English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2010, 20:43   #1
JohnnyD
Decrepid Old Duffer
JohnnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston/UK
Age: 55
Posts: 88
Using a CRT-70 with A1200

Hi Guys & Gals,

I was given a Sanyo CRT-70 a couple of years ago by an amateur radio friend, that he'd been using for datamodes with an MBC555-2.
This was the colour monitor option for the MBC555-2, the monochrome one being the CRT-30.

I want to try and get it working with my A1200. The res is 640x200.

The input would appear to be either by a round, DIN-style 5-pin plug, or a 9-pin femlae plug, like a serial or Amiga joystick type.

I'll upload a picture later.

Not much info available on this at all on the net - just some nostalgic comments on a couple of old baords and a few words on the OLD COMPUTERS.com Museum site. LINK
More info

Anyone know anything about these monitors or if it's doable?

TiA
JD

PS - I found this info about the MBC555 video controller - very little of which is in my comprehension range:

Quote:
Video Controller

To a programmer, the MBC's video hardware appears as a 6845 chip and three bitmapped graphics planes.
The 6845

The 6845 appears at I/O ports 30h (register select) and 32h (data). At system boot, it is programmed for 25 lines x 72 columns. The RAM BIOS then reprograms it for 25 x 80. The ROM also provides timings for what appears to be a different 80-column mode; it decides which to use by reading port 1Ch. If bit 7 of the result is 1, the 72-column mode is used; otherwise, the 80-column mode is.

Here are the values written to the 6845 in each case, plus (for comparison) the values used by a real CGA:

6845 Register | IO.SYS | ROM 80 | ROM 72 | Real CGA
=============================+========+========+========+==========
Horizontal total | 112 | 101 | 112 | 83
Horizontal display end | 80 | 80 | 72 | 80
Horizontal sync pos | 89 | 83 | 85 | 81
Horizontal sync width | 72 | 72 | 74 | 1
Vertical total | 65 | 105 | 65 | 26
Vertical total adjust | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0
Vertical displayed | 50 | 100 | 50 | 26
Vertical sync position | 56 | 100 | 56 | 25
Interlace | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2
Max scan address | 3 | 3 | 3 | 7
Cursor start | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6
Cursor end | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7
=============================+========+========+========+==========

The important thing to note here is that from the 6845's point of view, a character is 4 lines high. This explains why the framebuffer memory is mapped as it is.

Last edited by JohnnyD; 18 May 2010 at 20:52. Reason: update
JohnnyD is offline  
Old 18 May 2010, 21:00   #2
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,074
Hello
Im not sure,think is 9pin VGA (the old type vga)
here is the pinout >http://pinouts.ru/Video/VGA9_pinout.shtml
If support 15kh ,yes maybe working on Amiga.

Check if your monitor is "multi-scan"
If is multiscan, i have a solution.. is same to EIZO 8060S
good luck
Anemos is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 10:34   #3
JohnnyD
Decrepid Old Duffer
JohnnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston/UK
Age: 55
Posts: 88
Thanks, that's very useful, as I have the A1200 video pinout from the Hardware Book, so I can now do some experimenting.

I don't know if the monitor is multiscan, there is so little info on it available.

I took a couple of pics, though:





I'm not even sure which connector is for video input - or if both are. I've been unable to find a 5-pin video plug, so trying the 9-pin 'D' connector is my only option at the moment.

JD
JohnnyD is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 12:13   #4
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,074
look here> http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...light=vga+9pin
but your 9pin plug in to the monitor is male,so check the numbers 1-9 perhaps is a mirroring at mine,(dont scare about wrong connection has not voltage) so the experiment is not dangerous.
Anemos is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 13:18   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,583
JD: That is a 5-pin DIN, it is not specifically used for video. Maplin (or any other decent electronics shop) should have hundreds of them.
Hewitson is online now  
Old 19 May 2010, 14:01   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,687
What you need to figure out is what signal goes where. There's no guarantee that there's any other monitor like this.
Jope is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 19:43   #7
JohnnyD
Decrepid Old Duffer
JohnnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston/UK
Age: 55
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
JD: That is a 5-pin DIN, it is not specifically used for video. Maplin (or any other decent electronics shop) should have hundreds of them.
I have a couple myself - it's just that I wasn't sure, firstly how to connect it (i.e. from the 23pin Video output) and secondly if there was any risk of damage to my A1200.
I actually have a similar output socket on an old portable TV - and I use that for audio output, so maybe that's what it is, as there is no speaker on the monitor.

I also have one or two 9-pin female plugs from my ham radio projects (psk31 interface etc).

These seem to have been answered now - I'll try the 9 pin first and see how I get on.

Thanks for the tips and especially Anemos - that's very useful info on the link, thanks

JD
JohnnyD is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 20:34   #8
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,074
hm.. i found this and say is CGA monitor,dunno if is right.. > http://www.seasip.info/VintagePC/sanyo.html
CGA pinout there > http://pinouts.ru/Video/CGA_pinout.shtml
Anemos is offline  
Old 21 May 2010, 10:16   #9
JohnnyD
Decrepid Old Duffer
JohnnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boston/UK
Age: 55
Posts: 88
I'll try it out and see what happens - I'll post if the results are good.

Thanks for your help

JD
JohnnyD is offline  
Old 21 May 2010, 15:06   #10
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
is cga digital ??? or TTL if so thats only about 8 colours you will get

"CGA=Color Graphics adapter.Videotype: TTL, 16 colors. Also known as IBM RGBI."
cosmicfrog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crt Tv V Lcd Tv Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 48 29 May 2013 12:09
CRT Tv Output Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 8 24 May 2013 14:54
Can any CRT veteran help with this? Lobotomika support.Hardware 24 07 April 2013 20:05
Where can I get a monochrome crt Adropac2 request.Other 4 29 March 2013 03:30
PAL a1200 on a NTSC CRT display? Foster support.Hardware 8 02 April 2009 19:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07217 seconds with 13 queries