English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 December 2020, 22:33   #161
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
@thellier
Thanks for the reply,
if you need any support I am available
you can contact me privately if you prefer
i am very glad that you are getting interested in warp3d
excuse me the question warp3d 5 ppc for voodoo where is it available?
thanks

note separate:
I have read the document now

Last edited by White; 23 December 2020 at 22:40.
White is offline  
Old 24 December 2020, 16:42   #162
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 245
I suppose it is on the os41fe CD or in some enhancer pack...
I dont remenber...
(Since first covid quarantine I didnt touched an Amiga nor coded... )
thellier is offline  
Old 24 December 2020, 20:28   #163
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
@thellier
@all
In the 4.1FE cd there are no warp3Ds, they can be purchased with the warp3D-nova package
I can also buy them
but there is no trace of voodoo support but only radeon.
On this no idea which version of warp3D has voodoo support currently it seems that version 4.2a is the only version with voodoo support.
I did an experiment since voodoo in order of release is older than recent radeons so it should be backwards compatible at least at the time of its release.
I have installed amigaos 4.1 Classic update 1-6 then the version older than 4.1 Final Edition Classic.
I have not used the .hdf that can be found on the net.
But having the cd I made an installation from scratch choosing the voodoo as graphics card during the installation and then I updated with the updates 3-6.
With this edition, voodoo is recognized automatically
The problem remains everything works but the transparencies in the center remain in the wap3D tests with gearsppc
also amigaos 4.0 natively supports voodoo it was the first version to use voodoo here the document
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AmigaOS_4_version_history

Finally, 4.2a should be fully supported since we are talking about software released in that period.
Of course it is my idea, and I leave other comments to those who are more experienced than me and any of your advice
here the video of the 4.1 Classic update 1-6 with the test gear etc. Warp3D 4.2a
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 24 December 2020, 21:05   #164
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,784
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
You do talk some nonsense!

Warp3D is of course included in Aos 4.1fe and is part of the normal installation. I mean we've shown it working already!

You should try comparing it on an actual Amiga to see if the transparency issue is normal behavior. (I would check but my Voodoo3 card is dead right now). Gear PPC still has the issue of course and even using ReWarp libs doesnt change its bahaviour.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 24 December 2020, 21:16   #165
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
@Mad-Matt
well, I'm not talking about nonsense I'm trying to understand why it doesn't work.
i probably can't understand the warp3D libraries so i ask for help.
I have been told that there may be a z-buffer problem among the problems and I seek help from those who are more experienced than me.

nothing special :-)
White is offline  
Old 24 December 2020, 21:23   #166
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
I have a more constructive question
in practice the library that gives problems is
warp.libray and warp3Dppc.library?
at least I try to test this
thanks
White is offline  
Old 24 December 2020, 22:22   #167
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 797
"On the 4.1FE CD there are no Warp3D, they can be purchased with the Warp3D-nova package."

This is what he meant by nonsense. There IS a newer version..but it is PPC only with the help of 68K emulation..some Warp3D will function well while others won't...or need some tweaking.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 08:52   #168
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
I'm talking about 4.1FE or 4.1 Classic
I don't see any tests done by other people
and I'm not talking about 68k or 68k + ppc
this is the first time that some progress could be made with amigaos 4.1.
Demos written for 4.1 also work with classic 4.1 update 1-6.
No need to use 4.1FE
I have never had 4.1 with a voodoo card so it is normal that I have difficulty understanding the Warp3D concept now I think I understand it

But help is needed to make it work if this is possible
here for example from what I understand it seems that voodoo with 4.1 Classic is also supported with G-Rex here:

http://www.hd-zone.com/2011/09/06/am...tibility-list/

"DCE GREX 1200 or 4000 - Support for Voodoo 3 and RTL8029 ONLY! Experimental"

"Graphics Cards (PCI)

Sapphire ATI Radeon 9250 PCI 256MB (128MB visible) (card is 3.3 Volt or 5 Volt)
Elbox ATI Radeon 9250 PCI 256MB (5 Volt only)
Elbox ATI Radeon 9200 PCI 64MB (5 Volt only)
Radeon 9200 256MB (RV280 / M9 +) (3.3 Volt card working in modified 3.3 volt A4000 Mediator)
3DFX Voodoo Banshee 16MB PCI (no Warp3D, no overlay, no hardware pointer)
3DFX Voodoo 3 16MB (including Warp3D and DDC)
3DFX Voodoo 4 32MB (including Warp3D)
3DFX Voodoo 5 64MB (only 32MB recognized, including Warp3D) "

as always any help is welcome if this is not possible, patience.

separate note:
currently g-rex is not enabled in winuae with voodoo could have the same problems this I don't know

Last edited by White; 25 December 2020 at 09:45.
White is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 09:41   #169
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 110
I feel like maybe you’re asking Toni to go down a rabbit hole that is very difficult for initial implementation efforts. Perhaps it makes sense to focus, for now, on making the 68k Voodoo 3 emulation work perfectly, since the majority of people will use that. After that, maybe we can ask Toni to look at warp3d/ppc with 68k, since it’s likely a large number of people will use that.

I understand you’re asking for something some people will benefit from, but to be clear you are being very noisy about a configuration that the vast majority of people will /not/ have - most people that have os4.1 classic have FE. So I don’t know if it makes sense to focus so much here for now. *shrug*
cloverskull is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 10:02   #170
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
@cloverskull
I agree on this, and just what you say.
but once seen applications that work even if with some defects with 4.1.
led me to think it is a possible implementation.
it is not my intention to disturb the work for 68k + voodoo.
I always have the utmost respect for every implementation that is done on winuae.
White is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 10:05   #171
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,629
Usual requirement: someone with identical real hardware config that seems to work differently. Make it HDF image. Compare results.

I don't trust Amiga 3D software to work as documented. At least unless all usually totally unknown version dependencies are exactly right. Same already happened when testing CV64/3D emulation.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 14:53   #172
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 245
@white
So i misunderstood the problem...
if there is no v5 ppc woodoo warp3d driver then the only way is use the v4 68k driver
But v4 dont have the new v5 fonctions so programs made for os4/v5 will often fails
In fact it will need an "other side" PatchWarp3D
Existing PatchWarp3D add the (obsolete) missing v4 functions to v5
But here we need to add the new v5 fonctions to v4

About zbuffer : zbuffer fonctions can be tested with cow3d 68k
thellier is offline  
Old 25 December 2020, 17:24   #173
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
@thellier
Thanks all the same for your availability you were very kind
I thought there was some possibility I know little about warp3d and from the tests I did I thought it could be realized somehow
For me it is a complex matter I only have ideas :-)
Thanks again
White is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 12:01   #174
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
Toni,
Excuse the question, I deleted the voodoo3.rom bios
to do some tests.
But the voodoo configuration works even without the rom bios and normal.
The system also starts without the voodoo3.rom
Thanks
White is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 19:44   #175
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 797
Hmm..verified for OS 4.x. However, WinUAE quits (terminates) when OS 3.x is starting the Monitors and WinUAE doesn't find "voodoo.rom". Also, why would you delete the file and not just rename it as I did?
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 20:14   #176
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
I have the completely clean system just installed and in the configuration phase the voodoo roms are compacted and I am trying them.
rename it or delete it doesn't matter.
The rom is not there but the system starts the same checked several times
the roms are in the users / public / public documents / amiga files / winuae folder
even with a search *.* rom finds nothing
i redid the rescan with winuae but nothing changes
White is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 20:45   #177
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 797
Since you're keeping the archives then deleting is okay. I was only offering a simple suggestion. I only did a quick check with WipEout to be sure it would run. Looks as though voodoo.rom is only required for WinUAE's 68K. Maybe that's "partly" why 68K is much slower with WarpOS stuff vs PPC OS? I don't know enough about all that to answer.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 20:52   #178
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,048
no problem :-)
it just seemed strange to me but it seems to be so too I don't know.
if you need it for 68k + blizzardppc I found this but I think it can also work for ppc+68k+voodoo in part I hope it is useful:
https://tinyurl.com/y89wtuko
White is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 21:16   #179
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/DC HACKER! View Post
Hmm..verified for OS 4.x. However, WinUAE quits (terminates) when OS 3.x is starting the Monitors and WinUAE doesn't find "voodoo.rom". Also, why would you delete the file and not just rename it as I did?
Don't use JIT when testing anything strange?

Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
Toni,
Excuse the question, I deleted the voodoo3.rom bios
to do some tests.
But the voodoo configuration works even without the rom bios and normal.
The system also starts without the voodoo3.rom
Thanks
As I already said in first post. Few bytes from BIOS is read. At least Mediator driver does it. Probably uses them as some default values. It probably is not required but I am also not supporting any kind of impossible conditions when using expanded configurations. If use use undefined config -> don't post here.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 21:28   #180
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,784
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
The driver pulls in the gpu/memory clocks from the bios and wont allow you to overclock in the driver/p96 settings. You need to edit/reflash the bios if you want to change clock speeds. I've had to drop mem speeds on my card to avoid rainbow coloured screens.
Mad-Matt is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAME now fully open source - time for Voodoo 3 emulation in WinUAE? jbenam support.WinUAE 32 12 December 2020 10:43
Crash of WinUAE v2.8.1.0 when testing NetSurf tygre support.WinUAE 4 28 August 2016 02:34
Voodoo GFX Emulation FOL request.UAE Wishlist 6 20 February 2015 23:55
Experimental/testing builds of WinUAE 2.7.0 with VS 2013 mark_k support.WinUAE 18 09 September 2014 23:26
Need help with CD32 emulation on Winuae trydowave support.WinUAE 9 31 August 2012 11:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13851 seconds with 14 queries