English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 February 2020, 10:29   #1
Fenris
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Prague
Posts: 8
Changing Icons.

Hi there, I need to ask for advice again.
I'm setting up Amiga OS 3.1.4.1 on Winuae, there is something that is not totally clear to me about changing icons.
If you want to customized all icons, does it have to be done manually one by one (right click - Icons - Information - drag new icon), or is there a way to speed up the process?


I tried BestWB so I'm aware of the Iconset in Prefs, where you can either choose the Standard of Glowicons, however, in both cases where I have GlowIcons installed or not, if I try to set new Icons through IconEdit (Open - select the .info file - save as default) , nothing happens...


Am I doing something wrong?
Fenris is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 10:34   #2
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,305
There is no concept of an icon theme in AmigaOS, so yes it does have to be done manually. Of course, it would be possible to create a script which does this, but it's not trivial (except perhaps for the very basic Workbench utilities, which are more or less the same for any installation).
ajk is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 11:39   #3
Fenris
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Prague
Posts: 8
Alright,I see and it makes sense.
So yes, as I don't think I'll be using BestWB or similars, then I'll do it manually.
Thanks.
Fenris is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 11:59   #4
quadraserver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posts: 1
just use CopyIcon to do this.

http://aminet.net/util/wb/CopyIcon44.lha

Last edited by quadraserver; 21 February 2020 at 12:26.
quadraserver is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 12:16   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,624
You can also use KDEview to update your icon images a little easier and faster. It displays all icons of a source directory in its window and you just have to drag and drop the target icon over the source. Works with ColorIcons too.

http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/KDEView
PeterK is offline  
Old 21 February 2020, 16:54   #6
Fenris
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Prague
Posts: 8
Tried both KDEview and CopyIcon, they seem to be valid options.
Fenris is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing HD ? Washac support.Hardware 6 15 April 2018 21:55
OS 3.5 icons on 3.1 & WHDLoad hangs when displaying icons PoulpSquad support.WinUAE 22 14 September 2012 00:57
OS 3.9 Icons mixed with old icons Toddles support.Hardware 0 14 February 2010 00:56
changing disks SImon support.WinUAE 2 01 November 2002 15:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06689 seconds with 15 queries