English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2020, 22:50   #41
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 43
Posts: 572
Still, an RTG and/or PPC exe would be totally awesome...
Reynolds is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 22:58   #42
Steve
I Identify as an Ewok
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Lincolnshire
Age: 42
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reynolds View Post
Still, an RTG and/or PPC exe would be totally awesome...
Haha. Will never happen. Would be nice sure but no, won't happen.
Steve is offline  
Old 23 April 2020, 13:47   #43
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 45
Posts: 918
Just downloaded this game and I cannot get it to work whatsoever on my A1200. Keeps telling me to insert TFX and DID. Can’t find anything to tell me how to fix it. This is a good reason why a Whdload slave would be good. Just install it and click on an icon to run it.
Superman is offline  
Old 23 April 2020, 14:35   #44
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
It runs fine on:

(c) TFX_040 BETA exec (requires 68040/060 CPU)
I have a tfx.lha that I downloaded on the 7/12/2001.
The executable contained in the archive is dated 5/12/2001.
I have no memory of where i got it, but it must be this one:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!to...es/kKZHKZtN8bQ

Have no idea if it works - not had TFX running for years. Will post it up later.
James is offline  
Old 23 April 2020, 20:36   #45
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
Just downloaded this game and I cannot get it to work whatsoever on my A1200. Keeps telling me to insert TFX and DID. Can’t find anything to tell me how to fix it.
You're missing the required Assigns then... which are in the scripts to launch whatever model / FPU "game exe" you've chosen to install e.g:



These get created after using the provided installer.

Installing this game is not rocket science guys
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 April 2020, 00:57   #46
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 672
The 040 version from 2001 is in the zone now.
James is offline  
Old 24 April 2020, 01:36   #47
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
The 040 version from 2001 is in the zone now.
Thanks James, I'll give it a try
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 April 2020, 23:39   #48
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
okay, not huge. But is there a point about creating a whdload slave? What is it going to bring despite quitkey?

honest question.



The usual stuff.


I know you guys can't do the impossible, but you've pulled off quite a few miracles in the past.
As you know I have no technical expertise, but based on what I've seen, I would not be at all surprised if a WHDLoad ninja could find some optimisations. Flight Sims didn't get more ambitious than this on the Amiga, so worth a look?



I remember there was a bug with the FPU version that stopped the cannon from working. I think running FASTEXEC helped a little with the speed.


I believe it ran abit faster on an 030, and that there was a flicker issue that turning the caches off resolved(!).



I got into converstaion with Charlie Wallace, the guy that released it, on comp.sys.amiga.games. He gave some fairly detailed info that would probably make more sense to you, and give you a better idea of what might be done.


Bits and pirces like:

"it still uses SMC code and flushes the cache more than it should to
get round it, which will kill the performance of any heavily
cache dependant CPU, which i believe where most of the 060
gets is boost."


The full thread is here:


https://groups.google.com/forum/#!se...Q/SD6r360dIEMJ





"TFX does use fixed point for a lot of stuff like the renderer, however
the flight models too complex to get away with the reduced accuracy
of fixed point.."
Angus is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 00:10   #49
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,089
okay so my 2 cents:

If I understand correctly, TFX runs on a 68060, but the 68040-optimized version does not. Only the 68020/non-FPU version would work and attempting to run the 68040 crashes the machine.

With whdload, an unsupported 68040 FPU instruction would trip an exception. I'd say that non-compatible 68060 FPU instructions could be found in disassembly and maybe patched so the 68060 could run the 68040 version with a few (?) patches, without figuring out the whole picture.

That would probably be better than running a non-FPU version. But this may be an ungrateful task, and unsure that it would allow the game to go significantly faster than the 68020 version. Thougths?
jotd is offline  
Old 12 May 2020, 10:21   #50
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 278
Aren’t there tools that are supposed to do this kind of patching kind of on the fly. Oxypatcher?
pipper is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 18:32   #51
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 776
Guys,

A suggestion. TFX was released for the Amiga over 20 years ago, and Charlie Wallace worked on it further for some time, releasing some new .exes. If a WHDLoad slave is made, it would make sense to gather all the .exes that were released so the Patcher can make an informed decision on which exe (or exes) to work on.



I've done a bit of research and have found 6 different exe files.

The first 5 were included in an .hdf put together by Steve Bruce. (Nice one, Steve) :-)

they are named:

TFX.020 filesize: 571008 - patched 020 crashes with fast ram
TFX.030 filesize: 570480 - crashes
TFX.040 filesize: 571008 - crashes

TFX.OLD filesize: 554340 -runs
TFX.FPU filesize: 503340 -runs but I think cannon no longer damages anything.


TFX.??? filesize: 599152 - runs
This last one, is one that I archived myself, years ago. I can't say much about it other than it works, and it's a different filesize to the others. I'm sure I kept it because it was the latest working exe I knew of at the time.

So if any of you have other exes, or info, or recollections? :-)

Last edited by Angus; 13 May 2020 at 21:54.
Angus is offline  
Old 13 May 2020, 20:27   #52
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,089
Code:
"it still uses SMC code and flushes the cache more than it should to
get round it, which will kill the performance of any heavily
cache dependant CPU, which i believe where most of the 060
gets is boost."
That can be patched without too much trouble. A lot of 3D games use self-modifying code because their target are 68000 (Red Zone, CAPS are 2 of them). A whdload patch can rework those executables so they don't use SMC anymore (and remove the cache flush call). It's very easy to locate them thanks to the following cache flush which is super easy to locate.
jotd is offline  
Old 21 August 2020, 15:31   #53
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
[CODE]
That can be patched without too much trouble. A lot of 3D games use self-modifying code because their target are 68000 (Red Zone, CAPS are 2 of them). A whdload patch can rework those executables so they don't use SMC anymore (and remove the cache flush call). It's very easy to locate them thanks to the following cache flush which is super easy to locate.



This was sounding fairly positive..........
Angus is offline  
Old 21 August 2020, 15:40   #54
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,089
that is if any of the executables worked. Most of the executables provided crash at startup. Code disassembly reveals that it's completely broken.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 August 2020, 07:01   #55
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
that is if any of the executables worked. Most of the executables provided crash at startup. Code disassembly reveals that it's completely broken.

This is on the executables from the author's old geocities site? I seem to recall most of them at least *ran* on my A4000 back in the day.
AmigaHope is online now  
Old 25 August 2020, 13:00   #56
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
that is if any of the executables worked. Most of the executables provided crash at startup. Code disassembly reveals that it's completely broken.
I used the archive from the magazine Commodore User CD15.

From memory the TFX_68000 and TFX_FPU files worked fine, but I think I had issues with TFX_040.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 00:28   #57
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 776
This was my contribution to the working .exe issue:

TFX.020 filesize: 571008 - patched 020 crashes with fast ram
TFX.030 filesize: 570480 - crashes
TFX.040 filesize: 571008 - crashes

TFX.OLD filesize: 554340 -runs
TFX.FPU filesize: 503340 -runs but I think cannon no longer damages anything.


TFX.??? filesize: 599152 - runs
This last one, is one that I archived myself, years ago. I can't say much about it other than it works, and it's a different filesize to the others. I'm sure I kept it because it was the latest working exe I knew of at the time.
Angus is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 11:20   #58
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus View Post
This was my contribution to the working .exe issue:

TFX.020 filesize: 571008 - patched 020 crashes with fast ram
TFX.030 filesize: 570480 - crashes
TFX.040 filesize: 571008 - crashes

TFX.OLD filesize: 554340 -runs
TFX.FPU filesize: 503340 -runs but I think cannon no longer damages anything.


TFX.??? filesize: 599152 - runs
This last one, is one that I archived myself, years ago. I can't say much about it other than it works, and it's a different filesize to the others. I'm sure I kept it because it was the latest working exe I knew of at the time.
Yep like I said originally, they are a right mess.

I still don't understand why this wouldn't be a great candidate for a WHLOAD patch to get the bloody thing working properly
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 22:55   #59
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,089
can someone just zone / zip the working exes and not the ones that crash? A whdload installation could provide the proper executables for this game instead of downloaded ones assembled with who knows what tool (a blender?)
jotd is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 23:56   #60
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
As mentined, these worked for me in WinUAE (well, except for TFX_040):

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I used the archive from the magazine Commodore User CD15.

From memory the TFX_68000 and TFX_FPU files worked fine, but I think I had issues with TFX_040.
Ok, in The Zone!

Last edited by DamienD; 27 August 2020 at 00:01.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for TFX apollo630 request.Old Rare Games 3 21 December 2011 22:20
Tfx Johnyt request.Old Rare Games 125 17 August 2008 14:06
Tfx Independent HOL contributions 8 06 February 2007 19:31
Tfx macce2 request.Old Rare Games 10 21 August 2006 19:31
Tfx forumbase request.Old Rare Games 16 30 May 2006 00:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09893 seconds with 14 queries