English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2020, 18:43   #41
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,243
My CD32 setup has a CF with 2 partitions, so imaging it would make more sense. However it contains my commercial X-Bench key. So it need some more actions before imaging is possible. So hope to still do it one of these days.
spudje is offline  
Old 03 May 2020, 19:11   #42
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
also if game uses whdload and kickstart emulation based games, you can't legally distribute kickstart images. Eternal problem... (even if some probably slipped under the radar, like some of my CD releases )

now with all other files present, it's a piece of cake to mount the card on an emulator and copy the ROMs at the proper location. It's different on a CD-ROM
jotd is offline  
Old 03 May 2020, 22:52   #43
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
In the past I've thought about a solution where if you don't have the appropriate ROM, it simply rips the ROM that you do have (the 3.1 CD32 one) and applies a delta patch to generate the A1200/A500 versions?



To be fair, the roms wouldn't be needed for all of the games, just a handful of Whdload ones (and those could possibly be supplanted with native copies), and SimCD32 games like Microcosm etc (if only I could kill CD.device without kicking to the A1200 rom..)
earok is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 00:10   #44
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
we could also adapt kickemu to CD32 3.1 ROM (a lot of work for just a copyright issue, and won't solve kick1.3 problem). The delta between 1.3 and 3.1 is huge anyway... Unsure about legal parts: if you own 3.1 you don't own 1.3
jotd is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 00:24   #45
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
we could also adapt kickemu to CD32 3.1 ROM (a lot of work for just a copyright issue, and won't solve kick1.3 problem). The delta between 1.3 and 3.1 is huge anyway... Unsure about legal parts: if you own 3.1 you don't own 1.3
Hmmm..

To be safe, I could just deploy with out it.. it may be some hassle putting those ROMs on, but worth the effort if you really want almost every CD32 game to be HDD installed
earok is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 12:11   #46
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Daily update:

125 games verified under emulation, 142 games in total. Very pleased that Beneath a Steel Sky seems to work just fine through SimCD32 (including talkie), though I'm worried there may be some slight audio glitches.

Surprised that it doesn't seem to support the gamepad at all! Even tried the "LEMMINGS_PLANETSIDE" hack, and that only causes a crash.
earok is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 12:25   #47
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
mouse-only games rarely support gamepads. They just added voices, forced program to run in chipmem to make sure that it's DARN SLOW on real amigas and shipped.

LEMMINGS_PLANETSIDE hack only works for ... Lemmings and also because Lemmings sold 15 million copies.
jotd is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 12:50   #48
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
mouse-only games rarely support gamepads. They just added voices, forced program to run in chipmem to make sure that it's DARN SLOW on real amigas and shipped.

LEMMINGS_PLANETSIDE hack only works for ... Lemmings and also because Lemmings sold 15 million copies.

LEMMINGS_PLANETSIDE also works for Lemmings 2, Lemmings 3, Dune, Dream Web (IIRC) and a handful of other games (not WHDLoad obviously).. it's the same principle that I used for the "virtual mouse function" in CD32Load, basically just write to the JOYTEST register to fake a mouse movement.

.. hey, I actually got it to work on Beneath a Steel Sky now I accidentally used the CDTV trademark rather than the CD32 trademark, which made it crash. It's not very good though, the cursor is very slippery, and I'm 90% sure you can only use the trick on an ISO, not from an HDD.

Last edited by earok; 04 May 2020 at 13:10.
earok is offline  
Old 04 May 2020, 14:48   #49
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
ok, sorry, you're the boss!

accident ... or maybe luck owing to a lot of work.

Using CDTV TM makes the console run in ECS. Means no AGA (when using the system!), caches off. You can try to enable the caches back for instance (using just CPU command). That may get you some speed back.

That's a complete different art from whdload that you're doing, an almost lost art.
jotd is offline  
Old 05 May 2020, 13:56   #50
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
I normally use CDTV TM and setpatch to re-enable AGA stuff, basically to avoid the additional few seconds of loading time from the spinning CD animation.

====

Daily update. Up to 150 games from the CD32 library - which is to say, almost all of them except for a handful I can't get to work under the emulated environment. I'll do a handful more tomorrow, then upload the Phase 1 draft release

As before, the list of what I've done with extensive notes is at:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...it?usp=sharing
earok is offline  
Old 05 May 2020, 14:36   #51
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post

.. hey, I actually got it to work on Beneath a Steel Sky now I accidentally used the CDTV trademark rather than the CD32 trademark, which made it crash. It's not very good though, the cursor is very slippery, and I'm 90% sure you can only use the trick on an ISO, not from an HDD.
Which is funny because BASS requires the cd32.tm to run on the CD32!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 12:27   #52
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Daily update -

"Phase 1" (strictly CD32 related games) is done, though it's going to take awhile to upload to Mega (there's also bandwidth limits that could be a pain).

Final games count was 156 games, and that nearly filled up the 4GB partition by itself - I had to delete all of the Impossible Mission CDXL animations (not working anyway) to make it fit. For future phases, I'll likely put OCS and AGA games on the second partition.

The image is missing the kickstart roms, and it'll warn if they're not there. I'll make sure to include some rudimentary instructions for installing them.

Giving it a quick test right now on the real CD32, seems to work pretty well!
earok is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 17:28   #53
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,766
I still remember when I first tried to get a response about Lemmings CDTV mouse support all those years ago I sent PMs to Various people who had CD32s and got responses like Yes it does, No it doesn't, I don't know. eventually I made a thread about it and Earok cracked it.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 May 2020, 12:03   #54
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
I still remember when I first tried to get a response about Lemmings CDTV mouse support all those years ago I sent PMs to Various people who had CD32s and got responses like Yes it does, No it doesn't, I don't know. eventually I made a thread about it and Earok cracked it.
I didn't know about the LEMMINGS_PLANETSIDE thing until Psygore pointed it out to me. Up until that point, I was totally confused as to why a Lemmings CD32 ISO would have a working gamepad cursor, but if I made my own ISO that was file-for-file identical, it wouldn't recognise the gamepad. I didn't even think to check the volume name.

Having a bit of problem with the upload, I'll try it again tonight.
earok is offline  
Old 09 May 2020, 02:57   #55
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Phase 1 is posted, download and such is on the first post.
earok is offline  
Old 09 May 2020, 12:30   #56
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,544
This is great news thanks. I don’t have 8gb cf to test, any chance of a 4 in future? I guess Simon on its own would takes almost a quarter of 4gb!
Gordon is offline  
Old 09 May 2020, 23:18   #57
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,243
Cool Earok!!

Can you mount an image created with a tool like Win32DiskImager in WinUAE? Then, if you're still interested I can rip my X-Bench setup and then remove the key file via WinUAE.
spudje is offline  
Old 10 May 2020, 01:14   #58
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,103
I didn't test, but since you can mount hard drives, CF cards and hd images, you probably can mount images of CF cards.
jotd is offline  
Old 10 May 2020, 04:46   #59
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Hey guys.

Well hey, you can mount the image in WinUAE. I did not expect that. You'll still want to put your own kickstarts on the image somehow (you could mount the image as a second hard drive, and use workbench or similar to copy them across).

Basically just set the startup to CD32, increase fast ram to 8mb, and drag the image on to WinUAE.

---

It's an 8GB image with two equal partitions, but only one partition actually has anything on it. Which is to say, yes - you can use a 4GB CF card if you wish, but it'll be up to you to copy everything from the 4GB partition on the image across to your 4GB card.

You'll also want to use the PFS filesystem, FFS is extremely slow when used with the games that use SimCD32 (Simon the Sorcerer, Microcosm etc).
earok is offline  
Old 10 May 2020, 12:46   #60
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 675
Well done Earok.
Mountin the .img in Winuae is really great. I didn't know it was possible with this file extension.
The menu is classic & efficient.
I'll check how i can add some games to the menu
I'll try to make a dual boot with your menu for CD32 games & TinyLauncher for the other Whdload Games & demos. It will be perfect

Thanks!
Rochabian is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fake ROM??? xalakibaniou support.Apps 5 22 April 2020 14:59
Received a fake and copied OS 3.9 W4r3DeV1L support.Other 5 26 June 2010 13:38
Playing classic amiga games on a CD32 pcut Retrogaming General Discussion 12 03 December 2009 17:13
cd32 emulation on real amiga with classic wb jamski project.ClassicWB 4 13 August 2009 22:42
Amiga.CD32.30-Classic-Games-Collection Swierk request.Old Rare Games 5 25 May 2005 14:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21074 seconds with 14 queries