English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 September 2011, 23:10   #1
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 822
Problems running Alien Breed 3D

Problems running Alien Breed 3D:
I don't have a very powerful PC. Here's my specs:
P4 2.80GHZ
Nvidia 5600FX
1 Gig ram
WinXP SP3
All my other Amiga games work fine. Some games test it alittle such as Fighting Spirit or Shadow Dancer running in Cd32 config. And AGA Aladin, But I only get a few crackles now and then when the CPU load goes over 99%.
Gloom works fine in High Res and with all the bells and whistles turned on.
But Alien Breed 3D. No matter what I do, always maxing out the CPU in Winuae? And I can't figure out why. I've tried numerous configurations.
Can anyone help pls?
Regards
Tony
trydowave is offline  
Old 02 September 2011, 20:29   #2
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 822
fixed, used winuae 8.25
trydowave is offline  
Old 03 September 2011, 18:19   #3
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 58
Posts: 611
8.25??

The last beta is 2.3.3
Mclane is online now  
Old 03 September 2011, 22:02   #4
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,765
He probably means version from August 25, 2011?
Photon is offline  
Old 04 September 2011, 10:26   #5
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 822
sorry, i meant 0.8.25
trydowave is offline  
Old 04 September 2011, 11:24   #6
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 58
Posts: 611
If that's a version number and not a date as Photon suggests then you may want to grab the latest beta from the 2.3.3 beta thread in this forum.

There's been 1 or 2 changes since the one you are using...

Well the odd few thousand changes
Mclane is online now  
Old 04 September 2011, 22:55   #7
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,765
He probably means he downgraded to a very early version and it works in that.
Photon is offline  
Old 05 September 2011, 09:04   #8
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 58
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
He probably means he downgraded to a very early version and it works in that.
Probably, odd strategy on his or her part..Later normally means better..
Mclane is online now  
Old 05 September 2011, 20:32   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,123
Do you want to solve this properly? (=using latest version)

100% CPU% is normal if CPU mode is fastest possible.

Check following:
- Make sure priority is normal or below normal. (Some systems have issues even if priority is norrmal with 100% CPU usage)
- Try DirectDraw mode.
- Check CPU Idle (CPU panel). Make sure it is not more than few steps from left.
- Check Sound buffer size.

and so on..
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A new Alien Breed Dastardly News 34 15 October 2008 22:59
Working WinUAE config for Alien Breed and Alien Breed II takeobass support.WinUAE 2 22 July 2008 14:48
Alien Breed - PC haynor666 MarketPlace 2 18 June 2003 21:25
Alien Breed SE '92 harrison support.Games 3 01 February 2003 22:02
Alien Breed problems. Lungboy support.Games 2 16 December 2001 23:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06912 seconds with 13 queries