English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2007, 01:37   #1
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
Can't record footage properly when filter option is enabled

Okay, I'm going to try to break things down a bit to make everything understandable here:

1) I'm using WinUAE 1.4.4.
2) I'm trying to record something.
3) That something happens to be the animated intro sequence (with the pool balls) from Archer Maclean's Pool.
4) I'm trying to record footage of it for use as an animated icon movie for use in my PSP.
5) I'm trying to record it at a custom window resolution of 480x272 (the PSP's max resolution).
6) Without the filter enabled the screen can not fill up the entirety of this custom resolution window.
7) With the filter enabled, and with appropriate H and V size/position settings (as seen in the config I have attached at the bottom), I can set it up so that the intro can fill the whole area.
8) HOWEVER, for some inexplicable reason, WinUAE's built-in AVI recording feature completely ignores my filter settings, meaning the resultant movie shows how things look in plain non-filter mode, with everything out of place and off-screen.
9) So I try to resort to using an external screen-recorder program and just capture what goes on in the window.
10) Except no matter what program I use (Camtasia, HyperCam, Fraps, whatever) the resultant clip just shows a pitch black screen throughout.
11) I suspect the graphics filter thingy is displaying the screen output through some alternative, alien graphics source which these screen recorders can't capture, but I don't know anything more than that.
12) It is all frustrating me to no end.


So the basic question is: why can't AVI-recorder and Filter go hand-in-hand and capture everything the way *I* see it? Am I missing something important here? Is there an alternate solution I can carry out? Help me Mr Wilen, You're My Only Hope!


But yeah. Config below.
Attached Files
File Type: uae Pool_PSP_Setup.uae (22.8 KB, 103 views)
MethodGit is offline  
Old 22 November 2007, 06:20   #2
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
Just record normally in any way you want, the use a prog like VirtualDub to make it 480x272, easy peasy.

Ie, record at 800x600, open file in VD, crop, stretch, whatever to any size you want, and save.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 22 November 2007, 08:49   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,116
Which filter?

(and disable RGB overlays)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 November 2007, 11:10   #4
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
Null Filter. Admittedly I haven't got round to trying the Direct3D or OpenGL filters yet, but I don't know if those sort of outputs can be captured either. Can they?


And Ironclaw, I was kinda hoping I could record something without having to artificially shrink or expand it later on.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 22 November 2007, 11:41   #5
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
Null Filter. Admittedly I haven't got round to trying the Direct3D or OpenGL filters yet, but I don't know if those sort of outputs can be captured either. Can they?


And Ironclaw, I was kinda hoping I could record something without having to artificially shrink or expand it later on.
I know , but it's a fast and easy solution . If you can't get it to work like you want in WinUAE, this solution is the way to go .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 22 November 2007, 22:39   #6
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(and disable RGB overlays)
Well, while that didn't do much for the built-in AVI recorder, it appears to have solved the problem of screen recorders not capturing the output. Cheers for that one!
MethodGit is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Lost in Mine sequel pre-alpha footage Shoonay Retrogaming General Discussion 3 22 February 2013 00:48
T-Zero Amiga footage??.... dave4shmups request.Other 30 22 November 2011 23:15
Recording Amiga footage on the PC Gilbert New to Emulation or Amiga scene 28 25 February 2009 21:50
Original Prince of Persia animation reference footage! alkis21 Retrogaming General Discussion 12 17 December 2008 17:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14313 seconds with 16 queries