English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 December 2019, 12:35   #1
Craziazkowboi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 3
FS-UAE 3.x won't open on macOS Catalina 15.2

Howdy fellow Amigans,

I have successfully got FS-UAE working again by reinstalling FS-UAE 2.8.3 and deleting /Documents/FS-UAE/Data/Databases so it would stop complaining that my library was newer than the version of FS-UAE.

However installing FS-UAE 3.0, 3.01, or 3.02 fails on two different Macs for me, both running the latest MacOS 15.2 (Catalina). They just bounce in the dock forever and show up as 'not responding'. The console did not show any obvious errors, or the logs - sorry I don't have them now as I was able to revert back to v2.8.3 - happy to provide more info if anyone can tell me what they specifically need - or anyone has had this problem and resolved it?
Craziazkowboi is offline  
Old 28 December 2019, 13:27   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,634
I will try to upgrade a machine to 10.15.2 (?) and reproduce, I've got one at 10.15.1 now, and it worked the last time I tried.

You might be able to get some error message by running the executable directly, from a terminal:

Code:
/Applications/"FS-UAE Launcher.app"/Contents/MacOS/fs-uae-launcher
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 28 December 2019, 18:23   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,634
I tested some more, and managed to reproduce a problem where the Launcher will not start. When starting on macOS 10.15 for the first time, macOS will ask if you allow the launcher to access the Documents folder. If you deny this, FS-UAE Launcher will not start (and will not be able to write a log file either).

Please try to go to System Preferences -> Security & Privacy -> Privacy -> Files and Folders, and make sure "Documents Folder" access is allowed for FS-UAE Launcher.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 29 December 2019, 00:55   #4
Craziazkowboi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 3
Thank you that has fixed the issue, it's taken me a few hours to reply because I got lost playing my Amiga library!
Craziazkowboi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New FS-UAE macOS user! Works great! studio460 support.FS-UAE 2 18 June 2019 02:16
Mount CF card on FS-UAE (MacOS) Sim085 support.OtherUAE 3 23 April 2018 21:40
Problems docking FS-UAE on macOS Sierra amiga_Forever support.FS-UAE 5 26 January 2017 22:46
FS-UAE on MacOS X 10.5 (PPC G4/G5) Jacques support.FS-UAE 6 24 January 2016 13:15
FS-UAE MacOs issues fnap support.FS-UAE 2 02 October 2012 20:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08324 seconds with 15 queries