English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 August 2016, 18:17   #41
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by nujack View Post
Would be nice to test it in combination with FMV-Card. With CD32fWSI and FMV-Modul you can only use self starting VideoCD's because Play button is not working.
How do you use an FMV card with an FWSI? They both connect to the same expansion slot on the CD32!

The FMV can plug into the FWSI in the place the FWSi RTC goes? Instead of using the FMV's own back plate?

Is that tested working?
alexh is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 02:22   #42
nujack
Zone Friend
nujack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
How do you use an FMV card with an FWSI? They both connect to the same expansion slot on the CD32!

The FMV can plug into the FWSI in the place the FWSi RTC goes? Instead of using the FMV's own back plate?

Is that tested working?
You can remove the RTC-clock card and plug in the FMV-module. That's how I use the CD32FWSI with that card and it's working perfect. Big advantage is the good picture quality over the RGB-extension of the CD32FWSI but with the problem that you can't leave the video-menu or forward to the next chapter of a video-cd because of that bug. Would be really nice if someone has a solution for that topic.
BTW here are some pictures from that combination:
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showpost.ph...3&postcount=14
nujack is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 02:30   #43
nujack
Zone Friend
nujack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
Well I don't have an FMV module But you could try a modified ROM...
I'll do if you can provide me such a ROM? Don't have possibilities/skills to burn such a modified ROM.
nujack is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 07:51   #44
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,137
How are you going to fit it? The ROM in the CD32 is soldered in place
alexh is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 08:56   #45
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
How are you going to fit it? The ROM in the CD32 is soldered in place
Every CD32 picture I can find online shows a socketed ROM. Haven't checked mine yet.
kaffer is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 08:59   #46
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by nujack View Post
I'll do if you can provide me such a ROM? Don't have possibilities/skills to burn such a modified ROM.
I can do that, assuming your ROM is socketed and you are okay opening your CD32 to swap the chip. I will test the principle out on my own CD32 first.
kaffer is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 12:40   #47
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,882
Both of my CD32 also have ROM sockets.

It should be possible put the patched lowlevel.library in FWSI ROM, it has lots of empty space. (at least 16k, I think) and then add small patch to existing boot code that replaces lowlevel.library in resident list (just like FMV ROM does).

Probably not very useful but if someone wants alternative solution for some reason
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 15:58   #48
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 497
Modified ROM works fine. Tested with the audio CD player, and with a system friendly game (Diggers). Mileage with games will be variable as many do not access the pad via lowlevel.library.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2009.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	256.6 KB
ID:	49488  
kaffer is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 17:51   #49
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 399
Could you please supply that patch in the Zone? I've got a unit here which needs it, too.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 18:16   #50
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,886
So is this a hardware only patch then I.e changing roms, is there no way to hack it in software on boot?
Amigajay is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 18:20   #51
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
Could you please supply that patch in the Zone? I've got a unit here which needs it, too.
Done.
kaffer is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 18:21   #52
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
So is this a hardware only patch then I.e changing roms, is there no way to hack it in software on boot?
I'm sure you could patch it when booting from a floppy or burned CD-R. However I know how to modify and burn ROMs but I'm less familiar with SetPatch.
kaffer is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 18:36   #53
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,882
Loadmodule loaded replacement lowlevel.library should (at least in theory) work with CD32 too.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 18:41   #54
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
How is this version of lowlevel.library different? any what about games that dont use the lowlevel.library like Legends?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 18:48   #55
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
How is this version of lowlevel.library different? any what about games that dont use the lowlevel.library like Legends?
Accesses CIAA at mirror location to avoid fWSI's bad emulation of CIA logic, instead hitting Akiko which does the right thing. As hypothesised and confirmed by Toni.

This won't help games which access the gamepad direct. I guess CD32Load would be one way to get those patched.
kaffer is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 18:52   #56
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Is there anyway to have a patched lowleel.library for A1200 motherboards that have problems.


Thank you for your replys.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 19:12   #57
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
Is there anyway to have a patched lowleel.library for A1200 motherboards that have problems.


Thank you for your replys.
Yes they would just want a longer delay loop to allow for the extra capacitance on those boards' POT lines. The same caveat applies that it only helps stuff that actually uses lowlevel.library.
kaffer is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 21:12   #58
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 399
Thank you very much!
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 21 August 2016, 10:52   #59
nujack
Zone Friend
nujack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
Modified ROM works fine. Tested with the audio CD player, and with a system friendly game (Diggers). Mileage with games will be variable as many do not access the pad via lowlevel.library.
Awesome!!!
Would you send me such a ROM for further tests with FMV-card please?
I'll send you a pm for further details. Thank you.
nujack is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd32 from analogic computers not working properly fondpondforever Amiga scene 11 22 August 2013 14:24
Analogic cd32 floppy nixxjsteve support.Hardware 12 25 February 2012 14:24
CD32 Analogic Floppy drive problems? Cooljerk support.Hardware 2 25 February 2012 13:33
Index Information's fWSI for CD32 Paul_s MarketPlace 6 08 October 2010 12:44
Analogic CD32 floppy drive questions twiggy support.Hardware 18 04 May 2010 02:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10559 seconds with 16 queries