English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 November 2007, 21:08   #21
Philski
 
Posts: n/a
@Zetr0

Thanks for the speedy reply! Just contemplating the pros and cons of grabbing a CD32 with one of these or an A1200.

I haven't had an Amiga for about 12 years now and am suffering withdrawal symptoms. As great as it would be to get hold of an OS 4 capable system I don't think it'll be in my budget for a while.

All the best

Phil
 
Old 30 November 2007, 21:34   #22
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,282
I'd like to know what the unknown port is for?

I bet £50 that it was supposed to be a VGA port.

This port is a 15-pin D-SUB and VGA is a HIGH DENSITY 15-pin D-SUB. An easy mistake to make.

If I am correct, then the schematics were probably right and all the VGA signals will be on the same pin numbers and with the right adapter cable it could be easily wired to a 15KHz compatible monitor or RGB SCART.

Cable could be made for under £10.

Maplin

Code:
  • 15-Way D-Sub Plug, BK58N, £1.29
  • 15 Way D-Sub Hood, FP28F, £1.29
  • Phono Plug Red, FJ88V, £0.79
  • Phono Plug White, L75AW, £0.79
  • SCART Line Plug, FJ41U, £1.29
Add some wire and solder time and you're done.

I would buzz out the port with a multi-meter first to be absolutely sure it is VGA. If you have a scope even better.

Last edited by alexh; 30 November 2007 at 22:09.
alexh is offline  
Old 01 December 2007, 03:22   #23
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,282
Damn, no one bet.

Anyhow it is confirmed, it is an RGB socket and I am sure it WAS supposed to be a high-density 15-pin D-sub (VGA).

Analogic will sell you the cable with the unit for an extra £15 on top. Or you can make your own

What is more fascinating is that these were designed and built by the same guy who created the BoXer and the Access, Mick Tinker for the Wall Street Institute and hence the name CD32fWSI.

http://www.cd32-allianz.de/cd32tuning/wallstreet?

Last edited by alexh; 01 December 2007 at 03:48.
alexh is offline  
Old 01 December 2007, 03:42   #24
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,282
Made in 1995 wow, this must have been one of his first designs.


http://www.amiga.org/modules/myalbum...lid=698&cid=13
alexh is offline  
Old 01 December 2007, 14:24   #25
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,959
Jope has cleaned most of this thread, I have just finished off.

@Sine DO NOT post in this thread unless it is about the CD32 add-on. I have sent you a pm, please read it.
BippyM is offline  
Old 01 December 2007, 17:39   #26
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
@alexh

Is a DB15 to HD15 adapter such as this suitable for using a VGA monitor (i.e. is it straight through)?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...0164&CatId=467

Seems to be the DB15 connector plug type was used for Mac monitors.
Calgor is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 10:00   #27
cane
Registered User
cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: .hr
Age: 41
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@kolla
imma working on the memory
Facny to share some more details or it's still in too-early-to-say-anything stage
cane is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 10:17   #28
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@cane

i can share what i have so far.....

LOTS AND LOTS of reading

but as a point of note, all one would have to do is argue (tie / generate signals) to Expansion Bus BR / BG and you could use an interface to use A1200 upgrade cards. (i will look into this more...)

this being said there maybe timing issues. but research would define if this is a problem.

Last edited by Zetr0; 03 December 2007 at 10:26.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 14:48   #29
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Btw, anyone else tried hooking the CD32 up to a modern "flat" TV?

I hooked one of mine up a Sony Bravia using the S-video, and it handles even the super highres interlaced with overscan workbench (1364x572 iirc) flickerfree :-)
kolla is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 15:18   #30
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
but as a point of note, all one would have to do is argue (tie / generate signals) to Expansion Bus BR / BG and you could use an interface to use A1200 upgrade cards. (i will look into this more...)
I did this first, a passive "wiring" from one connector to another.

However there is one (two?) signals missing from the CD32 expansion connector which are on the A1200 trap door connector which may limit what accelerators it can take. (I couldnt work out what they were for anyhow!)

Worked fine with Amitek: Hawk 8Mbyte RAM expansion.

Made with with veroboard and stuck out the back of the CD32 about 4-6 inches.

It was impractical so I made my own simple CD32 RAM board which connected to the CD32 at right angles to the edge connector. FYI it was still impossible to put the back cover on, but it was indistinguishable from any other CD32 from the front.

The MOQ (Minimum order quantity, 1000@£1.06) of the CD32 edge connectors prevented me making more than 4 (which was the number of samples I was able to blag from the supplier).

If there was physically enough room inside the CD32 it might be possible to use A1200 cards with the CD32fWSI. (Assuming the RTC connector is fully wired)

I doubt very much there is though. Anyone confirm / deny?

Last edited by alexh; 03 December 2007 at 15:30.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 December 2007, 15:37   #31
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
I will check it out in a few moment alexh

I have an apollo040 here and cd32 plastics floating in the office somewhere... brb
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 07 December 2007, 10:21   #32
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Btw, anyone else tried hooking the CD32 up to a modern "flat" TV?

I hooked one of mine up a Sony Bravia using the S-video, and it handles even the super highres interlaced with overscan workbench (1364x572 iirc) flickerfree :-)
I tried mine on a small Bravia LCD (14") and it was horrible. Was nice on a 32" version though...

Philski... yes it loads older games okay - was having a play last night

Might have a gander for the video cable and see what it's like on my crt via scart
Paul_s is offline  
Old 09 December 2007, 23:07   #33
Philski
 
Posts: n/a
@ Paul_s Thanks for that I think you've just persuaded me to take the plunge!

All these other upgrade possibilities sounds intriguing too
 
Old 19 January 2008, 19:17   #34
nc88keyz
Coastal Amigan (USA)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Age: 44
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to nc88keyz
any updates on this unique disk drive adapter. I would like one but cant get analogic to respond to any of my messages on ebay. I am in the North Carolina, USA coast though. Still a reponse would have suficed.

Any new exciting developments for this diamond.
nc88keyz is offline  
Old 19 January 2008, 19:35   #35
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
I think Analogic closed down recenetly
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2008, 20:32   #36
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
I think Analogic closed down recenetly
We all thought that a few weeks ago, then they reappeared
At there prices I do wonder how they are still in buisness but still...
DrF is offline  
Old 19 January 2008, 20:35   #37
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@DrF

you and me both my friend....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2008, 20:40   #38
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@DrF

you and me both my friend....
I love you.
DrF is offline  
Old 19 January 2008, 22:56   #39
nc88keyz
Coastal Amigan (USA)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Age: 44
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to nc88keyz
Quote:
Btw, anyone else tried hooking the CD32 up to a modern "flat" TV?

I hooked one of mine up a Sony Bravia using the S-video, and it handles even the super highres interlaced with overscan workbench (1364x572 iirc) flickerfree :-)

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Maybe my memory fails me , but is it possible to get resolutions like that from S-video.???

or is this a french version with the RGB pins on the svideo port as I read about a while back
nc88keyz is offline  
Old 19 January 2008, 22:58   #40
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,687
The French version has a SCART connector.. S-video is just s-video.

I view my Amigas on a flat panel via scart and vga all the time. The 1084s are gathering dust.. :-)
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 Analogic Floppy drive problems? Cooljerk support.Hardware 2 25 February 2012 13:33
Analogic CD32 floppy drive questions twiggy support.Hardware 18 04 May 2010 02:43
CD32 Analogic Floppy Drive - Will it work w/SX32, small port on back? RGB_Gamer New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 05 March 2010 11:12
MorphOS 2 review (on a Mac mini) jPV Amiga scene 4 05 February 2010 11:10
Amiga CD32 +Analogic's disk drive should it stay or should it go ? lolafg New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 10 December 2008 11:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09848 seconds with 13 queries