English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 20 July 2016, 17:43   #1
cmsj

Let's build a complete Mediator guide

Hey folks

I'm new to the world of Mediators and I've really noticed that information about Mediators is really fragmented. The official docs are not great, and most forum threads are pretty vague and inconclusive.

So, let's fix it.

https://mediators.github.io

The source for the page is in a project on GitHub (https://github.com/Mediators/UnreliableGuide) if you want to file bugs, propose patches, or join the team.
Since GitHub/git is a hard workflow for classic Amigas, I'm also very happy to take fixes/additions/suggestions on this thread, or via my email.

In case you're not able to access https:// URLs, I'll keep the latest versions attached to this post.

Let's go!
Attached Files
File Type: txt unreliable-mediator-guide.html.txt (35.2 KB, 370 views)
File Type: pdf unreliable-mediator-guide.pdf (174.7 KB, 557 views)

Last edited by cmsj; 09 November 2016 at 10:24.
Old 21 July 2016, 15:37   #2
slaapliedje

One thing off the top of my head just reading the intro, not all PCI cards are created equal. Some of them are certainly notched for 5v use, but still don't support the 5v line. Ran into this when trying to get a Radeon that'd work. I finally did, but only after hitting the forums and finding one. I'd even ordered one from Elbox, which worked because they modified it themselves, but it also didn't have the full 256mb of ram that I wanted from it.

Unfortunately I have the older 4000Di Mediator that only supports 5v cards.
Old 22 July 2016, 01:19   #3
cmsj

@slaapliedje: good tip, thanks! I'll add that to the guide.
Old 03 August 2016, 15:53   #4
cmsj

Updated the guide with lots of version information about different MMCD/MM_CD_UP releases.
Old 08 October 2016, 19:08   #5
-Acid-

I've been following your guide but as usual when I go to set up P96 it never finds my card. What the hell am I doing wrong?