English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.TOSEC (amiga only)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 October 2007, 11:47   #1
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 48
Posts: 834
Tosec and WARP images

quick search in the Tosec forums revealed nothing so apologies if my search capabilities is limited

I've downloaded the TAPE-archives from AmiTorrent, and there's alot of images there in WARP format. Would these be recognized TIM (or other Tosec renaming tools?) Also, does it work with DMS files? (just because I was too lazy to search for both I include that question here)

I'm also in the process of downloading a 6CD set with literally shitloads of DMS's..... very cleverly named in the format of "*****.dms" where the * is a number......

I was hoping to not have to manually rename these into more recognizeable names with TIM (gotten from www.tosec.org, btw) and the dats that are there.

If WARP images are not recognized, I'll have a crappy day re-packing them to DMS.......
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 15 October 2007, 14:39   #2
Adderly
[Satan^God]
Adderly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 701
Send a message via ICQ to Adderly
If you want to use TIM for renaming you need to convert dms->adf. For windows xdms can do the job: http://zakalwe.fi/~shd/foss/xdms/
For a bunch of files just type "xdms u *.dms" and wait some seconds.
Adderly is offline  
Old 16 October 2007, 00:12   #3
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 48
Posts: 834
SECONDS??????? I refuse, it HAS to take minutes.. preferably hours, but I'll settle for minutes :P

On a slightly more serious note, I've opened Tim and it doesn't "scan" and rename as I thought it would? It seems to want me to manually edit every single of the 4000+ DMS and WRP's

Though I might have better luck after doing your "few seconds" trickand convert most of them to ADF?
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 16 October 2007, 00:21   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,624
I could create small win32 console utility that can convert wrp (and .dsq and .dms) images to .adf but I feel too lazy as usual...
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 October 2007, 09:25   #5
[idoru]
Registered User
[idoru]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 246
Incidentally, you'd be better off using ClrMamePro & the "_CM" datfiles from the TOSEC site (or http://www.rommanager.com (available as a pack) or http://www.romshepherd.co.uk (available individually). The latest set of dats were only released in ClrMamePro format so far.
[idoru] is offline  
Old 16 October 2007, 23:57   #6
Adderly
[Satan^God]
Adderly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 701
Send a message via ICQ to Adderly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
... Though I might have better luck after doing your "few seconds" trickand convert most of them to ADF?
Aye, TIM does not work with dms files. And believe me xdms is very fast.
Adderly is offline  
Old 17 October 2007, 12:00   #7
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 48
Posts: 834
*arrrrgggghhhhhh*

Tried ClrMAMEPro yesterday, it doesn\t @crash@ it just... well.... it says to load/create a profile, which is fine, I create a profile, select the TOSEC dats to go with it, and all that jazz..... I select WinUAE as the emulator to be used, which is also fine.

Then it starts doing something... I don\t know WHAT but it doesn't work... I had the thing going overnight and it still wasn't finished doing whatever the heck it was doing.

Could anyone hint me to a working WinUAE profile? I can use my own .dat files, I's just not in the mood of renaming something like 3500 DMS/WRP files by hand... even with Total Commander it's a LONG and Utterly boring task.
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 17 October 2007, 23:58   #8
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,518
Hey Doc Mindle,

Unfortunately you will need to convert to .ADF first, then you can use ClrMAMEPro and the Tosec DATs to do the renaming.

Here's some very quick instructions on the use of ClrMAMEPro:

... Download ClrMAMEpro and the extract to say "C:\CLRMAMEPRO".
... Download the TOSEC Dats and extract the one you want to use to C:\CLRMAMEPRO\datfiles e.g. "Commodore Amiga - Games - [ADF] (TOSEC-v2006-10-19_CM).dat"
... Start ClrMAMEPro and click OK to the Welcome dialogue box.
... At the Profiler window double-click on the Dat file that you want to use e.g. "Commodore Amiga - Games - [ADF] (TOSEC-v2006-10-19_CM).dat" and then click the Default button.
... Click the Settings button, then click the Add... button, browse to the path of the files you want to check and then click close (x at the top).
... Click the Scanner button, then the Scan... button and wait until it finishes.
... Click OK and close (x at the top).
... Click the Rebuilder button and set the Source and Destination paths.
... Tick Removed Matched Sourcefiles (which will delete any matched files from the source) and now click the Rebuild... button.

Might take a while with 3000+ files

You can find good FAQs / docs here: http://www.mameworld.net/easyemu/clrmameguide.htm
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 October 2007, 00:22   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
I select WinUAE as the emulator to be used, which is also fine.
No, it isn't. WinUAE does not have any built-in dats
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 October 2007, 00:37   #10
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
No, it isn't. WinUAE does not have any built-in dats
BoooOOoooo HisssSSss!
BippyM is offline  
Old 18 October 2007, 08:55   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym View Post
BoooOOoooo HisssSSss!
It could create dat for supported roms (using rom detector checksums) but I am not sure if it is pointless enough
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 October 2007, 11:53   #12
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 48
Posts: 834
No wouldn't do that, Toni... it would be useful, can't have that :P
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 18 October 2007, 12:51   #13
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 48
Posts: 834
Weird... it seems my adf's doesn't match the TOSEC at all :/

Mayhaps I need a newer Amiga TOSEC dat?
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 18 October 2007, 22:53   #14
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
Weird... it seems my adf's doesn't match the TOSEC at all :/
Do you mean after the scan has completed or after rebuilding?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
Mayhaps I need a newer Amiga TOSEC dat?
The TOSEC Dats linked above are the latest public ones available at the moment...
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 11:32   #15
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 48
Posts: 834
I mean, the scan reports something like "0 sets detected, 3500 sets missing" ad thats after I've xDMS'd them to ADF and such..... or maybe I'm doing things wrong

I'll have to have a long read of the clrMAME docs :/
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 19 October 2007, 16:50   #16
[idoru]
Registered User
[idoru]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 246
Quote:
The TOSEC Dats linked above are the latest public ones available at the moment...
They're the latest privately ones too :P
[idoru] is offline  
Old 21 October 2007, 01:10   #17
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
I mean, the scan reports something like "0 sets detected, 3500 sets missing" ad thats after I've xDMS'd them to ADF and such..... or maybe I'm doing things wrong
That will occur with the Scanner as defaults such as Case and Name are ticked... therefore even if you have a file with the same CRC32 / MD5 as what's in the DAT file, an error will be reported (be it wrong named or whatever). For example, if you download "1000 Miglia (1991)(Simulmondo)(En-It)[cr CSL].zip" and rename it to "1000 Miglia (1991)(Simulmondo)(En-It).zip" you will get a error...

The reason for these options is that ClrMAMEPro was originally created for MAME (hence the name) and MAME ROM .ZIP archives will usually have 2 or more files inside them. What sometimes happens with updated versions of MAME is that the .ZIP archive will be the same name as a previous version yet a file inside will change name slightly... Of course ClrMAMEPro will tell you that, hence you don't need to re-download the achieve, just run the Rebuilder and your problem is solved

So following on from that point, the important part is the Rebuilder. This will rely on both the CRC32 and MD5 information in the DAT file and then rename appropriately if they match no matter what the original file name is called...

Rebuild you set and then see how many were / weren't recognised
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 October 2007, 17:06   #18
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 48
Posts: 834
I did... none recognized of 3500 disk-images (both scanner and rebuilder)
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 21 October 2007, 19:40   #19
Adderly
[Satan^God]
Adderly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 701
Send a message via ICQ to Adderly
3500 disks of non tosec/rare stuff or an scan error?
Adderly is offline  
Old 21 October 2007, 21:52   #20
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 48
Posts: 834
Most of them, I've seen in the TOSEC archive I have... which means, I've got NO idea
Doc Mindie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S Warp engine 32 mb tabuhuso MarketPlace 0 24 February 2012 16:13
TOSEC - DAT Pack - Complete (1528) (TOSEC-v2011-04-07) Aral project.TOSEC (amiga only) 4 09 April 2011 11:58
TOSEC - DAT Pack - Complete (1111) (TOSEC-v2009-12-27) Aral project.TOSEC (amiga only) 8 30 January 2010 12:14
Frx!warp ? killergorilla support.Apps 25 03 July 2007 19:09
how to transfer non-dos TOSEC images to disk? NfernalNfluence New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 24 June 2007 18:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12345 seconds with 13 queries