English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2019, 22:15   #1
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,759
Question icon.library with Scalos

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
While for OS 3.5/3.9 it is sufficient to copy only the "icon.library" on OS 3.0/3.1 based systems you have to add this command in the Startup-sequence after setpatch:

C:Loadmodule libs:icon.library

The "Loadmodule" command is found in "IconLib_46.4.lha" or on Aminet and you have to copy it to C, NewIcons is not necessary
on Scalos it seems not worki.

Perhaps it's needed to use resident comment.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 15 December 2019, 22:20   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,417
What Os are you using ClassicWB ?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 15 December 2019, 22:35   #3
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
on Scalos it seems not worki.
No, icon.library won't work on Scalos. Scalos uses its own iconobject.library and an iconobject datatype system.

The only system where that works together is ClassicWB v27/28. But you cannot simply update these old releases of ClassicWB.
PeterK is offline  
Old 15 December 2019, 23:03   #4
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
No, icon.library won't work on Scalos. Scalos uses its own iconobject.library and an iconobject datatype system.

The only system where that works together is ClassicWB v27/28. But you cannot simply update these old releases of ClassicWB.
thanks for information.

I understand why i have some missing icons (newicon/colored) on scalos and not on WB3.9
CFOU! is offline  
Old 15 December 2019, 23:24   #5
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
No, icon.library won't work on Scalos. Scalos uses its own iconobject.library and an iconobject datatype system.

The only system where that works together is ClassicWB v27/28. But you cannot simply update these old releases of ClassicWB.
Huh ?
I use your icon library on ClassicWB 3.1 Full (Scalos)

Retroplay is offline  
Old 15 December 2019, 23:53   #6
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Huh ?
I use your icon library on ClassicWB 3.1 Full (Scalos)

not working for me

can you post your startup-sequence?
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 00:22   #7
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,500
Sure.
I use a custom kickstart with icon library (and patched scsi device, hence the commented out scsi device)
All I've done is comment out all NewIcon related from s-s, been using this setup for years now, works a treat.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Startup-Sequence.zip (1.3 KB, 18 views)

Last edited by Retroplay; 16 December 2019 at 00:28.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 01:34   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,927
All post here moved from the How to have game icons with WHDLoad ?! thread as you guys were getting way off topic and probably confusing poor Sebiohazard...
DamienD is online now  
Old 16 December 2019, 09:33   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
not working for me
Don't change startup sequences and use Icon.library 46.4.28

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 25 December 2019 at 13:00.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 11:21   #10
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 984
Just because you have this version of Icon.library loaded doesn't mean Scalos is using it to render icons.
Locutus is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 12:48   #11
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,759
I replaced icon.libray in Libs:

I have never used SCALOS before, how to launch the SCOUT tool to verify that the new library (46.4) is loaded.

Look at the screenshots.

The same icons (BarFly, Dragon Ninja for example), are displayed differently on WB39 and SCALOS
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IconsScalos.PNG
Views:	38
Size:	81.1 KB
ID:	65546   Click image for larger version

Name:	IconWB39.PNG
Views:	39
Size:	208.5 KB
ID:	65547  
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 12:57   #12
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,759
there are problem not good version (found in 46.4 archive)

icon 46.4 is in libs:

But 40.1 is resident

Attaced my startup-sequence too
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	iconScout.PNG
Views:	33
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	65548   Click image for larger version

Name:	ICON-STARTUP.PNG
Views:	28
Size:	31.0 KB
ID:	65549  

Last edited by CFOU!; 16 December 2019 at 13:13.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 13:02   #13
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
not working for me
ClassicWB v27/28 with Scalos 1.2d was indeed working with an old version of my icon.library.

But you have to enable the support for icon.library or other icons somewhere in the Scalos menu. Sorry, I don't remember where exactly.

When you start to change or update these old ClassicWB systems then the original configuration from Bloodwych may not work anymore.

On ClassicWB you can not simply replace the icon.library in Libs:, because Bloodwych uses his scripts to enable or disable features like icon.library support.

Last edited by PeterK; 16 December 2019 at 13:08.
PeterK is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 13:25   #14
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
ClassicWB v27/28 with Scalos 1.2d was indeed working with an old version of my icon.library.

But you have to enable the support for icon.library or other icons somewhere in the Scalos menu. Sorry, I don't remember where exactly.

When you start to change or update these old ClassicWB systems then the original configuration from Bloodwych may not work anymore.

On ClassicWB you can not simply replace the icon.library in Libs:, because Bloodwych uses his scripts to enable or disable features like icon.library support.
indeed same with loadmodule libs:icon.library not resident.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 15:19   #15
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,759
i will try it this evening:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63342
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 17:24   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
Just because you have this version of Icon.library loaded doesn't mean Scalos is using it to render icons.
Yes, if you try to replace it with a "new" one by Peter or another icon.library the WHDLoad icons you will not be able to see them correctly anymore, or you will not be able to see the Dual-PNG, OS4 etc. icons well.

After changing the library "Exit WinUAE" and restart otherwise the old library remains in memory.

I would like to add that with ClassicWB "Lite" the WHDLoad icons can be seen well also with the icon.library v 40.1

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 25 December 2019 at 13:00.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 17:27   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
ClassicWB v27/28 with Scalos 1.2d was indeed working with an old version of my icon.library.
Yes for this reason I have attached icon.library v46.4.28
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 18:00   #18
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
...
I would like to add that with ClassicWB "Lite" the WHDLoad icons can be seen well also with the icon.library v 40.1
No Carlo, the NewIcons are not displayed by icon.library 40.1 ! They are either loaded by the NewIcons patch or displayed by the newiconobject.datatype and iconobject.library of Scalos.
PeterK is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 18:51   #19
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,500
I'm confused, as stated in my reply #5, I use your latest 46.4.520 (020) in ClassicWB Full v28.

All I've done is:
  • Made a custom 3.1 A1200 rom with old icon library replaced with yours
    (Excellent guide by mfilos)
  • Commented out everything icon library and NewIcon related from startup-sequence

I've used this setup on my real A1200+ACA1232 setup softkicked by ACATune as well, never had a single problem.

So in reality it shouldn't work, but still it does for me
Retroplay is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 19:15   #20
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
No Carlo, the NewIcons are not displayed by icon.library 40.1 ! They are either loaded by the NewIcons patch or displayed by the newiconobject.datatype and iconobject.library of Scalos.
Yes Peter I meant, in fact you can not see well other types of icons!
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
guigfx.library and Scalos help needed! paul773car Retrogaming General Discussion 2 16 June 2017 22:33
Popupmenu.library 10.11 (from Scalos) seems to be buggy. PeterK support.Apps 8 12 February 2017 09:15
JIT and Icon.library Foul support.FS-UAE 5 15 December 2016 14:55
Change Scalos Icon Text color TronPlayer support.Hardware 3 05 January 2011 23:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10351 seconds with 14 queries