English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 10 August 2015, 00:24   #1
Cyangmou

Tower 57 - Dystopian Dieselpunk Topdown Shooter

Hello EAB Comm,

I am new in those forums and stumbled over them, as I searched through the net to find people who love Amiga-styled-games, run'n'guns and pixel art, therefore not 100% sure if this is the right place to post, if not it'd be great if one of the mods could move it to the fitting board.

I wanted to tell you about the project I am developing with Benitosub - TOwer 57.

a short introduction:
My name is Thomas, I am a pixel-artist and animator and I spend the last 2 years with work on various game projects, I am also a mod at Pixelation, a pixelart forum.
Marco aka Benitosub is a coder, who has ~12 years of coding experience, and of course a huge Amiga lover.

About a year ago we both started in our sparetime with developing a prototype for a new PC/Mac/Linux game, with the ultimative goal to create something which has the style of 90's Topdown Run'n'Guns, but gameplay according to todays standards.
Benitosub describes it as "The lovechild of The Chaos Engine and Alien Breed", although a lot of my personal preferences (which are mostly SNES and GBA games) flew in too and the result after a year is our project Tower 57.

Tower 57 is a shooter, which plays in a dystopian art deco - cyberpunk world.
Humans live in huge megatowers, surrounded by radioactive wastelands. Choose your mercenary, get in Tower57 and stop them from invading your hometower.

what makes the gameplay special?
-different weapons which will play out differently and interact with the environment
-emergent gameplay - simple rules lead to complex results,
e.g.: fire burns wood, electricity travels down the path with the least resistance, enemies form swarms and hunt you down.