English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 January 2021, 14:51   #201
apex
Registered User
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
No need to discuss the pros and cons of whdload to people who aren't interested. Lesson learned.
So only answering to tell you "you're welcome".
Damian use WinUAE, I am using real hardware and I see only advantages using WHDLoad. Please just ignore this discussion and go on with the WHDload version. Thank you very much.
apex is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 16:43   #202
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by apex View Post
Damian use WinUAE, I am using real hardware and I see only advantages using WHDLoad.
Whether someone uses real hardware or emulates makes no difference...

The 3 x game EXEs work on either.
DamienD is online now  
Old 09 January 2021, 18:02   #203
apex
Registered User
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 551
It make sense, because I cannot cut down my OS easily. To run normal HD games, I have to use my A1200/030. To run the big games I have to use my A1200/60, removing patches and other stuff or I use WHDLoad, then I have no problems.
From the perspective using real hardware, WHDLoad makes absolutely sense. ;-)
apex is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 19:36   #204
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 782
I appreciate it must be jolly good fun, running round implying people are thick, and talking about rocket science.



This is what you were saying in April. You were wrong then too.







Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Have you even ever installed the native version of TFX?

It runs fine on:

(a) TFX_020 BETA exec (requires FPU)
(b) TFX_030 BETA exec (requires FPU)
(c) TFX_040 BETA exec (requires 68040/060 CPU)

Angus is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 20:31   #205
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
indeed those beta ersions are broken beyond repair except for the 020 if you hack the exe so data hunk is in chipmem.

no answer from Charlie either... sad
jotd is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 20:57   #206
DaveTaylor
Registered User
DaveTaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Japan
Posts: 100
The 020 beta exe is from the end of 1997. It's the latest touch of the original coder. All other working exes are from early 1995.
Good that you made it running, JOTD.

See screenshot here.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=362737&postcount=43

By the way, the whole thread is old, but interesting.

Last edited by DaveTaylor; 09 January 2021 at 21:13.
DaveTaylor is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 22:03   #207
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
020 beta is 571008 bytes, it's the latest version we have, and is also using 68881 FPU routines.

Which means that if I can fix FPU instructions so they use 68040/060 FPU emulation this could be the fastest version around on real machines.

Today this latest executable only runs on 68020/030+FPU and not on 68040/68060. No 68040 version has been made. The so called 040 beta version (599152 bytes) doesn't use the FPU at all. Maybe it uses 68040 instructions, but I'm not sure. Besides it's from 1995 as well. Not really useful except for me because the executable has symbols.

On WinUAE it runs on 68040/060 because by default unimplemented FPU instructions are transparently emulated (but you have to force the FPU attnflags bit, this can be done using 68040.library/oxypatcher whatever or removing the check, but winuae does the job, not oxypatcher (oxypatcher does a terrible job on that game: it just makes computations fail)
jotd is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 23:18   #208
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 782
Does Cyberpatcher perform any better, Jean-Francois?

By the way, if I remember correctly at one point Charlie had access to somebody's 040, but later on he was doing his best to make the 040 code work without having one to test it on. I don't think he ever had access to an 060.
Angus is offline  
Old 09 January 2021, 23:29   #209
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
Didn't test cyberpatcher TBH, and I don't think I will. Even if it works I don't think I can use the result anyway.

I have math source code I can plug into the FPU version, will do that.
jotd is offline  
Old 10 January 2021, 02:07   #210
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
indeed those beta ersions are broken beyond repair except for the 020 if you hack the exe so data hunk is in chipmem.

no answer from Charlie either... sad
there : https://www.linkedin.com/in/charlie-wallace-281143/
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 10 January 2021, 10:50   #211
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
contacting people you don't know on linked in requires pro account. Asking the man to be part of his network just to ask something is bound to fail. I've already tried that with Sean Griffiths and got no answer.
jotd is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 00:11   #212
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
holy crap! I adapted the motorola FPSP code, compiled it, ran it in background, and ran the FPU program on a 68040 setup, no unimplemented instructions emulated.

And it bloody WORKED!

So now here comes the easy part. I need your inputs. 68040 and 68060 users on real machines.

What I'd like to do is a blind test so people aren't influenced by the setup

So, basically, I'm going to create an amiga shell that runs TFX with various configurations. Your task shall you accept it will be to test those configs with the same level of detail and tell me which one is the best (without looking inside the script so you don't know which setup it is).

I'm going to provide the set of executables and the "fpsp" emulation code + slave so you can just upgrade and test easily.

Note: Winuae users can help if they want, but they'll have to untick the "unimplemented FPU instruction" box, else that will be cheating since WinUAE does the job.
jotd is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 01:11   #213
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 782
Wow, sounds cool, Jean-Francois. Nice work! :-)
Angus is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 01:24   #214
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
Tested on 68060 doesn't seem to work yet, but I think it may work on properly configured systems.
jotd is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 10:40   #215
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 278
What is FPSP and how does it work?
pipper is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 10:56   #216
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipper View Post
What is FPSP and how does it work?
https://android.googlesource.com/ker...sp060/fpsp.doc
alexh is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 15:00   #217
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Yeah.................... but what IS it?!


Floating Point Simulation Program?
Angus is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 16:44   #218
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
something like that yes.

FLOATING-POINT SOFTWARE PACKAGE

software-emulate the unimplemented exceptions, but use the implemented exceptions. Won't work on a 68040 or 060 without FPU at all.
jotd is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 17:41   #219
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 658
Dont know what happends in my a1260. The normal EXE works but whdload version fails to starts with a black screen and I have to reboot.

I'll go trying future versions but I think this is a good job anyway.
tolkien is offline  
Old 11 January 2021, 17:58   #220
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
are you using the "auto" config in whdload? Strange. works on 060 with the nofpu exe ("TFX") on my setup, fails on FPU (for the moment hehe)
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for TFX apollo630 request.Old Rare Games 3 21 December 2011 22:20
Tfx Johnyt request.Old Rare Games 125 17 August 2008 14:06
Tfx Independent HOL contributions 8 06 February 2007 19:31
Tfx macce2 request.Old Rare Games 10 21 August 2006 19:31
Tfx forumbase request.Old Rare Games 16 30 May 2006 00:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10122 seconds with 14 queries