English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 January 2016, 08:26   #1
markpaterson
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Atlanta / USA
Posts: 26
Gotek 'floppy' clicking driving me nuts!! Can it be disabled with a jumper?

I have the Gotek USB floppy drive in an A1200.

How do I shut off the Gotek's awful sound? It's a very crude and grating simulation compared to the real thing. It's bad enough when loading games, but when the drive is empty in Workbench, the clicking drives me absolutely nuts. I feel like i'm in some kind of imaginative 'enhanced interrogation' scenario.

I know I could just keep a USB stick inserted (and a drive mounted), but i don't like how messy that looks and I'm afraid it could get knocked, thus damaging the drive and/or Amiga.

None of the 'no click' tools on Aminet do anything to silence it.

I've read on a forum (probably this one) that there's a jumper setting to disable the sound output, but of course they never bothered to mention which jumper.

Any ideas?

Last edited by markpaterson; 09 January 2016 at 08:34.
markpaterson is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 10:39   #2
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 846
Ear plugs ? only fooling, you can disconnect the wire to the buzzer , cant be that hard bud
supaduper is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 13:44   #3
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
remove the speaker?
roy bates is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 15:04   #4
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 675
Just cut one or both of the wires to the speaker. This way you can solder them back on later if you change your mind
turrican9 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 16:41   #5
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Just cut one or both of the wires to the speaker. This way you can solder them back on later if you change your mind
Or add a switch
Arnie is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 18:38   #6
markpaterson
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Atlanta / USA
Posts: 26
So it's not gonna ruin the circuit in any way if the buzzer is suddenly missing?

I'll snip as a last resort, but was hoping for a less drastic solution. Especially if there's a simple jumper fix.
markpaterson is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 18:44   #7
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by markpaterson View Post
So it's not gonna ruin the circuit in any way if the buzzer is suddenly missing?

I'll snip as a last resort, but was hoping for a less drastic solution. Especially if there's a simple jumper fix.
Gotek drives does not come with sound. So your Gotek is a modded one. So I don't think there are any jumpers to disable the speaker
turrican9 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 22:42   #8
markpaterson
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Atlanta / USA
Posts: 26
This is the exact one I bought. I'm aware it says 'sound' in the ebay title btw, so it was no surprise. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amiga-USB-Fl...vip=true&rt=nc

I just don't want to fry my Amiga by snipping the buzzer off the Gotek circuit board. Is this a possibility?
markpaterson is offline  
Old 10 January 2016, 00:01   #9
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by markpaterson View Post
This is the exact one I bought. I'm aware it says 'sound' in the ebay title btw, so it was no surprise. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amiga-USB-Fl...vip=true&rt=nc

I just don't want to fry my Amiga by snipping the buzzer off the Gotek circuit board. Is this a possibility?
I find it very hard to believe that simply just cutting the speaker wires from the circuitry could cause any damage whatsoever.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 11 January 2016, 11:29   #10
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,066
Nah, its safe. If red and black, cut the red and put a piece of tape on it or something.
Turran is offline  
Old 11 January 2016, 11:47   #11
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
I would imagine cutting either wire would disable the buzzer.
Arnie is offline  
Old 11 January 2016, 17:42   #12
Amon_RA
Registered User
Amon_RA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Belgium
Posts: 113
Just de-solder the wires/speaker. Cutting wires leaving the speaker hanging there is kind of a dirty fix...
Amon_RA is offline  
Old 25 July 2016, 23:50   #13
Michel
 
Posts: n/a
You could try putting a little piece of ducttape over the speaker. It will make a nice soundfilter.
 
Old 29 July 2016, 14:46   #14
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 617
@ OP

....sorry fella, mis-read your post.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 15:45   #15
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 47
Posts: 260
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Isn't there a workbench commodity? Lol
seb132 is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 15:56   #16
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
Isn't there a workbench commodity? Lol
Yes, but it works by patching the OS to step the heads past their limit, which (most) real drives will refuse to do, hence the clicking stops. The modified Gotek will still click even with a no-click commodity installed, because the sound circuit is a very simple arrangement, linked directly to the step pulse.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 16:12   #17
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,669
Looks like that circuit has room for improvement.
idrougge is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 23:39   #18
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 43
Posts: 690
Find someone with a regular Gotek who wants the sound mod and swap it with them.
Superman is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 16:18   #19
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Or add a switch
Like Arnie said put a switch on it (good idea) cut one of the wires and connect them to a switch then you can switch it on or off when you want like when the computer is just clicking when idle.

I guess if you want you could put a volume control on it,well its just a variable resistor..??

Last edited by spannernick; 30 July 2016 at 16:24.
spannernick is offline  
Old 31 July 2016, 00:43   #20
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,077
Have you ever thought of getting this... I was thinking of it..??

Gotek Extension Board


http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/The-new-Go...YAAOSwg3FUjzse
spannernick is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using GOTEK USB floppy emulator as external floppy for Amiga 1200 sbergmann support.Hardware 6 04 April 2015 00:26
no clicking floppy Dave_wb support.Hardware 2 07 August 2011 00:13
Configuring WinUAE is driving me nuts. Mr B support.WinUAE 2 30 March 2011 17:11
Floppy drive constantly clicking gingerbeardman support.Hardware 20 03 June 2010 11:06
CDTV PROMS driving me nuts! Canyon Matt support.Hardware 9 19 April 2010 00:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09035 seconds with 13 queries