English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 August 2017, 19:56   #1
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 8
ClassicWb installation problem to cf-card via winuae

Hi

I'm new and hope this is right forum section to write.

I have problem installing ClassicWB into partitioned Cf-card via Winuae. I have managed to made (psf3) partitions to cf-card and formatted them. Also I have managed to start the ClassicWB installation and finished it.

After all just installed ClassicWB itself boots in Winuae sucesscfully without the new cf-hardrive added. As soon as I add the cf-card and try to boot, winuae screen stays black forever. Therefore unable to copy the neccessary files in to the cf-card.

I have tried different cards and also different partition-systems with no help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture2.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	35.6 KB
ID:	54125   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	40
Size:	31.0 KB
ID:	54126   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture1.JPG
Views:	25
Size:	26.5 KB
ID:	54127  
traxx is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 August 2017, 20:58   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
I don't know much about classicwb but winuae log file usually helps. Tick full logging option in Paths panel before starting emulation, wait few seconds when black screen appears, quit, attach winuaelog.txt (not winuaebootlog.txt!)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 August 2017, 10:52   #3
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 8
This is one example. Any ideas?
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (26.0 KB, 18 views)
traxx is offline  
Old 11 August 2017, 11:06   #4
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 8
I always have to boot without startup-sequence and copy the files using shell but that's annoying and solution for this problem would be nice.
traxx is offline  
Old 11 August 2017, 12:16   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
Can't see anything obvious, problem is most likely some program in Amiga-side doing something bad or assuming different environment.

Semi-random quick test: set Z3 memory mode to "UAE" (from automatic or real)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 August 2017, 12:30   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,060
Tried to remove the check mark "bootable" on Cf-Card (on WinUAE)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 11 August 2017 at 12:46.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 11 August 2017, 13:03   #7
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 8
Toni: No help.

Eventhough I copied the files on shell and card boots after that fine on winuae (in UAE and IDE-mode) it doesn't boot on my amiga but I get two different error massages. Screenshot attached. Any Ideas for that? How hard this can be...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture4.JPG
Views:	30
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	54139   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture3.JPG
Views:	26
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	54140   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture5.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	483.3 KB
ID:	54141   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture6.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	477.7 KB
ID:	54142  
traxx is offline  
Old 11 August 2017, 14:26   #8
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 8
Btw I have original kickstart 3.1 roms on my Escom Amiga. Are they ok for pfs3 or do I need cloanto's 3.x roms?
traxx is offline  
Old 11 August 2017, 18:14   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
Do you mean you get same behavior under WinUAE using both IDE and UAE?
Also include winuaelog.txt when this drive is connected using UAE controller.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 August 2017, 21:59   #10
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 8
Btw what is the difference between UAE and IDE and when to use which one? I make partitions to CF-card in IDE-mode and install the Classicwb both HDF-file and harddrive (cf-card) in UAE-mode. Actually now tested more. Installed Buggyboy whdload-game in to card and opened Readme-file (textfile). Opens and shows text normally in winuae. When testing same in real Amiga gives the attached. What???
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2239.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	566.3 KB
ID:	54175  
traxx is offline  
Old 13 August 2017, 15:19   #11
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 8
Weird, even text-files open like this in Amiga but normally with winuae.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2239.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	566.3 KB
ID:	54179  
traxx is offline  
Old 13 August 2017, 16:02   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
It is nearly guaranteed to be caused by 4G wrap around. Check http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61666 for details.

(UAE controller supports all >4G access methods, others real world drivers usually need patches)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 August 2017, 18:52   #13
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 8
Card was partitioned with scsi.device 44.2 and same version in use with Classicwb. Actually I made everything once again using scsi.device 43.45 and card mounted in winuae using mode "Commodore A600/1200/4000 IDE" (don't know does this affect). No all the games will start from DH1.
traxx is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB 3.9 installation Help XsamX1987 support.WinUAE 0 19 March 2017 20:17
Installation of Amigakit's SCSI to Micro SD card adapter WeiXing3D support.Hardware 12 28 February 2016 13:33
Multiple winuae installation and problem with configuration Dark13 support.WinUAE 4 11 August 2011 18:04
Merlin Graphics Card Driver Installation Problem dir_marillion support.Hardware 8 09 February 2009 10:35
ClassicWB Update rather than full installation? Macca project.ClassicWB 6 11 January 2005 23:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16931 seconds with 13 queries