English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2017, 01:38   #1
Xebec
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 52
Multiline Amiga BBS Questions from an Atari/PC'er

Hey folks

I ran a BBS back in the day - starting with BBS Express! on the Atari 800XL, BBS Express! ST on a 520ST, then FoReM ST, then finally PCBoard on the PC.. until I got in some trouble for software piracy .

Anyway, I was always curious about Amiga BBSes. I remember a "Warez for the Masses" down in Delaware being a multi-line Amiga BBS, so...

Were Amiga multiline BBSes in the early 1990s running on a single Amiga or were they networked somehow? If a single Amiga, how would it handle multiple high speed modems - were there upgrades for UARTs available maybe for the big box Amigas? Just curious how the hardware worked out for them..

Thanks..
John
Xebec is offline  
Old 29 January 2017, 02:25   #2
esc
 
Posts: n/a
From a telnet point of view one machine handles the entire task of running the BBS. I'm not sure how multiple modems were used, though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
 
Old 29 January 2017, 04:02   #3
don27dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: uZI sUICIDE!
Posts: 68
I had three phone lines ringdown and one telnet node towards the end. Most guys used multiple http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/ioextender cards in a single amiga.

Last edited by don27dog; 29 January 2017 at 21:46.
don27dog is offline  
Old 29 January 2017, 16:00   #4
Phantasm
Not a Rebel anymore
Phantasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 206
Multinode BBS's typically ran on big box Amiga's (A4000/040 for me although i first started out as single node on an A1200) with Zorro serial cards (like the one mentioned above) giving you the capability of connecting multiple modems. The Amigas excellent multi-tasking capabilities meant it was well suited to handling multiple calls at the same time. In the later years people moved over to telnet.
Phantasm is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 19:23   #5
Codetsu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: next to Mordor
Posts: 136
one local Amiga BBS use some multiserial card to handle multiline modem system
he build serial card him self you can found same build ins. on Aminet even this day

now Telnet is just to easy hander multiline BBS xD
Codetsu is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 19:30   #6
Xebec
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 52
This is exactly what I was curious about.. 'back in the day' - before the internet really took off, it sounds like Big Box Amigas + one or more Zorro cards with serial ports to do it.. I guess even an Amiga 2000 was probably healthy enough for a couple of nodes if configured properly then..

thanks guys!
Xebec is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 19:55   #7
Phantasm
Not a Rebel anymore
Phantasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xebec View Post
This is exactly what I was curious about.. 'back in the day' - before the internet really took off, it sounds like Big Box Amigas + one or more Zorro cards with serial ports to do it.. I guess even an Amiga 2000 was probably healthy enough for a couple of nodes if configured properly then..

thanks guys!
Add a nice SCSI card and an 030 processor to your A2000 and then it would handle it real nice. Might have struggled a bit on a stock 7.14mhz 68000
Phantasm is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 20:59   #8
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 681
I used to have a Spider card in my A2000. This is not related to the USB Spider.
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/spider

It's a beast! It had had eight serial cables connected to a 64pin connector.
No idea what happened to that card...
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 21:14   #9
Xebec
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
I used to have a Spider card in my A2000. This is not related to the USB Spider.
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/spider

It's a beast! It had had eight serial cables connected to a 64pin connector.
No idea what happened to that card...
That looks pretty awesome! I was actually shopping for a PC high end equivalent in 1994 -- a Digiboard 4/8 serial port board set which PCBoard BBS supported but then the "software police" arrived . (I was 17 at the time)..
Xebec is offline  
Old 02 February 2017, 02:20   #10
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,679
One nice thing about the Amiga as a BBS machine was that the BBS software never had to support any specific card. That's why any Amiga BBS system also supports telnet nowadays.
idrougge is offline  
Old 02 February 2017, 04:35   #11
Codetsu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: next to Mordor
Posts: 136
yep A2000 whit 030 and some add-on serial card run BBS multi node just fine
even whit telnet now days but telnet slowdown system :/

serial card project from Aminet was bit slow 19k Baud max
if my memory not fail me

Genetic-point BBS
g-point.tunk.org:500
A2000 030 come an visit any time xD
Codetsu is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga BBS via telnet ? XPD New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 10 March 2018 18:36
Amiga related BBS's Claz New to Emulation or Amiga scene 34 13 November 2017 20:58
Amiga BBS dabone support.Apps 13 12 January 2010 21:52
Amiga BBS's don27dog Amiga scene 1 06 May 2008 16:27
EBAY Amiga / Atari ST / Atari 2600 stuff Eggsplosion MarketPlace 0 09 October 2004 22:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07553 seconds with 15 queries