English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2020, 21:54   #1
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 567
Should I upgrade to 3.1.4

Hi,

So I just snapped a pin on one of my A1200 3.1 roms. Was just about to order 3.1 roms, and I thought is it worth buying 3.1.4 instead, including workbench disks ?

I own 3.9 on cd, and have been using that for a long time, though planning on dual booting with 4.1 (yes have ppc card).

Just wondering should I replace with 3.1 roms or 3.1.4

thoughts ?
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 23 January 2020, 23:00   #2
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 274
I really like the 3.1.4 version, it has some nice improvements and higher stability than 3.1/3.9 .
jurassicman is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 01:32   #3
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,336
Go for it and do the 3.1.4 upgrade, you will enjoy it.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 04:34   #4
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 50
Posts: 864
Thumbs up

@ S0ulA55a551n


highly recommend the upgrade to OS3.1.4! Running great on both my 1200 and 4000

Last edited by klx300r; 24 January 2020 at 15:54.
klx300r is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 11:00   #5
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,696
Really happy using it as well (under emulation)

(my only small concern was the longer 'turn on' delay that I first thought was due to the emulation. But now that I know the reason, everything is fine )
malko is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 12:02   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,560
If you're already using 3.9, there's less of an improvement feature-wise, though 3.1.4 contains updated versions of many 3.9 components so a hybrid install would give you the best of both worlds.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 12:04   #7
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,395
Or you wait for a few months for when 3.2 arrives.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 14:03   #8
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Or you wait for a few months for when 3.2 arrives.
Will that be new roms as well do you know, or just updated OS ?

Will be annoying if have to keep replacing roms. At least 35 and 3.9 used 3.1 (Though does have annoying patch and soft-kick reboot)
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 14:11   #9
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
If you're already using 3.9, there's less of an improvement feature-wise, though 3.1.4 contains updated versions of many 3.9 components so a hybrid install would give you the best of both worlds.
Know you of any scripts to do that, or it a case of working out what you want from version numbering ?
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 15:49   #10
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 567
The only people selling it , it seems (physical format) are amigastore.eu. I cant currently create an account as their website is broken.

Are they reliable ?
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 16:34   #11
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
Will that be new roms as well do you know, or just updated OS ?

Will be annoying if have to keep replacing roms. At least 35 and 3.9 used 3.1 (Though does have annoying patch and soft-kick reboot)
3.2 will be new ROMs, though I'm sure it will be possible to soft-kick it the same way 3.5 and 3.9 worked. 3.1.4 can be used in a similar way too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
Know you of any scripts to do that, or it a case of working out what you want from version numbering ?
There is a script that does it all here, though personally I prefer to take it manually and just install exactly what I choose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
The only people selling it , it seems (physical format) are amigastore.eu. I cant currently create an account as their website is broken.

Are they reliable ?
They have a decent reputation, but I haven't ordered from them myself. With the Amiga community being a small echo chamber, if they were particularly dodgy, we'd likely have heard by now.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 24 January 2020, 23:23   #12
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
Are they reliable ?
Been a while but i bought an X-Surf 100 from there with no problems.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 18:20   #13
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
3.2 will be new ROMs, though I'm sure it will be possible to soft-kick it the same way 3.5 and 3.9 worked. 3.1.4 can be used in a similar way too.


There is a script that does it all here, though personally I prefer to take it manually and just install exactly what I choose.


They have a decent reputation, but I haven't ordered from them myself. With the Amiga community being a small echo chamber, if they were particularly dodgy, we'd likely have heard by now.
Thanks for the link. They sorted site and I have made an order

Probably checked first , anyone know of any incompatibilities with 3.1.4 roms.
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 18:51   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
anyone know of any incompatibilities with 3.1.4 roms.
Read any "3.1.4" related threads on EAB for more details
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 19:16   #15
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Read any "3.1.4" related threads on EAB for more details
sounds bad ?

Thinking hardware wise rather than software
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 19:41   #16
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,931
I don't have 3.1.4 and never will; as there's no need in emulation IMHO, or for my limited needs.

The only issue I can think of, from reading the numerous 3.1.4 related threads, is "the long boot from startup" (but the reasons as to why have been explained by the devs).
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 20:56   #17
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 36
Posts: 1,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Or you wait for a few months for when 3.2 arrives.
Is there a thread about this?? Also did they end up releasing a t-file on all the updates in 3.1.4 compared to 3.1 ?!?
redblade is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 21:10   #18
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I don't have 3.1.4 and never will; as there's no need in emulation IMHO, or for my limited needs.

The only issue I can think of, from reading the numerous 3.1.4 related threads, is "the long boot from startup" (but the reasons as to why have been explained by the devs).
ok thanks. This will be on actual hardware. and Just seemed to make sense as had broken my very old and abused 3.1 roms.
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 23:37   #19
sneeker
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester!
Posts: 207
Sordan.ie sell it with roms as well, both on ebay and through their shop.

Im still undecided on jumping ship as Im still quite happy on 3.9.
sneeker is offline  
Old 25 January 2020, 23:51   #20
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,696
3.1.4 is lighter than 3.9 thus... faster
(speaking from memory as I didn't use 3.9 since a long time)
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I upgrade? fxgogo support.Amiga Forever 6 26 January 2020 01:47
upgrade powrslave project.ClassicWB 2 14 April 2017 17:57
Upgrade to 3.1 Problem... Nobby_UK support.Other 20 05 November 2014 03:13
FOR SALE: A500 1MB upgrade and A500+ 1MB upgrade clueless MarketPlace 1 17 March 2010 11:21
To upgrade or not to upgrade? manicx support.Hardware 7 04 June 2003 16:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09798 seconds with 15 queries