English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 July 2007, 06:40   #1
Raven
 
Posts: n/a
Foundation - runs sluggish

Hi.
Been trying to get foundation to work with winuae but runs sluggish and wonder if there is any preconfigured file i could download and try with ?

Sitting with a c2d E4300 overclocked to 2.4ghz and 2x1gb memory so should have plenty of power, all other games i tried sofar runs at acceptable speeds.

Regards
Raven
 
Old 19 July 2007, 08:12   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
It depends on the Amiga configuration you choose.
You could have a four core 10GHz cpu and 16GB of ram and still it would be slugish if you choose a mint A1200 with 2MB Chip
... another thing is if it would even boot the game on that config...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 19 July 2007, 08:21   #3
Raven
 
Posts: n/a
i have winuae configured to specifications way beoynd what i used to have on my old A1200 and the game ran much better on it :7

040
8mb+32mb
kick 3.1
aga chipset
 
Old 19 July 2007, 08:35   #4
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,044
Strange, I remember it was quite ok on my real 030/32MB...
Did you setup that yerself? Maybe you missed a few speedup options like JIT?
Try the best predefined config, maybe?

---=== EDITED ===---
"Model: Expanded WinUAE example configuration" works great!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 19 July 2007, 10:32   #5
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,266
Exclamation

Maybe you could try adding graphics memory and configuring the game to run under uaegfx card emulation at a nice high resolution. This has always worked for me in the past. CPU intense games like Doom, Alien Breed 3D2, Gloom Deluxe, Payback and Genetic Species all run perfect under graphics card emulation. I think you'll find that Foundation will also run much better. Good luck.

Ps. Are you playing the game from CD? You may have to install the game to hard drive to get the RTG graphics modes.
Steve is offline  
Old 19 July 2007, 12:09   #6
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 877
Did you try the cpu/chipset slider all the way towards CPU, instead of selecting "fastest possible"? If not maybe that helps...
rsn8887 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foundation DC - mission 2 PopoCop support.Games 5 15 February 2017 13:07
Foundation BarrySWE request.Old Rare Games 3 11 May 2006 22:09
Sluggish Keyboard - Pinball Fantasies Christian support.WinUAE 4 24 January 2006 15:46
Foundation..... BarrySWE request.Old Rare Games 1 25 November 2005 20:27
Foundation 1.07 update Enverex project.SPS (was CAPS) 2 14 February 2004 13:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06742 seconds with 13 queries