English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2016, 04:39   #1
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Question SMBMounter - unknown host

I've installed SMBMounter from RobtheNerd.com as well as it's dependency, smbfs-1.74-68k (which is a single binary I have placed in C: ).

When I try to connect to my share, I get the error "Unknown host "192.168.0.19" Check the spelling and try again".

The SMBMounter profile for this share is:
Name: RaspberryPi
Workgroup: WORKGROUP
Hostname: 192.168.0.19
Service: raspberrypi (I assume service == share name?)
Username/password are correct
Volume:raspberrypi

On the server, the share is defined as below and I can connect from my Ubuntu machine:
[raspberrypi]
path = /home/osmc/
browsable = yes
guest ok = yes
read only = no
create mask = 0755

Any idea where I'm going wrong?
TenLeftFingers is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 January 2016, 09:34   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,543
I am not familiar with SMBMounter, but SMBFS needs a service like //server/share.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 January 2016, 10:57   #3
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,283
Hello SMBMounter converts the individual items for server and service into the correct //server/service format, so that's not the problem. Let's start at the top: can you ping 192.168.0.19? Perhaps its IP address has changed since you set it up or something.

If you can ping properly but SMBMounter still gives you the error, try connecting manually with smbfs. If that can connect but SMBMounter can't, let me know and I should be able to fix it.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 31 January 2016, 00:04   #4
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Thanks thomas, Daedalus. I can ping the Pi and the address is still the same.

The smbfs command:
smbfs workgroup=workgroup //192.168.0.19/raspberrypi gives me an 'Unknown host' error also. It seems from the docs that the IP is not sufficient and that a hostname must be provided. I'll spend more time with the documentation.

Update: the hostname (osmc) and another variant, osmc.local both produce the same error.
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 31 January 2016, 02:41   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,283
Hmmm, that's really odd. I've just tested it here and using the IP address works fine for me with that exact syntax. Looks like there's something funky happening with your network, or the Pi is rejecting SMB requests from the Amiga for some reason.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 31 January 2016, 03:27   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,543
Put an entry for osmc into your IP stack's hosts config and use //osmc/raspberrypi.

It might work with the IP address by accident but the SMBFS documentation says that the host name is to be used.
thomas is offline  
Old 31 January 2016, 15:12   #7
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
Thanks guys. The name resolution does seem to be hit and miss on my network, but with ip I can connect from every other machine in the house so the device and network seem to be okay.

I've asked on the Roadshow support forum where to define the hostnames: http://www.amigafuture.de/viewtopic.php?p=57250#57250
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 31 January 2016, 15:25   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,543
Devs:Internet/Hosts
thomas is offline  
Old 31 January 2016, 15:34   #9
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Age: 38
Posts: 783
That did it, thanks thomas & Daedalus for the help solving it, and of course to Daedalus for writing the application!
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 31 January 2016, 15:59   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,283
Glad it's sorted anyway! Interesting, I'll put a note about that in the documentation for the next version...
Daedalus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Host OS file exchange? oneloneknight support.FS-UAE 4 13 June 2013 00:12
EasyNet Connect to HOST PC (win7) NovaCoder support.Apps 7 12 September 2012 03:23
Who should host Matt Chat? gilgamesh Retrogaming General Discussion 5 21 January 2011 02:15
Time Syncronization between Host and PUAE nexusle support.OtherUAE 6 25 August 2010 00:05
Host Settings crusader86x support.WinUAE 2 07 July 2009 20:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21358 seconds with 12 queries