English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 February 2017, 19:55   #41
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
For s-s load: Check this thread. This should help.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=65981

Just tried Kick Off 2 Return to Europe. I got a black screen at the first start in TL too. But after starting it first via WB icon it runs fine in TL as it seems.
Tryed it again and all is working , i probably made something wrong the first time...
lolafg is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 February 2017, 20:09   #42
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,641
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
That is called a path, not a "drive letter".
Also, I keep my games in a partition, not a directory.
If you don't use a directory for Games, then use another launcher. Thanks.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 14 February 2017, 20:21   #43
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
If you don't use a directory for Games, then use another launcher. Thanks.


That is probably the weirdest limitation I ever saw on any Amiga software.
kolla is offline  
Old 14 February 2017, 20:29   #44
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,742
You mean you put them all into the root of your partition? For now TL doesn't support that. Older versions could scan the root of partitions though. I will nag Gibs at some point if he can implement it again. But seriously, where is the trouble to move all your games or A-Z folders into another folder and scan it then?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 February 2017, 23:59   #45
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 756
I have a dedicated partition for games, I always had a dedicated partitions for games on my systems, always thought that was the obvious thing to do. So when I point TinyLauncher to my "Games:" partition, and it pops up an error message that looks like something out of MSDOS, I am not sure what to believe.

But no worries, I am probably not exactly the kind of person that this software targets.
kolla is offline  
Old 15 February 2017, 11:07   #46
oissery77
Registered User
oissery77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: france
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by StatMat View Post
Okay, so the second version of the PAL pack is now up on the FTP (305mb - TinyLauncher-Screenshots-v0.2.7z). I have chosen the Sierra Lite dithering algorithm in preference to Floyd-Steinberg or others as I believe the results are very similar or better in some cases, not to mention it's quicker. The dithering has unsurprisingly increased the overall size a little, but yes should be fine on a 4GB CF card. Have a look and see what you think.
Thanks for the up, i will test it first on winuae and after on my 500, i will post a feedback
oissery77 is offline  
Old 15 February 2017, 11:17   #47
oissery77
Registered User
oissery77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: france
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by StatMat View Post
Cool thanks for the info. The OCS palette conversion may make colours a little different (hardly surprising when there's 16 shades per primary colour instead of 256! ). But it wouldn't affect overall quality such the extra noise (which hey that is what dithering does!).

I think to make it a fairer comparison, maybe I could grab a few of the source images Gibs used, perhaps for Turrican II and Battle Squadron for example. They don't seem to have come from Exotica by the looks of things. Then I can convert using my method and we can compare. I'm definitely up for finding improvements where we can.
Interesting point, i'm curious to see the result of the comparaison with Gib's images.
For now, it's already a great job done with the current pack.
oissery77 is offline  
Old 15 February 2017, 19:59   #48
StatMat
Code Fiddler
StatMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK
Age: 42
Posts: 47
Okay, so indeed the PhotoShop dithering and quantization was producing better results (surprise, surprise! ). Therefore I have modified my original approach to more closely match PhotoShop as follows:

1. I am now using Floyd-Steinberg dithering
2. I have introduced a 25% reduction in the dithering error propagation to more closely match the default Diffusion dither with an amount of 75% in PhotoShop
3. I am now using a selective palette for the dithering based on each image rather than using a general purpose palette

Whilst my results do not match PhotoShop exactly (this is always going to be difficult given the number of variables involved and closed nature of the product), I believe it's now producing significantly better results than before that are rather comparable to PhotoShop. For example, here are the Turrican II and Battle Squadron images from before and after alongside Gibs original PhotoShop images:

StatMat (Before):



StatMat (After):



Gibs (PhotoShop):



StatMat (Before):



StatMat (After):



Gibs (PhotoShop):



This time I have uploaded a new pack to the FTP containing just the boxart and a combined v0.3 complete pack. Again, this is still PAL only at the moment. Let me know what you all think.
StatMat is offline  
Old 15 February 2017, 20:10   #49
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,641
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I tried TL a couple of days ago and I found a problem with the lenght of the name of the path to where my mods are (Sys:Utilities/EaglePlayer/Modules).

It doesn't let me use it.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 February 2017, 20:11   #50
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,742
Great job, condering the sometimes too blurry pics from the FS-UAE database you've used. And the Turrican 2 and Battle Squadron covers are pretty much equal now.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 08:02   #51
Tarzin
Registered User
Tarzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dunkerque / FRANCE
Posts: 89
@Reto-Nerd, Statmat

Gibs's pictures have been sent by myself and are were originally providen with AmiGame.
You can use them but I'll appreciate if a mention to AmiGame can be done in a readme file or something like that. ;-)
[I was a really hard work, to collect, scan, correct and rename pictures]

I've a second pack to send to Gibs.
Tarzin is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 10:21   #52
StatMat
Code Fiddler
StatMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK
Age: 42
Posts: 47
So far the packs I have produced have been sourced from the openretro database. However as Retro-Nerd has indicated, Gibs has been using your cover images for his pack and quite a lot of yours seem to be better quality. I am sure Gibs will credit you in the readme.

Do you have your set renamed to match the WHDLoad slave names? I am thinking if you can share (perhaps on the FTP?) I will perhaps be able to convert them all using my new script. I know Gibs has done conversion work already, but I'm not sure if he's finished this yet and it could save everyone some time. That way we could perhaps have an alternative boxart pack.
StatMat is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 10:28   #53
StatMat
Code Fiddler
StatMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK
Age: 42
Posts: 47
So I have now created the NTSC pack which I have uploaded to my folder on the FTP (TinyLauncher-Screenshots-And-Boxart-NTSC-v0.3.7z). Enjoy.
StatMat is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 12:03   #54
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarzin View Post
@Reto-Nerd, Statmat

Gibs's pictures have been sent by myself and are were originally providen with AmiGame.
You can use them but I'll appreciate if a mention to AmiGame can be done in a readme file or something like that. ;-)
[I was a really hard work, to collect, scan, correct and rename pictures]

I've a second pack to send to Gibs.
And where can we download AmiGame?, not from AmiGame and if we go to the site in your contact info Tarzin, my browser claim's that your site is a dangerous website. I have tried both the new version's of Firefox and Waterfox.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 13:40   #55
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by StatMat View Post

Do you have your set renamed to match the WHDLoad slave names? I am thinking if you can share (perhaps on the FTP?) I will perhaps be able to convert them all using my new script. I know Gibs has done conversion work already, but I'm not sure if he's finished this yet and it could save everyone some time. That way we could perhaps have an alternative boxart pack.
Sadly the covers don't have the names we need for TinyLauncher. But Gibs said he could maybe write a script and rename them to the slave names. But mainly he prefers coding on TL instead of doing this. We,ll see. Sure, an alternative cover pack would be nice since the FS-UAE database pack has app. 1000 more compared to Tarzins pack (due to different versions, languages etc). Both have their right to exit. Well the Exotica pack would be nice too. Never found it as a pack though. Not sure if we could rip them easily.



btw: scanning the root for game folders/game folders inside A-Z folders is working now in the latest beta.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 16 February 2017 at 15:07.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 14:45   #56
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Sadly the covers don't have the names we need for TinyLauncher. But Gibs said he could maybe write a script and rename them to the slave names.
I have time on my hands so could do that if you like?

Just need the following which I assume you can get from a "dir /b /s > list.txt" from a command prompt:

a) A list of the cover names.
b) A list of the correct slave names.

I'll create a batch file afterwards
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 15:04   #57
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,742
They are not identical in numbers. But here are both lists. Tarzin Covers and the filenames from StatMats FS-UAE database covers rip.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Tarzins Cover Scans.txt (44.9 KB, 29 views)
File Type: txt StatMats Cover Rips - Slave Names.txt (59.4 KB, 26 views)
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 15:06   #58
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I tried TL a couple of days ago and I found a problem with the lenght of the name of the path to where my mods are (Sys:Utilities/EaglePlayer/Modules).

It doesn't let me use it.
Gibs said the MOD path length is limited to 32 characters. Use the Assign then.

Assign path tlmods:
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 15:12   #59
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Hello , does the path for Demos works the same as the one for games ?

I ask because when i put dh0:demos (foder A to Z from classic workbench) and then press F1 i don't see the "stateofTheArt" text but if i press ENTER then the demo is launched...

Thanks

Edit : found (didn't read enough) , must be at least 2 objects....

Last edited by lolafg; 16 February 2017 at 16:13.
lolafg is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 15:19   #60
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
They are not identical in numbers. But here are both lists. Tarzin Covers and the filenames from StatMats FS-UAE database covers rip.
Alrighty, leave it with me...

Thought it would be a relative quick job but considering you've said the numbers aren't identical, I'll need to do some manual adjustments.
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tinylauncher 3 Tooltype Support? rsn8887 Amiga scene 8 05 January 2017 01:58
Tinylauncher use multiple directories rsn8887 Amiga scene 1 27 December 2016 01:10
TinyLauncher I/O ERROR [HELP] Immortal support.Apps 8 04 October 2014 15:18
Tinylauncher first in Startup with 4gig+HD Ebster support.Apps 0 29 September 2014 18:42
TinyLauncher Poll gibs Amiga scene 5 27 August 2012 03:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19589 seconds with 13 queries