English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 July 2017, 04:15   #1
Marchie
Registered User
 
Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 589
HDF image from MicroSD to CF.

Hi All,

I need to get my hard disk image from a micro SD card onto a compact flash, what's the best way to do this? (if it can be done?)

I think I can use Amiga explorer to write the image to the CF card (ridiculously slow as that will be), but I'll still need a way to rip the HDF from the MicroSD

Cheers,
-M
Marchie is offline  
Old 17 July 2017, 07:06   #2
jPV
Registered User
 
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 1,006
I think it should go with any program which does (reads and writes) raw images of devices. I have no idea about Windows, but for example dd in Linux or RAWDISK: on MorphOS etc... If Windows itself doesn't support it, there must be dozens of freeware programs too.
jPV is offline  
Old 17 July 2017, 09:22   #3
demolition
Unregistered User
 
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 43
Posts: 4,190
For Windows this tool can be used:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/win32diskimager/

You do need the target drive to be the same size or bigger as the source or you won't be able to fit the image. Notice that one 4GB card is not always exactly the same size as another 4GB card.
demolition is offline  
Old 17 July 2017, 19:38   #4
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,332
Partition and format the new card and do
Code:
Copy CLONE ALL FROM CF: TO SD:
idrougge is offline  
Old 17 July 2017, 20:21   #5
supaduper
Registered User
 
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Krypton
Posts: 1,210
Also try WinImage
http://www.winimage.com/download.htm
supaduper is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 08:02   #6
Marchie
Registered User
 
Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 589
Thanks for the help so far, I managed to get the CF card to read in WinUAE and could back it up from there.

Getting data off the MicroSD card however has hit a snag - it's from a SCSI 2 SD and has been setup as four separate drives/devices in the SCSI 2 SD utility (as opposed to four seperate partitions) and when I mount the drive in Win UAE, only the first 'drive' appears.

As it would be a real nuisance to put the SCSi 2 SD back into my Amiga, is there any way I can get all four 'drives' to read in WinUAE?
Marchie is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 08:16   #7
Jope
-
 
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 9,861
You need the sector offsets of each virtual hd, from the scsi2sd config utility, then you can split it into parts with dd or winhex or whatever.

Perhaps the scsi2sd source will help you to decode the configuration sector from the sd card to help you find the offsets/partition lengths.
Jope is online now  
Old 20 July 2017, 10:58   #8
Marchie
Registered User
 
Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 589
This is getting heavy...

Can I use winhex or dd to read an Amiga formatted card?

Is there any way to run a scsi controller without using scsi.device (which the Vamp uses for it's IDE apparently)?
Marchie is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 11:12   #9
demolition
Unregistered User
 
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 43
Posts: 4,190
You can use dd to make an image of the entire card and then try to find the correct indexes inside this image. I would always prefer to work on a backup image - it is much faster and also safer in case you mess something up.

If you know the indexes, you can also specify those with dd to extract just the part you need.

I would think that you could use some hex editor to search for the partition headers and find the start address of the partitions that way?
demolition is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 13:34   #10
Jope
-
 
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 9,861
Yep, if you use DD, then remember bs=512 count=amount_of_sectors_in_your_partition skip=offset (at least I believe the scsi2sd v5 stuff works in the same way as v6)

Note, that the offset is calculated from 0. If your skip=1, you get the second sector onwards. Thus your skip value should be the address of the last sector of the data you *don't* want, counting from the beginning of the file.

.. or just get a SCSI controller and connect the scsi2sd to that. If you have a V6 scsi2sd, then the USB massstorage feature of that makes this really easy.

In any case you should use the scsi2sd utility to find out the sector offsets, you will save yourself a lot of trouble.
Jope is online now  
Old 20 July 2017, 21:06   #11
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,332
The SCSI2SD v6 uses normal-size SD cards, so it must be a v5.
idrougge is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 21:21   #12
prowler
Global Moderator
 
prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
The SCSI2SD v6 uses normal-size SD cards, so it must be a v5.
Can a Micro SD to SD adapter not get around that?
prowler is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 21:37   #13
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,332
It can.
idrougge is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 01:42   #14
Marchie
Registered User
 
Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 589
Ok, so I can open the card in WinHex (Win dd only wants Win formatted drives).

Scrolling through the seemingly infinite scroll of data it's easy enough to see where there is data and where there isn't (the card is mostly empty). But what could I search for that would indicate the start/end of a 'drive'? And how would I export just that portion of the data?

(Yes, the SCSI 2 SD is v5)
Marchie is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 06:29   #15
demolition
Unregistered User
 
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 43
Posts: 4,190
My images of disks using RDB all start with 'RDSK' so you probably need to remove anything before the first instance of that string.
demolition is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 08:57   #16
Jope
-
 
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 9,861
RDSK onwards is a good bet.

The scsi2sd v6 stores its config in the last two sectors, but I don't know the format. According to the manual, some versions of v5 store it on the scsi2sd itself, so my previous advice was not applicable.
Jope is online now  
Old 21 July 2017, 13:07   #17
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 817
If you can put both on the amiga at the same time, simply copying across sounds like a good alternative
fgh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A2090a + microSD (as SCSI HD) ? sodapop support.WinUAE 11 19 January 2017 10:26
MINIX HDF image trouble with SCSI and XT drives. rabindranath72 support.WinUAE 46 11 June 2016 11:21
Creating HDF image with real Amiga. ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 3 26 July 2013 15:09
HDF image to System partition? UK-Wobbie support.Other 11 30 November 2011 08:41
WinUAE not recognizing MicroSD Kludgy support.WinUAE 4 25 April 2010 09:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:35.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.47960 seconds with 13 queries