English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

Old 18 October 2018, 19:13   #1
guy lateur

Debugging

I'm using vasm to cross compile Amiga applications. My main interest is in games and demos, so the first thing I do is usually to turn off the system, and then program 'to the metal'. I'm using AF (7.2) to test my results, so 99% of dev time is spent on PC.

I'm getting to a point where a debugger would come in very handy. I have no debugging experience on actual hardware, but I believe that, in this case, a second Amiga was used (connected using null modem) to run the debugger on and examine the app running on the first Amiga.

Is this kind of setup possible in AF at all? Can I run 2 instances of AF and have 1 debug the other? I'd be wanting to put some breakpoints, examine the registers and selected memory locations, these kinds of things.

Any tips, anyone?
TIA!
Old 18 October 2018, 19:23   #2
tolkien
AmigaMan

What about the winuae debugger?
Try pressing Shift +f12 to enter.
Old 18 October 2018, 19:30   #3
guy lateur

Quote:
Originally Posted by tolkien View Post
What about the winuae debugger?
Try pressing Shift +f12 to enter.
That doesn't do anything, I'm afraid. Unless I have to do something special in my code or assembly process or something? Because I basically just come into AF with the .exe file..
Old 18 October 2018, 20:31   #4
tolkien
AmigaMan

Oh sorry! You are using AmigaForever. Perhaps it hides some keys from winuae. I think I have AF installed in my PC...will try later.
Old 18 October 2018, 20:38   #5
guy lateur

Quote:
Oh sorry! You are using AmigaForever. Perhaps it hides some keys from winuae. I think I have AF installed in my PC...will try later.
Thank you! I had read some things about the winUAE debugger, and since AF is using that under the hood, we should be able to use it in AF too, right?
Old 19 October 2018, 23:47   #6
tolkien
AmigaMan