English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 August 2018, 00:56   #2581
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,851
Ok, I could solve the Aros installation problem with the crashing WinUAE when copying the wallpapers. It seems to be an Aros bug with handling HDFs. It does not happen when I install into a Windows directory. It also works with a HDF when copying these suspect files fom the Aros Live CD iso image onto a HDF under OS 3.9.

Now, I just played a bit with Aros Nightly 2018/08/05. In order to use my library it needs either LoadModule or RemLib at the top of the startup-sequence and some changes to copy the deficons from ENVARC:Sys to ENV:Sys.
Code:
RemLib >NIL: icon.library         ; ###

SetClock LOAD

FailAt 21

If NOT EXISTS "RAM:Clipboards"
    Makedir "RAM:Clipboards"
EndIf
If NOT EXISTS "RAM:T"
    Makedir "RAM:T"
EndIf
If NOT EXISTS "RAM:ENV"
    Makedir "RAM:ENV"
;;; Assign "ENV:" "RAM:ENV"       ; ###
EndIf

Assign "ENV:" "RAM:ENV"           ; ###
Copy >NIL: ENVARC: ENV: ALL       ; ###
Nevertheless, Wanderer is still just a big pain and the graphics corruption remains when you drag icons around. It's also horrible that Wanderer reserves the same amount of space for every icon in a drawer which depends on the space that the largest icon needs.

Last edited by PeterK; 20 August 2018 at 11:17.
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 01:15   #2582
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Ok, I could solve the Aros installation problem with the crashing WinUAE when copying the wallpapers. It seems to be an Aros bug with handling HDFs.
Strange, I'll try to install myself on HardFile Aros Nightly 2018/08/05


Quote:
horrible that Wanderer reserves the same amount of space for every icon in a drawer which depends on the space that the largest icon needs.
It is true, even the long names create problems like on OS3 but with Wnderer on can manage the length and the spaces, it is however complicated to do it
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 01:42   #2583
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Done, the installation of Aros Nightly 2018/08/05 on HardFile was successful, it was the problem I mentioned, the solution was in the link i posted.

To install on HardFile this must have RDB Mode enabled (initialize HardFile with HDToolbox), once started the CDLive you must also format it slow or fast, better to name it DH0 (provided by the installer) but if you want you can use a different name, just change it even in the installer

Important: Do not use the Bios integrated in WinUAE but use the latest versions provided by the CDLive (aros-rom.bin and aros-ext.bin)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 24 August 2018 at 09:46.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 04:37   #2584
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,851
Thanks Carlo,

this times the installation was successful !

What was the problem? The field HD Controller "Full drive/RDB mode" looks like a status indicator and thus everything seems to be set correctly, but you can not see that this is a switch and not a status. A checkmark would be better or "enable full drive/RDB mode". And there is nothing stating that the disk still has to be initialized with HDToolbox.
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 09:29   #2585
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Yes, Peter is in fact strange, if I remember well before my report did not happen, on a physical Amiga I think it is essential to do that procedure.

AROS x86 instead does the opposite, to install AROS on HarDisk, PenDrive, External HardDisk requires a RAW disk in practice if there is MBR (Windows) initialization and installation does not start HDToolbox is not necessary

To emulate Amiga OS "Full drive/RDB mode" it is not necessary but it is essential if you want to partition or change filesystem on HardFile

Install AROS x86 USB External Hard Disk
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 20 August 2018 at 10:12.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 11:28   #2586
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,851
Update to icon.library 46.4.497

This is a bugfix for LayoutIconA() when it was called to remap an icon with an additional tag for a certain color precision, which rarely ever happens, but I found this case on Aros 68k with DOpus5 installed. Some icons didn't get an immediate color mapping for the second image, the selected or dragged icon. Only a small black dot image appeared instead. This should work correctly now.


@kolla
Maybe this was your problem, too? Try 497 and remove NoDelayedImage2 again.

Btw, I've installed DOpus5 on Aros 68k now and 497 works pretty good, but it's recommended to call IconsToFastMem before DOpus5 is started instead of Wanderer. And don't use my option "DOnoColorMapping" or the DOpus5 setting "Use custom dragging routines" on Aros 68k. The dragging routine reacts a little slow, but there are no graphical glitches with DOpus5.
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 12:33   #2587
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Good Peter, now we have a new Distro Aros 68k By PeterK, when the review? a good idea, however, that certainly will be appreciated by the AROS and Vampire supporters
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 15:26   #2588
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Excellent, will try when I get home later today

Yes, a clean, simple and minimal AROS/68k with DOpus5 is a goal for me as well.
(a reason why I contributed to liberating DOpus5 somewhere back in time)

Oh, and I also have a couple of Vampire systems, though I have not bothered to try AROS on them yet.

Last edited by kolla; 20 August 2018 at 15:31.
kolla is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 19:03   #2589
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Excellent, will try when I get home later today
Yes, a clean, simple and minimal AROS/68k with DOpus5 is a goal for me as well.
The Icons view on Dopus5 is very slow at the moment, it's fast in place if you show files by name.


Quote:
Oh, and I also have a couple of Vampire systems, though I have not bothered to try AROS on them yet.
At the moment the Vampires are very slow to use AROS 68k, not even AfA-OS runs well on the Vampires.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 19:44   #2590
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
The Icons view on Dopus5 is very slow at the moment, it's fast in place if you show files by name.
Don't forget to use IconsToFastMem if that is DOpus5 on Aros 68k. By default the icons are loaded into the slow ChipMem and you're running out of ChipMem very soon (also a reason for black dot icons). On my Aros 68k test system icon loading speed is quite fast.
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 19:46   #2591
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Yes, i used IconsToFastMem, maybe i missed something else to do?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 19:52   #2592
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,851
it's important to activate "borderless icons are fully transparent" in DOpus5.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DOpus5_Environment.zip (717 Bytes, 45 views)
PeterK is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 20:20   #2593
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Thanks Peter will try the DOpus5 Environment.

If I have to be honest to me Dopus5 never liked it, I have two versions of Dopus5 on the AFA-OS for test only

See video AfA-OS + ScalOS + Dopu5.91 + Dopu5.82 Dopus4 style (all fast)
[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2018, 20:49   #2594
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,851
Thanks Carlo, but I don't need any video indoctrination to understand that DOpus5 is not my favourite desktop environment, same for AfA, Scalos and Wanderer.

Update: 46.4.497 is available at Aminet now. (no changes to 497 at EAB)

Last edited by PeterK; 23 August 2018 at 01:33.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 10:56   #2595
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Hello Peter, something strange happened to me, for some time I realized that on the AFA-OS based systems, I could no longer delete the icons from the Workbench, I could only delete files and from Filemanager or from CLI, I could even if I started the system by disabling AFA-OS

Well after a bit 'of concussion in the end I discovered the arcane, all this was due to the lack of startup of ASyncWB (long ago I had it eliminated for the famous tests). As soon as I ran ASyncWB everything worked correctly, I hope this was my strange discovery
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 16:26   #2596
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
... something strange happened ... this was my strange discovery
Yes indeed, you're using a very strange AfA system configuration with unpredictable results.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 19:57   #2597
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 253
Since I installed it sometimes changes the colors of windows and icon text without me touching something while the palet prefs still show what the colors should look like. A reset solves it. I would send the author a mail but I don't see a way to contact him. Anyone else has this ? Here it's OS3.9 bb2 .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-08-30 18.40.33 (Large).jpg
Views:	70
Size:	462.3 KB
ID:	59600   Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-08-30 18.42.09 (Large).jpg
Views:	78
Size:	423.9 KB
ID:	59601  
SimonV is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 20:49   #2598
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonV View Post
Since I installed it ...
Installed what? AsyncWB or AfA or what?

Quote:
... I would send the author a mail but I don't see a way to contact him. Anyone else has this ? Here it's OS3.9 bb2 .
Stephan Rupprecht or Bernd Roesch or who else ?
https://www.stephan-rupprecht.de/ click on any description and you will find the email address of the uploader info@st..., don't know if that still works.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 22:07   #2599
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 253
This started happening after I installed iconlib ... sometimes. For the rest it is just os3.9 with boingbag 2.

Not sure why it happens and unfortunalty not always.

About the contact didn’t see anything in the aminet readme, maybe I overlooked. Forgot to look in the archive itself ?
SimonV is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 22:33   #2600
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Yes indeed, you're using a very strange AfA system configuration with unpredictable results.
No Peter I said about "all" systems that include the AfA-OS extension even the unmodified Standard ones, excluded only Amikit e AmikitX just because they use Dopus5,without Dopus5 should have the same problem, watch the video to see the problem.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 September 2018 at 14:38.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 14:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 19:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 05:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 16:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16652 seconds with 14 queries