English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 May 2002, 23:17   #1
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 836
Amiga Forever

I finally got my null modem 25db - 9db cable and am trying transfer adfs to my Amiga 1200. I have the 9db end connnected to my PC's first com port and the 25db end connected to the Amiga's serial port but Amiga Explorer won't play ball.

Whenever I open AE it gives me the error message:

Error writing to com port.

Please make sure that Amiga Explorer 2.1 or higher is running on the Amiga, that both sides are configured properly, that the Amiga is connected to COM1 on this machine (otherwise, modify the Amiga Explorer COM port setting), and that the serial cable is wired correctly.

Now I haven't got a working copy of Workbench so I'm using Deluxe Paint to boot the Amiga. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? I was under the impression that you could do everything from the PC side as long as you had something to boot the Amiga. Help please.
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 01 May 2002, 23:29   #2
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 836
I think I've got a bit further along with it. I tried to configure AE and it tells me to open a CLI window on the Miggy and type in "Type SER: to RAM:Setup". I couldn't find a CLI option so I selected the enter command option and entered it there. Then I got the error message: Type: unknown command, Type failed return code 10. What's that all about?

It would be so much simpler if my Workbench disk wasn't knackered.
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 02 May 2002, 00:17   #3
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 836
I managed to get a CLI screen using the 'Very First' tutorial disk but that still gives me errors. This time it says "can't open SER:".

Anyone got any advice for me?
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 02 May 2002, 00:22   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
SER: is the Serial Port and it is opened by WB, so what you do now is, copy the TYPE file from the tutorial disk into directory C of the DPaint Disk ..... now the ┬┤TYPE┬┤ thingy should work from the DPaint disk

btw. next time please use the EDIT button to edit your post, no need to post three messages all after the other ....
RetroMan is offline  
Old 02 May 2002, 20:30   #5
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 836
Sorry about the triple post. I'll remember to edit the first one in future.

The problem is I'm not even sure the type program is on the tutorial disk. It tells me 'type' is an unrecognised command which suggests it isn't there although I'm no expert as you have probably gathered by now, lol. I thought maybe it would be on the corrupt WB 3.0 disk and that maybe if it wasn't all corrupt I could just pop the disk in and type 'dir' to see if I could find the file but the tutorial tells me to put the original disk back in whenever I do this.

Any chance of an idiots guide to doing this? I had an Amiga years ago but didn't venture into Workbench a great deal so it's not just a matter of remembering commands - I didn't know them to begin with.

Edit: I'm now using the version of Workbench on the Very First tutorial disk. The type command works but now it says "can't open ser:"

Has anyone got any idea why it can't find the serial connection?

Last edited by dreamkatcha; 03 May 2002 at 20:39.
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 05 May 2002, 19:24   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
The SER: device is obviously not installed. you surely have no serial.device file in the DEVS directory.

I think all these questions should be posted in the Newbie area, btw. Or should I keep them here?
Akira is offline  
Old 05 May 2002, 20:03   #7
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 836
Thanks for the reply. I eventually got past this stage by using the semi-corrupt WB 3.0 disk but then ran into another problem which I described in another thread in the hardware forum ...which I see you've also replied to.
dreamkatcha is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Forever help mortismaker New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 28 October 2016 15:13
Amiga Forever Value - Help! Spog_Monkey support.FS-UAE 11 27 May 2013 22:01
Amiga Forever and C64 Forever Live Video Meetup mcb News 1 30 May 2009 19:09
What's up with Amiga Forever? tempestf Amiga scene 7 24 July 2008 14:15
amiga forever otro support.WinUAE 6 23 October 2004 21:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07520 seconds with 13 queries