English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2016, 19:21   #261
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aegis View Post
That's interesting since whilst SCSI plays the DVD .ISO, there's no audio

And yes, same configs - only differences are:

1) SCSI instead of UAE (duh )
2) Automount CDFS is turned on for UAE.
Then there is some unknown variable and this test becomes invalid

Quote:

Which leads me to this question - *without* Limit size of directory drives to 1G WinUAE/OS4 is reporting the drive as 931G (705 used/225 free) - the actual formatted size of the drive is 1.81TB (1.37 used/451 free) - is that correct for WinUAE?

*Edit* just checked it in AF2016/WB3.X/3.2.2 - same deal - volume size/free space is half of what's actually there (different drive: actual size: 279GB, used: 249GB, free: 30GB / WinUAE size: 139GB, used: 124GB, free: 15GB).
I get halved size under OS41FE but correct in OS3.9. Probably block size related or calculation changed. Working in OS3.9 = everything seems to be correct
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 19:34   #262
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Then there is some unknown variable and this test becomes invalid
Hmm... maybe best to put this on the backburner until I can come up with a better test then? Aside from this issue, beta 6 has been really reliable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I get halved size under OS41FE but correct in OS3.9. Probably block size related or calculation changed. Working in OS3.9 = everything seems to be correct
Weird. I just tried it out in 3.9 too and it's still reporting half the sizes it should be - oh well still - It's not like it's gonna burn down my house is it?
Aegis is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 17:43   #263
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
Got hang which means there is still some bug somewhere..

(btw, drive size reporting is fixed)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 18:40   #264
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Got hang which means there is still some bug somewhere..
I'm back on b6 for now - maybe I'll find something repeatable in b7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(btw, drive size reporting is fixed)
Excellent btw, I noticed an issue with Blender if 'Hide all uae autoconfig boards' is enabled - it reports a minigl error and can't open its screen (haven't noticed it impacting anything else).
Aegis is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 21:03   #265
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
Can you also duplicate under OS4 that C:Info shows only blank lines in place of directory filesystem drive's information? Weird..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 21:10   #266
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Can you also duplicate under OS4 that C:Info shows only blank lines in place of directory filesystem drive's information? Weird..
Huh. Yeah - that's weird! There should be a DH3: there...

*Edit* btw Toni, how does this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by winuae.net
Official CSPPC/BPPC flash updater can be used to install full ROM
image without having existing ROM image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	info.png
Views:	374
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	47593  

Last edited by Aegis; 20 February 2016 at 21:18.
Aegis is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 22:02   #267
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aegis View Post
*Edit* btw Toni, how does this work?
Create empty file (zero size or file that only contains zero bytes) as CSPPC/BPPC ROM image. Boot, run official flash updater.

(btw, don't ask offtopic questions in this thread)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 22:30   #268
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aegis View Post
Huh. Yeah - that's weird! There should be a DH3: there...
It is. For example WB3.x C:Info under OS4.x works normally and all device and volume parameters look normal.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 February 2016, 16:30   #269
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
beta 7: warn reset loop fixed, free space (not really OS4 specific) is now correct. ACTION_FILESYSTEM_ATTR supported, Ranger shows filesystem details.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 February 2016, 00:32   #270
mritter0
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 204
When using uaegfx the boot anim for OS4 is not shown. Does it not "kick in" until WB is shown?
mritter0 is offline  
Old 22 February 2016, 06:46   #271
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 693
You get the boing only when no HDD, CD or Floppy present in drives
With latest updates you don't get the boot menu on the classic setup :-(
Michael is offline  
Old 22 February 2016, 12:38   #272
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mritter0 View Post
When using uaegfx the boot anim for OS4 is not shown. Does it not "kick in" until WB is shown?
I guess there is some early boot special case for some "popular" RTG boards because uaegfx is not initialized until few seconds before WB screen appears.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 February 2016, 04:28   #273
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 237
b7's working really well for me - are you still planning bsdsocket.library support for 3.3.0?
Aegis is offline  
Old 23 February 2016, 21:03   #274
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aegis View Post
b7's working really well for me - are you still planning bsdsocket.library support for 3.3.0?
I have been slowly converting it to new trap system but it is really complex and uses traps really heavily. It probably will be uselessly slow or does not work at all..

Also I am not sure if you can replace OS4 bsdsocket.library without side-effects.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 February 2016, 10:44   #275
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
There may be a bit hackish method to increase performance and enable near-direct memory access: Get PPC CPU MMU state from PPC emulator and use it to translate logical to physical address. If page's physical address is found (page exist in MMU tables): use physical address directly, if not found: use normal indirect method.

This is currently just an idea but should be possible, at least in theory...
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 February 2016, 20:55   #276
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This is currently just an idea but should be possible, at least in theory...
Please give us an incredibly unstable test build to try - that sounds awesome! (and I have lots of backups ).
Aegis is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 17:43   #277
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
winuae.7z updated. Experimental modified "busy-wait" mode traps. It appears to be faster. Maybe. (No Amiga-side interrupts needed for communication)

Make sure to test every part separately, it could make big filesystem reads slower but RTG blits faster etc..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 18:16   #278
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Make sure to test every part separately, it could make big filesystem reads slower but RTG blits faster etc..
Having problems with this build - can't open any volumes upon Workbench booting - doesn't seem to be applying Workbench prefs either (no customizations to the title/menu bar) - I'll go through it in depth later to see if I can figure out where it's falling over.
Aegis is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 18:23   #279
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,627
Try switching off network emulations and clipboard sharing temporarily. There appears to be some unknown incompatibility..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 05 March 2016, 18:46   #280
Aegis
Gentleman

Aegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: The Fortesque Mansion
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Try switching off network emulations and clipboard sharing temporarily. There appears to be some unknown incompatibility..
Tried them both separately - networking is what's screwing with OS4 loading/running properly (both uaenet and A2065 Z2 tested) - disabling clipboard sharing seems to prevent some random lock-ups I was getting after I disabled networking - thanks Toni.

And yeah - initial impressions are tangibly improved RTG performance - it just feels overall a little snappier - more useful feedback to follow

*Edit* Getting a few random lock-ups just running various apps/games even with networking/clipboard sharing turned off - all most of the stuff I've tried works - no obvious incompatibilities, just some stability issues. Any info I can give you that'll help?

*Edit2* Damn! Some of these apps load/run *much* faster now OWB and pFTP are consistently hanging OS4 (though not WinUAE) - guess that's probably networking-related although Odyssey, iBrowse and NetSurf run fine (well, as best they can without a network connection )

Last edited by Aegis; 05 March 2016 at 19:15.
Aegis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE 1.3 Development Series FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 376 28 October 2012 18:42
FS-UAE 1.1 Development Series FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 214 06 May 2012 14:53
OS4 compatible? oRBIT Coders. General 1 12 May 2010 15:50
E-UAE Development pjhutch support.OtherUAE 1 06 October 2008 03:26
Status of E-UAE pjhutch support.OtherUAE 3 30 June 2008 00:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17604 seconds with 14 queries