P-J is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-interlaced screen modes 8bitbubsy support.Other 0 06 December 2010 02:01
ECS Screen Modes in CDTV WB 1.3??? Canyon Matt support.Hardware 5 25 July 2009 09:42
getting screen modes working full screen damo support.WinUAE 1 06 February 2009 22:12
dbl screen modes alexh support.WinUAE 6 24 October 2007 17:36
Screen modes AndySch support.Apps 3 02 July 2006 07:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06580 seconds with 13 queries