English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2020, 11:43   #121
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,051
i did some tests with 4.1FE + Voodoo
gearppc.exe returns this even though the screen remains black

also PRBoom-GL-OS4 works with openGL activated natively
while the same application without the support of the voodoo video card I have to use it in software version with uaegfx.

Composite3D-demo works too, the screen stays black and you can hear the boing3D sound bouncing

Quake 2 miniGL starts but the screen remains gray (hyperion version with miniGL)
GL-Quake1 works but I still can't configure it currently starts in a window but stays gray

the screen i am using is 800x600 32bit

while with gears ppc small etc.
i always get black screen but it works only with 16bit screen

GLSokobanPPC also works the screen simply stays blue without its animation
WarpTest also works but only in 640x480 16bit mode
3D microbe also works the screen always remains gray

cow3D version OS4 (osdepot) also works the screen remains black but the log recognizes the driver
the driver to use and AVENGER for Voodoo3
the NAPALMs are for Voodoo 4 and 5 and conflict must be deleted in the WARP3D / HWDRIVER folder

all these applications cannot run on version 4.1FE + uaegfx + without wazp3d (thellier)
instead with 4.1FE + Voodoo they work natively

system used 4.1FE + update1 without any changes completely clean

if you need a replica i think it would be interesting

Last edited by White; 09 January 2021 at 19:10.
White is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 12:48   #122
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/DC HACKER! View Post
Yep. The blue picture shows a requester with 8-Bit screen modes listed. Hardware mode is 15-Bit or higher. Payback looks different in Hardware modes.
It may be a Payback problem to not show the other available resolutions, with Doom2 all Voodoo resolutions are available

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 25 December 2020 at 00:54.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 13:20   #123
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,645
Don't bother with any PPC or huge games. (If any game works: it is using software 3D anyway!) I didn't expect repeat of CV643D thread..

As long as warptest (m68k one!) does not fully work (no textures etc), there is no chance anything more complex will work.

I am still waiting for HDF (m68k. WB 3.1. Mediator + Voodoo3 + warptest that opens screen mode and has missing 3d object instead of crashing immediately)

Must NOT include any PPC software or large games. Warp3D demos only.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 13:52   #124
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,791
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I'm on it. Not quite a minimal install, but everything in place to run.

I'm also building up the med 1200.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 16:07   #125
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,645
warptest and gears works now but screen mode must be BGR ("PC").

RGB modes return odd serial port debugging message ("ERROR: Chip is not responding anymore.") but program still seems to work. Probably some missing byteswapping check.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 16:22   #126
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,051
Toni
warp3d is running now :-)
the graphics are slightly out of phase
all tests work except "engine" does not open the screen
now I try the color depth of the screen
White is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 16:32   #127
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,051
You are really good :-)
almost everything in the above list works including microbe3D and Cow3D for os4
also quake1 GL can now be seen but the graphics are out of phase
I have to redo all the tests
Thanks
White is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 16:49   #128
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,791
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Here we go. PCIInfo from my A1200 + Voodoo3 (and unrecognized sb128...)

Mediator is running in nommu mode with 4mb window so that I can use pcmcia ethernet and ppc. (I cant find my pci ethernet card)

Took longer than expected. Thought id killed my amiga in the process and stripped down to the bare minimum. (no post or response to reset button). Turns out I had the ide cable the wrong way round at the cdrom!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A1200_Med_Voodoo3_NOMMU.png
Views:	81
Size:	142.8 KB
ID:	70014  
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 17:09   #129
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Here we go. PCIInfo from my A1200 + Voodoo3 (and unrecognized sb128...)

Mediator is running in nommu mode with 4mb window so that I can use pcmcia ethernet and ppc. (I cant find my pci ethernet card)

Took longer than expected. Thought id killed my amiga in the process and stripped down to the bare minimum. (no post or response to reset button). Turns out I had the ide cable the wrong way round at the cdrom!
Thanks. Everything looks exactly same as in emulation. So there must be something wrong in emulation.

Could you also include full "showconfig debug" output? Version number of rtg.library and voodoo.card. (version full "file")

Does switching from 8-bit (256 color) mode to another 256 color mode work correctly without wrong colors?

If you select for example 640x480 WB mode (any depth), then open screen prefs again, set screen width to 800 (untick the option first). Does mode work correctly or become corrupted?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 17:19   #130
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,051
Currently 16bit resolution works well with 4.1FE
the resolutions at my disposal are 16-24-32 bits
I'm using the 16bit at the moment the most compatible

here a video I can not put the screenshots of each application:
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 17:36   #131
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,051
Prometheus works
Sometimes I notice a delay in opening the amigaos menus
definitely a minor thing currently :-)
thanks
White is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 17:54   #132
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,791
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
HTML Code:
PROCESSOR:	CPU 68040/68040fpu/68040mmu
CUSTOM CHIPS:	AA PAL Alice (id=$0023), AA Lisa (id=$00F8)
VERS:	Kickstart version 40.68, Exec version 40.10, Disk version 45.3
RAM:	Node type $A, Attributes $405 (FAST), at $70000000-$7FEFFFFF (255.0 meg)
	Node type $A, Attributes $703 (CHIP), at $700002F8-$1FFFFF (~2306.0 meg)
BOARDS:
=======================================================================
 Board (Index Information Ltd):   Prod=2206/32($89E/$20) (@$EA0000 128K)
 ConfigDev structure found at location $45D0
==== Board ID (ExpansionRom) information:
er_Manufacturer         =2206=$89E=(~$F761)
er_Product              =32=$20=(~$DF)
er_Type                 =$CA
  (type 3, size 128K, not for free list, no ROM diag vec, chained to next)
er_Flags                =$0
  (no space preference, can be shut up)
er_InitDiagVec          =$0
==== Configuration (ConfigDev) information:
cd_BoardAddr            =$EA0000
cd_BoardSize            =$20000 (128K)
cd_Flags                =$2  (CONFIGME bit still set)
=======================================================================
 Board (Index Information Ltd):   Prod=2206/160($89E/$A0) (@$200000 4meg)
 ConfigDev structure found at location $4618
==== Board ID (ExpansionRom) information:
er_Manufacturer         =2206=$89E=(~$F761)
er_Product              =160=$A0=(~$5F)
er_Type                 =$CF
  (type 3, size 4meg, not for free list, no ROM diag vec, chained to next)
er_Flags                =$0
  (no space preference, can be shut up)
er_InitDiagVec          =$0
==== Configuration (ConfigDev) information:
cd_BoardAddr            =$200000
cd_BoardSize            =$400000 (4096K)
cd_Flags                =$2  (CONFIGME bit still set)
=======================================================================
 Board + ROM (HD?) (phase 5):   Prod=8512/110($2140/$6E) (@$F00C38 128K)
 ConfigDev structure found at location $4660
==== Board ID (ExpansionRom) information:
er_Manufacturer         =8512=$2140=(~$DEBF)
er_Product              =110=$6E=(~$91)
er_Type                 =$D2
  (type 3, size 128K, not for free list, ROM diag vec valid, not chained)
er_Flags                =$0
  (no space preference, can be shut up)
er_InitDiagVec          =$4
DiagCopy at             =$70003670
==== Configuration (ConfigDev) information:
cd_BoardAddr            =$F00C38
cd_BoardSize            =$20000 (128K)
cd_Flags                =$2  (CONFIGME bit still set)
=======================================================================
Debug output from A1200. Voodoo has given up on life now. Rainbow colours then nothing. just crashes amiga when I try to select mode. The card is quite hot. maybe the memory has died.

EDIT: It could be cart slot shenanigans. Sound card is recognised now and not voodoo by moving it to slot 3. Voodoo in 1 and sound in 3, both are recognised. I think this is why I gave up on it before.

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 20 December 2020 at 18:16.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 18:19   #133
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,051
Also tried blender3D now it works fine the rendering is correct I still have to see better.
Consequently, ResidualVM should now also work with graphic adventures such as GrimFandango
Previously this was not possible the rendering was incorrect with uaegfx

Last edited by White; 09 January 2021 at 19:10.
White is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 18:34   #134
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,645
Mediator 1200 is now supported. (But 4000 is recommended because banking/windowing makes it slower) EDIT: but 3D does not work for some reason with 1200 mediator.

Keep log window open when testing. There might be some useful messages.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 18:38   #135
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,791
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
you do need a whole different set of w3d libs for a1200 mediator. and will likely need to reconfigure with medconfig.

Also some pointless info and against the rules and with risk of getting shot I just want to add that Wipeout2097 plays great in OS4 + voodoo emulation! some buffering/flickering issues on loading screens but once in plays at a nice framerate.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 18:48   #136
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
you do need a whole different set of w3d libs for a1200 mediator. and will likely need to reconfigure with medconfig.
Right, I forgot that medconfig had mediator model specific options. Not going to bother with that. WB modes work = good enough for me

Quote:
Also some pointless info and against the rules and with risk of getting shot I just want to add that Wipeout2097 plays great in OS4 + voodoo emulation! some buffering/flickering issues on loading screens but once in plays at a nice framerate.
Only troubleshooting is not allowed with "banned" configs

But I guess it can be relaxed now because almost everything is now working in m68k configs.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 18:51   #137
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,791
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Good to know. Once 68k/ppc/w3d is running perfectly, i can take the Amiga outside and burn it! fed up with real hardware mediator. now it creshed the amiga as soon as voodoo driver is started. Maybe tommorow it will play nice and I can confirm if there is any color issues when changing modes.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 18:54   #138
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,051
@Mad-Matt
I confirm wipeout works fine but it flashes the screen and the shadow under the vehicle and black.
I don't know the game well but the shadow I think shouldn't be seen.
I am very happy, thanks again Toni :-)
White is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 19:13   #139
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,645
Voodoo 3 recompiler (JIT) is now enabled. It seems to replace all 3D texture shading stuff with compiled version, probably increases speed noticeably.

Uses SSE instructions, not sure which level so report your CPU model if it crashes..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 December 2020, 20:57   #140
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,051
with the latest version of winuae released with prometheus after boot it remains a black screen with 4.1FE
the penultimate version works instead (size 4.150kb)
White is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAME now fully open source - time for Voodoo 3 emulation in WinUAE? jbenam support.WinUAE 32 12 December 2020 10:43
Crash of WinUAE v2.8.1.0 when testing NetSurf tygre support.WinUAE 4 28 August 2016 02:34
Voodoo GFX Emulation FOL request.UAE Wishlist 6 20 February 2015 23:55
Experimental/testing builds of WinUAE 2.7.0 with VS 2013 mark_k support.WinUAE 18 09 September 2014 23:26
Need help with CD32 emulation on Winuae trydowave support.WinUAE 9 31 August 2012 11:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11561 seconds with 14 queries