English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 October 2017, 00:43   #1
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
UBI Soft - Music Tool Dongle

Hello Toni, i have bought lately a music tool from Ubi Soft / Computer Dreams, the guys behind BAT 1 and 2.

This music tool is protected by a small dongle that has to be plugged in joystick port 2.

Can you please add the dongle in winuae to make the tool pass the check ?

I have uploaded the archive containing the 2 adfs of this tool in the zone.

Thanks !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 01:23   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australian in London
Age: 42
Posts: 12,602
Heya Denis,

I moved your post out of the WinUAE 3.6.0 beta series thread as it's definitly not related (and saves Toni saying / doing the same thing)
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 11:28   #3
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
thanks Let's hope toni will be able to implement the dongle
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 21:22   #4
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
I took a quick look at the code. It does this:

Set /FIR1 to output
Drive /FIR1 low
Check joy1dat AND $0303. Result needs to be 0.
Does some other stuff including allocating memory.
Check joy1dat AND $0303 again. Result needs to be non-zero.
Does some other stuff
Check joy1dat AND $0303, result needs to be non-zero.
It looks like joy1dat AND $0303 needs to be non-zero from then on.

So maybe in the dongle the /FIR1 line is connected via a resistor and capacitor to one or more of the joystick lines???
mark_k is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 21:28   #5
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes that's like BAT II, but it differs.

From what you find, since i dont have the dongle (it was absent from the box), what do i need to use to make a new dongle ?

Thanks Mark !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 22:17   #6
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
I'll try to patch the program so it won't need a dongle. You'll need to test it since I may well have missed some checks...
mark_k is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 22:23   #7
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,863
Wonder if it's similar to the Parallel port dongle for BAT II? That used a capacitor connected to pins 5 (+) and 7 (-) then a resistor connected to pins 5 and 20. kaffer sorted this out and we used a 15k resistor and a 0.22uf radial capacitor and it worked!

Wonder if doing the same in a 9 pin D-Sub connector as mark_k suggests would work, just need to know what pins to connect to?
BarryB is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 22:32   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,024
Emulation added.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 23:11   #9
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 639
I'm so happy to see the Captain's wish come true.
clenched is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 23:14   #10
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
Here's a hopefully fully-deprotected version for testing.
Code:
https://www.media!fire.com/file/v1dcx6a8jj4o6me/mumus_deprotected_test.zip
Replace mumus on (your backup copy of) disk 1 with that file.

dlfrsilver: By the way, the disk 1 ADF has been (accidentally?) modified/written to, meaning you can't delete any files from it. You'll see a no space for bitmap error requester if you try. You can copy all files (except .info) to a blank disk and use that for testing the deprotected version.
mark_k is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 23:58   #11
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Emulation added.
Thanks a lot Toni !!

PS : thanks Clenched for the nice words

And cheers/thanks to Mark !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 23:58   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Here's a hopefully fully-deprotected version for testing.
Code:
https://www.media!fire.com/file/v1dcx6a8jj4o6me/mumus_deprotected_test.zip
Replace mumus on (your backup copy of) disk 1 with that file.

dlfrsilver: By the way, the disk 1 ADF has been (accidentally?) modified/written to, meaning you can't delete any files from it. You'll see a no space for bitmap error requester if you try. You can copy all files (except .info) to a blank disk and use that for testing the deprotected version.
It has indeed, disk 1 has been tampered :/
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 October 2017, 00:22   #13
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
It has indeed, disk 1 has been tampered :/
Disk 1 is a mess and needs defragmenting
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 28 October 2017, 00:37   #14
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Disk 1 is a mess and needs defragmenting
Yes i saw that. however there are only 6 tracks modified. All the others are pristine
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 October 2017, 00:44   #15
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Yes i saw that. however there are only 6 tracks modified. All the others are pristine
Irrelevant to it taking ten minutes to get to Workbench.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 28 October 2017, 00:57   #16
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,824
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Irrelevant to it taking ten minutes to get to Workbench.
I do agree, i don't know how the authors did to make such a bad file copy on the disk.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 March 2018, 23:32   #17
jarre
Registered User

jarre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Holland
Posts: 232
music tool from Ubi Soft / Computer Dream

can these be posted again in the zone...many thanks...

Gr,
Jarre
jarre is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light Quest from UBI Soft dlfrsilver project.aGTW 43 10 June 2017 20:06
Final Command - Ubi Soft BarryB Games images which need to be WHDified 10 27 December 2016 14:33
Light Quest From Ubi Soft !!!!! Read dlfrsilver News 70 03 May 2013 00:05
The Teller/UBI Soft mai HOL contributions 0 12 March 2009 14:33
Pool of Radiance (SSI/Ubi Soft) Thunderwiesel Games images which need to be WHDified 12 15 July 2006 01:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08601 seconds with 15 queries