English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 October 2010, 23:57   #21
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Hey Steve,

That's more than just a 4MB RAM card, though, isn't it?

Doesn't it also include a faster '020 chip?

If so, he's not described it to best advantage!
prowler is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 00:03   #22
Bishmanrock
Registered User

Bishmanrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK, North East
Age: 32
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
This is a nice entry level board and quite a decent price (just been added to ebay now - no its not mine lol)

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Blizzard-1220-...item20b464a4d7

This is actually about the same speed as your MTEC 1230's

Steve.
£55 buy it now. Tempted, although I'd need a new card if I want an upgrade? If it can run most things, I guess I won't regret it.

Anyone wish to chime in before I commit to it?
Bishmanrock is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 00:09   #23
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Steve knows what he's talking about as he has just acquired one of those himself.

(Edit: No, sorry, It was an Apollo 620, but same principle applies.)

If he recommends it, then you should go for it!

Last edited by prowler; 14 October 2010 at 00:20.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 00:15   #24
Bishmanrock
Registered User

Bishmanrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK, North East
Age: 32
Posts: 24
Ka-ching

Was a bit hesitant as the guy has no feedback, but he's selling a whole Amiga set-up on his account, so figured mayaswell go for it.

Cheers for the advice everyone, without being able to try any of these cards I was totally in the dark. At least now I've got a starting point
Bishmanrock is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 00:20   #25
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Very nice!
prowler is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 00:58   #26
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,496
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I've seen them selling for £70 over at Amibay so its a good price, wouldn't have been around long. I just noticed the no feedback but no worry's these days with Paypal protection.

If you get bored you can always sell it on, you'll have no trouble at that price

You'll get 4mb FastRam for your WHDLoad games and a little boost in Workbench as its also an 020 Accelerator.

Being 4mb it wont cause any PCMCIA problems, I've founf with 4mb Fast you can run most WHDLoad games, its only the big CD32 Slaves you'll have any problems with and to be honest you'd have problems with those on 8mb.

Enjoy!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 01:01   #27
Bishmanrock
Registered User

Bishmanrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK, North East
Age: 32
Posts: 24
Yeah, it sounds like it'll sort me for a good while for what I'm doing, and if I decide to take it further as you say at least I probably won't lose much in the process

Thanks again guys, you've been a great help
Bishmanrock is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 10:23   #28
lambrettadave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: south shields
Posts: 135
just like what the other guys have said if you need more power you should be able sell the blizzard and not losse any cash on it, because they sometimes sell for more.

so would you let us know how you get on with your new toy lol
lambrettadave is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming a Simple A500-Compatible Game (Beginner) - Any Advice? Oktai-Wanda Coders. General 11 28 July 2013 00:26
Step by Step guide for installing WHDLoad and games for complete newbies? daro2096 support.Games 9 11 March 2013 21:59
Upgrade advice mancity support.Hardware 11 06 January 2013 22:48
Amiga A600 Upgrade advice. wanted trydowave support.Hardware 11 03 January 2012 15:06
A2000 Upgrade Info and Advice Needed Please northern_retro support.Hardware 5 14 February 2011 23:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08897 seconds with 15 queries