English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 May 2009, 09:55   #1
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 54
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Portable C64

If this guy made it, then it's just a matter of do the same for a lovely A1200 (or A600) portable!

Linky!
rkauer is offline  
Old 24 May 2009, 13:16   #2
PWLM
He found it at the zoo..
PWLM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Townsville / Australia
Posts: 151
This was floating around a while ago i think (maybe in OT?) Still fantastic, pity he couldn't fit a 5.25" drive bay in it!!
PWLM is offline  
Old 24 May 2009, 14:06   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,590
While these are great "museum" collectors pieces. I doubt they are very robust and would stand up to every day usage.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 May 2009, 14:17   #4
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
A bit OT here but I have a question. How come the C64 can play MP3 files with MMC64 and MP3@c64 while the Amiga needs at least 030 to use the MP3@c64?
Smiley is offline  
Old 24 May 2009, 14:26   #5
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley View Post
A bit OT here but I have a question. How come the C64 can play MP3 files with MMC64 and MP3@c64 while the Amiga needs at least 030 to use the MP3@c64?
Does the C64 version need additional hardware?

Paul
Loedown is offline  
Old 24 May 2009, 19:52   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loedown View Post
Does the C64 version need additional hardware?

Paul
http://www.vesalia.de/e_mp3at64.htm
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 25 May 2009, 00:15   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley View Post
A bit OT here but I have a question. How come the C64 can play MP3 files with MMC64 and MP3@c64 while the Amiga needs at least 030 to use the MP3@c64?
I would bet it is simply because the Amiga app has been compiled with 030 settings?

It is a full MPEG decode in hardware so should not need any more CPU than what it takes to copy the data from RAM to the I/O port.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 May 2009, 04:04   #8
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,478
Yeah, there are solutions that run on a 68000. Probably a compilation "error"?
Akira is offline  
Old 20 June 2009, 07:40   #9
FrenchShark
FPGAmiga rulez!
FrenchShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South of France
Age: 47
Posts: 155
Hello,

If you want to make your own portable C64 (and Amiga too), you will be able to do it using this card I designed :
http://www.arcaderetrogaming.com/2.html

It plays well a lot of games already, see by yourself:
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]

Regards,

Frederic
FrenchShark is offline  
Old 15 July 2009, 18:59   #10
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,931
FrenchShark, Compatibility and development stage of the different cores?
Photon is offline  
Old 15 July 2009, 19:02   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,590
The MiniMig v1.1 PCB is more than capable of C64 and there is at least one open source C64 FPGA core. Not sure but I think the author removed the SID code or something and FrenchShark wrote his own replacement?

The hardest thing about porting any core to any FPGA PCB is the disk emulation interface to the SD card. Each PCB is subtly different and most have a co-processor (and code) interfacing to the SD card which also needs to be tweaked.

Also the primary bootloader (the bit that selects the disk/rom image to use) is different, sometimes it is an intermediate FPGA image, sometimes it is C-code on the co-processor, always different.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 July 2009, 16:04   #12
FrenchShark
FPGAmiga rulez!
FrenchShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South of France
Age: 47
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
FrenchShark, Compatibility and development stage of the different cores?
The C64 works great (still some games do not run) with stereo SIDs and VIC-1541 in VHDL.

Regards,

Frederic
FrenchShark is offline  
Old 20 July 2009, 16:24   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,590
When are we going to see a release then?
alexh is offline  
Old 30 July 2009, 05:01   #14
FrenchShark
FPGAmiga rulez!
FrenchShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South of France
Age: 47
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
When are we going to see a release then?
We want to have to have a production run of the MCC boards for this fall.
We will release some VHDL code at that time.

Regards,

Frederic
FrenchShark is offline  
Old 02 September 2009, 13:05   #15
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
I found today photo of portable Amiga http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/5...tableamiga.png but everything is odd, even display.
s2325 is offline  
Old 02 September 2009, 15:03   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,590
There were several one-off portable Amiga's. The best being the A600 based Suzanne. The only commercial thing was StarPaws
alexh is offline  
Old 02 September 2009, 23:09   #17
kamelito
Zone Friend

kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,303
From scratch?

Hi,

Did you design you board from scratch and use core done by yourself or does you hw and software work has been developed using existing parts found on the internet? (VHDL from 1541 unlimited, minimig etc?)

kml

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchShark View Post
We want to have to have a production run of the MCC boards for this fall.
We will release some VHDL code at that time.

Regards,

Frederic
kamelito is offline  
Old 04 September 2009, 04:46   #18
FrenchShark
FPGAmiga rulez!
FrenchShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South of France
Age: 47
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamelito View Post
Hi,

Did you design you board from scratch and use core done by yourself or does you hw and software work has been developed using existing parts found on the internet? (VHDL from 1541 unlimited, minimig etc?)

kml
The HW is completely done by ourselves.
The VHDL is either ours or modules we found on internet.
BTW, I am half way through the Amiga chipset implementation. I am currently working on the Blitter.
This is the most complex part of the chipset. In comparison, the Copper was a breeze.

Regards,

Frederic
FrenchShark is offline  
Old 04 September 2009, 14:32   #19
kamelito
Zone Friend

kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 1,303
Interesting

Hi,

Its an interesting project, how would you define it compared to Commodore one? It seems to me that the goal is quite the same but I may be wrong.

kml


Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchShark View Post
The HW is completely done by ourselves.
The VHDL is either ours or modules we found on internet.
BTW, I am half way through the Amiga chipset implementation. I am currently working on the Blitter.
This is the most complex part of the chipset. In comparison, the Copper was a breeze.

Regards,

Frederic
kamelito is offline  
Old 04 September 2009, 18:21   #20
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I found today photo of portable Amiga http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/5...tableamiga.png but everything is odd, even display.
Make up your mind! IS the display odd or even!?



Anyway, "check".
Photon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winuae portable ? amiga_user support.WinUAE 9 31 December 2020 04:49
Portable Amiga Vars191 Amiga scene 20 19 June 2014 07:38
c64 .DATS and playing games on the C64 hardware pubzombie Retrogaming General Discussion 22 15 April 2011 14:40
Portable WinUAE? Nomad of Norad New to Emulation or Amiga scene 21 15 July 2008 00:19
A Portable 2600 Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 5 27 July 2003 17:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15420 seconds with 13 queries