English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 May 2017, 00:06   #1
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
Classic WB and A500 (not +)

I have an A500 rev6 I believe (if not 5) with 1MB chip 0 fast (512k expansion mod with updated Agnus). I'm eagerly awaiting the arrival on my Vampire 500 v2 board.

Can I still setup a CF card with ClassicWB FULL and use that on my real system?

I noticed only A500+ is listed for ClassicWB and not A500 is why I'm concerned.

Thank you much for any help, advice, responses...

EDIT: Well, I just tried to setup the ClassicWB hard file to play with it and it is not accepting my WB31 UPG installation adf from cloanto. Keeps saying it is not a valid workbench disk. So that's an issue.

EDIT 2 nevermind the first EDIT, I had to use the system adf and not the install adf. It's progressing now.

EDIT3: Well now I'm getting the same error in EDIT about invalid install disk when CWB asks for it. I even tried the short file name one and same issue.

EDIT4: Well google to the rescue, found a 3.1 set that appears to be working now. Own several AF versions, you'd think I wouldn't have to resort to googling...

Last edited by Sinphaltimus; 23 May 2017 at 01:08.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 May 2017, 12:56   #2
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
I'm just going to forge forward. As of right now I have the CWB.adf up and running. I chose the ECS options during the setup since my Amiga 500 is ECS and not AGA.

My next attempt is going to be moving all of this to a CF (sd in cf adaptor).

I attempted to follow these instructions however I planned to use a 32GB Sd card, so I copied the A1200.scsi.device from the 128GB patched folder of classicWB "My Files" to the f: folder and replaced (after backing up) the one that came with that.

What I mean is, I'm following this tutorial in setting up my CF card.

https://16bitdust.wordpress.com/2015...nuae-and-pfs3/

I already set up a 4GB CF successfully with a default WB3.1 (from my cloanto licensed WB adfs with no issues). I put that aside to use in case this new journey fails.

Then I followed this tutorial to setup the adf as you can read in my first post.

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/instructions.htm

Now, I'm going back to the first tutorial to setup the 32GB SD in CF adaptor with one exception because I'm assuming I need to do this with the 128GB patch scsi.device (since my SD card is larger than 8GB).

My assumptions and goals are as follows:
Partition the SD card to less than 900MB for my DH0: (Workbench) as per the first tutorial, then setup the rest of the empty space as less than 4GB partitions (games, programs, data, misc and temporary).

Once that is done, Mount the CWB adf as another HDD non-boot and copy its contents to the DH0 of my SD card.

I'm hopeful that will work and the SD card will boot with the fully configured CWB.

I'll then go ahead and follow the tutorials for moving the games and demos folder to my games partition found here:

"Using extra partitions and adding to WHDLoad launchers"
http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/tutorials.htm

Once my Vampire board arrives, I am hopeful I can plug this Sd in CF adaptor - boot up and tweak to my liking. This is going in an A500 ECS 1MB plus Vampire 500 v2+.

I'll keep this posted and ask questions if/when issues arrive.

I don't know if anyone else tried CWB with WHDLoad on an A500 before since it's not officially listed as a supported amiga. But I'm willing to try.

EDIT: fixed typos that I found.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 04:14   #3
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
So far so good. I was able to prep my CF card and then copy the CWB hdf contents to it via workbench booted off floppy and using drag n shift drop. Removed the hdf and restarted the emulation (after saving the config). And sure enough, CWB booted right up off the CF card exactly as it did from the hdf when i first set that up.

I guess now it's a wait game for the vampire board to ship. Then we'll see how it goes once I plug the CF in to my A500.


Some things to note:
Cf card only has DH0: and it's 504MBs to match as closely to the original HDF file. Once I know it works on the real Amiga I'll partition the rest and move things around a bit.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 29 May 2017, 17:05   #4
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
So I tired something I had no faith would work but apparently it does.

I setup CWB again but this time on an SD card using a CF adaptor plugged in to a CF card reader in WinUAE. Then for shits and giggles I put it in my Amiga 500's SCSI2SD adaptor.

Now I know my A500 is underpowered for this with only 1MB Chip ram and a 68000 CPU but I fully expected the Load WB disk screen to appear, instead it actually went to boot off of it.

It stopped with a C:StackAttack error which I figured out (via winUAE) is because of the 68000. In winuae I changed the CPU to 68000 and got the same error.

So I found it interesting that an SD card setup in WinUAE as a CF card will indeed work in a SCSI2SD adaptor assuming your real hardware supports it. My SCSI contoller is an GVP impact series II HD+ - I'm going to start a different thread about this so folks with the SCSI2SD adaptor will know.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wicher 500i classic turbo card for A500 (internal version) spidi News 25 25 September 2017 02:14
Impossible Mission 2025, WinUAE, A500 and Classic Version problem! BarryB support.Games 18 11 July 2016 18:07
Classic WB 68K in 16 colors for A500? oissery77 project.ClassicWB 9 14 November 2015 13:46
Classic Sprites - Fatal Danger A500 invent Amiga scene 8 05 June 2014 21:55
Classic WB OS3.9 VS Classic WB ADV SP fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 6 28 December 2009 21:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12085 seconds with 12 queries