English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2011, 09:27   #1
jimbobrocks92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 46
Send a message via Skype™ to jimbobrocks92
SCSI Card reader amiga??

hi are SCSI Card Readers usable (such as this http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/IBM-PCD-6...item4cfbd419b3) on amigas

thanks for your help

James
jimbobrocks92 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 November 2011, 11:50   #2
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Yes they work, but don't buy it from this ripoff! Buy from a trusted Amiga hardware dealer and save! http://a4000t.com/store/index.php?ma...fc19b07b63bfb8

Here's one being used in an A500 expansion:



I've personally used one with an A2000 and an A2091 card.
Cammy is offline  
Old 21 November 2011, 12:09   #3
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 454
Oh, its the US webshop. Any chance to buy this from some european shop?
amigoun is offline  
Old 21 November 2011, 13:09   #4
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
excellent link Cammy just ordered one
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 21 November 2011, 15:08   #5
Calabazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Posts: 163
Can you hotplug memory cards with computer on on those readers?
Calabazam is offline  
Old 21 November 2011, 15:48   #6
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Yes you can!!!

I use it on my A4000 mounted on CSPPC via an 68-->50pin adapter as an extra HD for backup purposes and works like a charm via hotplug.
Just don't remove it as data is being accessed.
The only drawback is that it's not as fast as an ACard mounted on an CF2IDE or SD2IDE adapter (~2.5MB/s max) but for such a device and at that price I think it's a really awesome piece of hardware.
mfilos is offline  
Old 23 November 2011, 03:53   #7
jimbobrocks92
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 46
Send a message via Skype™ to jimbobrocks92
Thanks Cammy!!XD

can anyone tell me if the pcmcia slot is fully functional (can use ethernet cards etc)

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 23 November 2011 at 09:48. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
jimbobrocks92 is offline  
Old 23 November 2011, 05:17   #8
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobrocks92 View Post
can anyone tell me if the pcmcia slot is fully functional (can use ethernet cards etc)
Hi jim, i sell those card readers in question. The pcmcia slot is only for memory cards(via pcmcia to cf) or pcmcia flash cards and ethernet cards cannot be used in it.
I don't recommend you hotswap the card you boot the AmigaOs off of but the other slots can be hotswapped any time.. One catch to using the other slots is the particular SCSI controller you use must support LUNS(logical Unit Numbers). If it doesn't you need to use the pcmcia slot with a cf adapter.

Speed varies greatly with the type scsi controller and cf you use and if you run scsi synchronous(which is best).These are rated for 5MB/s max,the best i have seen is around 4MB/s.

Older controllers like the C= A590/A
2091 etc do best with 7.0 roms(6.6 does seem to work,but your mileage may vary).
Fastlane Z3 works with most any rom(8.5 is best)
C= A4091 (recommend 7.x)
GVP (recommend at least 4.15)
and many others

Upgrading the early wd33c93A revision 4 scsi chips in the A3000/T and 590/2091 can help,but in most cases is not necessary unless you have trouble with trying to run multiple drives.

For any of you that have trouble getting the card readers to work,feel free and email me for help. hdtoolbox usually needs some tooltypes set to see all luns/devices (the scsi controller must have them on also).


Mech

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
Yes you can!!!

I use it on my A4000 mounted on CSPPC via an 68-->50pin adapter as an extra HD for backup purposes and works like a charm via hotplug.
Just don't remove it as data is being accessed.
The only drawback is that it's not as fast as an ACard mounted on an CF2IDE or SD2IDE adapter (~2.5MB/s max) but for such a device and at that price I think it's a really awesome piece of hardware.

I was doing the same thing because its so handy, i also had 5 different os version on separate cards accessible at boot time.Its even handy for keeping a macos partition on its own card for fusion/shapeshifter.

I went even further and mounted a card reader on a 2091 and 4091 for quick and dirty big box amiga os installs. sure saves time.just plug the card up and it boots and copy the os installs,macos stuff,whdload games etc straight over.

mech

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 23 November 2011 at 09:48. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
mech is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My last A2000 with SCSI card reader on Ebay. k4lmp MarketPlace 5 09 September 2013 14:05
Pcd-50b SCSI Card Reader with A4000T LUNS Problem crazyegg support.Hardware 2 10 February 2013 20:01
A590 with Pcd-50b scsi card reader mech support.Hardware 10 07 July 2012 20:58
SCSI CF-Card Reader, like PCD-47 lostfriend MarketPlace 3 01 February 2012 19:08
PC app that reads/writes to Amiga-formatted card in card reader? Photon support.Apps 6 19 July 2011 10:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17216 seconds with 12 queries