English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. Blitz Basic

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 August 2014, 13:15   #1
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 55
Blitz Basic 2 and Protracker mods

I've been tearing my hair out all day trying to get the most basic code working. In Blitz Basic (AmiBlitz more precisely) I am trying to load a mod, play it and once a user presses a key, load a new mod and play that.

Using the standard tracker code:

Code:
      StopModule
      LoadModule 0, x$ + ".mod"
      PlayModule 0
The module plays first time without problems. Once I press a key (thus changing x$ to another filename that exists), it crashes with 0x8000002B.

I tried CIA Tracker Lib (both the one on Aminet and the one xbones one that comes with AmiBlitz) and got the same results. The code:

Code:
      StopTracker
      FreeTrackerModule 0
      If (LoadTrackerModule (0, x$ + ".mod") = True)
        retval = StartTracker (0)
      End If
If I don't play the mods at all (ie. remove the StartTracker line above), I can load the modules a million times and they will always load correctly. I have verified this. It's only when I try to StartTracker () a second time do things die.

Anyone experienced this and have a workaround?
Radertified is offline  
Old 10 August 2014, 13:58   #2
leathered
Registered User

leathered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Age: 42
Posts: 304
I couldn't reproduce your problem with the CIA tracker library, although I've run into my own problems before.
I'm using Blitz2 and not Amiblitz, so there could be some skittishness between the versions. Even so it seems very odd that such a commonplace command set is failing like this.

But to check:
Do you have any other libraries installed that could be causing a conflict? DEFLIBMAN and BlitzLibMan can help (I actually need both to reconstruct deflibs to something that will work).
Obvious - but are you getting low on RAM?

Otherwise putting the question to Amiforce.de might help.

The following didn't work for me (corrupted mods), but may be worth a try. Both examples load the module in binary, the first via INCBIN and the second by loading into a bank and decoding from there.
We really need a lib for PHX's new protracker player. Eventually I gave up on protracker and started using Leffmann's excellent Omed player.

Code:
DecodeModule  0,?modtest
Modtest: INCBIN “path$,module”       ;at the end of your code 

success=BLoad(“path$,module”,0)
DecodeModule  0,Start(0)
leathered is offline  
Old 10 August 2014, 16:11   #3
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 55
You solved it in one. AmiBlitz was the culprit. Once I switched to regular Blitz Basic 2, everything worked as it should.

Thanks for the tip, leathered!
Radertified is offline  
Old 13 September 2018, 23:55   #4
bjadams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 19
Does CIA tracker library work on KS 1.3 ?

Last edited by bjadams; 16 September 2018 at 20:39.
bjadams is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blitz basic 2 Help Havie Coders. Blitz Basic 30 08 September 2013 10:15
blitz basic petza request.Apps 11 08 April 2007 02:49
Blitz Basic 2 anyone? jobro request.Apps 12 28 November 2005 19:15
Free Blitz Basic! Amigaboy Amiga scene 0 13 November 2001 19:36
Blitz Basic 2 LaundroMat Retrogaming General Discussion 5 24 July 2001 09:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06371 seconds with 13 queries